We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin to your Saves list
Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin
Place de l'Ormeau, 63450 Saint-Saturnin, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Saturnin
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ultimate B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I just want to add my endorsement of this amazing chateau and hosts. I agree totally with the other reviews and highly recommend this chateau if you are in the area. It is beautifully decorated and everything is top quality. We were given lots of advice on the surrounding area and the owners could not have been kinder or more helpful. The quality of the furnishings, bed linen, towels, breakfast all exceptional.
It is incredibly good value for money. If you are in this area, go !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmanuelAuvergne, Propriétaire at Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
We can give to whom likes to receive!.
In fact we hope to share : this is the beauty of welcoming people coming from so many different places all over the world.
By the way, we are happy to inform you we have now choosen the people who will execute our new italianlike Renaissance garden. They will start mid june and it should over next spring...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
36
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is a wonderful and unique place to stay. The building is very historic and interesting. The room we had was beautiful, comfortable and had everything we needed. The sheets and towels were top quality. The bathroom in the tower was fabulous! The guest lounge was very inviting, full of books and other interesting things to look at. The hosts could not have been more welcoming. We were provided with huge numbers of books and leaflets about the area and as a result were able to see a lot in the short time we were there. The village is very old and beautiful. In short, if you are looking for someone to stay in this area do not hesitate, this is the place! We also loved Henri the cat!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmanuelAuvergne, Propriétaire at Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We had just reopened and finished to put back everything in order for our guests after all our winter improvement works. It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your room -Cardinal- has such an amazing bathroom in the adjacent tower where we could create a walk in shower at the place of the ancient latrines and add a bath and pieces of antiques in this large vaulted room. It also has great views to the romanesque church and the medieval village we are overlooking.
Coming from England to us is much easier now between mid may and mid september, with daily direct flights from Southampton to Clermont-Ferrand...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We were on our way from Avignon to Limoges... We did not one to stay in a city like Clermont-Ferrand. Instead of that we searched for somewhere more authentique and we crossed this very special chateau which used to blog to the family of Catherine de Medicis... As a phd candidate in history I adored the chateau... Even we had a guided tour.. We stayed in the Cardinal room, which is very special and beautiful. In the morning, we woke we were in the middle of a very nice valley... I had one of the best breakfasts of my life in the very well decorated kitched of the chateau... Nature, hosts, history... If you want to have a chateau experience, this is one of the best places in the world...

Room Tip: Cardinal room was very nice with its bathroom situated in one of the towers of the chateau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmanuelAuvergne, Propriétaire at Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We are about to reopen after the winter closure and your positive feed back gives us even more energy to welcome new guests or already known ones as we get more and more.
We have worked hard however during this break for maintenance and for preparing new steps of our restauration programs. This year will be a very special year since we will create an italian Renaissance kind of garden to replace the XVIth century garden which has disapeared long time ago already.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Château Royal de Saint-Saturnin on our way from Saint Émilion to Saumur. It was late in the afternoon when we finally arrived at the gates of the Château. Our GPS and the instructions from our host Emmanuel made the Château easy to find, but the castle sits so large on top of the hill that it would seem quite hard to miss. The nearby Cathedral is the only other prominent building in the town. As the electric gates swung open and we slowly approached the castle to park our car, I was so glad we had chosen to stay here. What a presence this Château casts!

As we got out of the car, we received a warm welcome from Emmanuel who proceeded to give us the usual instructions, and show us to our room. We had been given the double room Cardinal which is located on the 2nd floor. There is no elevator in the building (of course) and Emmanuel helped us with our luggage. It's an experience just walking up the staircases of a building of this age. The castle was built during the 13th century and I couldn't help but reflect on the sorts of people who had trod these same steps as me over so many years. To our amazement, our bathroom took up the whole space above our room. I thought about the plumbing and electrical wiring challenges when modernising a building as old as the castle. If you're curious about these types of things, talk to Emmanuel who will enthusiastically discuss the maintenance and enhancements he has undertaken to present the castle as a viable bed & breakfast accommodation.

We took Emmanuel's advice and walked to a nearby restaurant down the bottom of the hill for our dinner. As Emmanuel described, the restaurant's best feature is its location with the quality of its cuisine unfortunately located at the other end of the scale. Much better restaurants can be found within a short 10 minutes drive away. When we returned to the Château, we stopped by the Library and spent some time browsing some of its many books and indulging in the complementary liqueurs on offer. Old furniture suits the decor of the castle, but if I had a criticism to make, it would be that the chairs in the library and the rooms be examined and maybe refurbished to improve their comfort level.

The next morning at breakfast, we met Emmanuel's wife, Christine who had prepared a lavish breakfast in the dining room. She has a wealth of information to pass on about nearby attractions. There really is so much to see and explore in this region. She was also so very helpful in locating the nearest pharmacy for us that was open on a Sunday so we could buy some much needed 'flu medication!

During our stay at the Château, we took the opportunity to take the guided tour of the castle. A student of a nearby university gave us a fascinating insight into the castle's history.

