We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A country Gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Foresters Arms

The Foresters Arms
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Graffham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Foresters Arms
Save
You added The Foresters Arms to your Saves list
The Street | Graffham, Graffham GU28 0QA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Graffham
Brighton, Sussex, Uk
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A country Gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here last week taking advantage of the midweek special offer. Dinner bed and breakfast for £100. And quite frankly at the price you cannot go wrong. From the moment we arrived the staff could not do enough for us, eve keeping the kitchen open so we could have a light lunch. They also managed to find us a OS map so we could go walking.
The rooms are situated on the ground floor to the side of the pub. They are tastefully decorated and comfortable, with tea and coffee making facilties, TV and DVD player and alarm clock IPOD dock. For a country road there is more noise from the road then you would imagine but if you are used to the noise from a town or city this is wouldn't be a problem. There is a DVD and book library for guests to use. The bathroom had a great shower