We've visited various châteaux during previous trips to Europe and stayed overnight at some too. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Château Royal de Saint-Saturnin and rated it our best "château experience" due mainly to the fact that the hosts, Emmanuel and Christine, truly made us feel we were invited to stay at their home. The Château is a work-in-progress and you can feel the hosts' passion when talking about their vision for the place. You get the distinct impression the Château is less of a business venture for them but represents something they appreciate is worth preserving for others to enjoy. Hopefully, we can return again one day and experience the many charms this magnificent and stately B&B has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmanuelAuvergne, Propriétaire at Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Your suggestions are very much welcomed and will help us to keep improving. Sometime it is quite a true cahllenge to blend authenticity and comfort, but that's our target...
Be sure we really enjoy being your home-from-home. That's the way we like to be treated abroad.
We hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights here during our first trip to the Auvergne. From the minute you drive up to the castle gates to the final farewell, you are treated like royalty by M. & Mme. Penicaud. We stayed in a room in the castle's tower. As advertised, it is reached only by stairs, but we felt it added to the experience. The room was spacious and clean, with beautiful views of the countryside from both large windows. The bathroom, also reached from the room by a short flight of stairs (toilet is on the same level as the bedroom) is also large and well-appointed with a great shower and separate tub. At the recommendation of the castle's owners, we dined at 3 restaurants in the area (La Cour Carré, Maison de la Monne, Auberge de la Gargouille) and enjoyed them all. The breakfast prepared by M. Penicaud was delicious: croissants, local cheeses and meats, fresh juice, and especially her walnut cake. Their sense of pride is evident in M. Penicaud's tour of the chateau; they have undertaken a huge project and are doing an excellent job of restoring its original beauty and grandeur. Highly recommended to anyone who enjoys a luxurious yet historic hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmanuelAuvergne, Propriétaire at Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
You could experience our double room Cardinal and its amazing bathroom in the adjacent tower. We completed last winter its full restauration and enhancement and we are so glad you were pleased with the results!
Spending three nights as you did is a must to start getting a true insight in our place and region, as well as trully enjoying Christine's breakfasts, and tourisme advices. It gives us also more opportunities to meet with our guests and share each other's experiences : now we know the nice places where to stay in L.A!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

In this wonderful chateau, we had a suite with extensive sitting room and bathroom downstairs, bedroom and toilet with washbasin upstairs, and it was extremely opulent. Even at 250 euros (including breakfast) it seemed good value. Breakfast was very good, including excellent croissants, a nice selection of bread and preserves, green tea and good coffee, and a fine selection of cheeses. Wifi was free and very good.

The library provides some complementary aperitifs and digestifs available for guests. I managed a small glass after a lovely dinner at the Auberge de la Gargouille, just a walk away, recommended by the proprietor.

The proprietor and his wife are charming and helpful, and tours of the chateau can be had.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmanuelAuvergne, Propriétaire at Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We are happy you could enjoy our new WIFI equipments which really overcomes the challenge of our very big walls. It offers now a trully full internet coverage anywhere in the rooms and common rooms.
It is worth indeed walking 20' (or driving 5') to La Gargouille : they supply only fresh local products and prepare non common receipes which please most of their guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The reviews and website entice and excite, but scarcely prepare one for the breathtaking reality of this very special establishment.
The essentials - comfort, cleanliness, hospitality, tranquility and value - are mostly excellent, added to which are large measures of consideration, organisation and character, and superb breakfasts.
The proprietors were knowledgeable and helpful. There was a slight trace of coldness and intolerance, but this was easily overlooked, given so many positives.
The place has a particular pace and atmosphere, best appreciated over a number of days rather than an overnight stopover. In any case, there is so much to see and do in the region.
Perfect? Not quite. Biggest oversight for us was the lack of a full-length mirror in our suite; the place is crammed with so very many items (mostly delightful and fascinating) that some dust is probably unavoidable; I lost a bar of soap down the shower drain (certainly not the place to drop any jewelry!).
Definite recommend; definite revisit

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmanuelAuvergne, Propriétaire at Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Your words are so nicely polished that we took a real pleasure reading your review. It is also very valuable to us for continuous improvment...
We are trully happy to observe our guests staying with us for longer periods than in the past and as such, having more opportunities to really get the best from our place and from our region.
Since you are considering visiting us again, we would love to show you the work in progress for the restauration of the "Queen Catherine of Médicis" garden. Plantation should start during the autumn 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin

Address: Place de l'Ormeau, 63450 Saint-Saturnin, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne > Puy-de-Dome > Saint-Saturnin
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Saturnin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A powerful fortress built during the XIIIth century, enlarged and embellished at the time of the Renaissance. Property of the Queens Catherine of Medicis and Marguerite of Valois. The owners will welcome you at home in their five guestrooms, large and quiet, with great views and private bathrooms and separate toilet. Breakfast is served in the vaulted dining room presenting a collection of copper artifacts. A large 4 ha park with free access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.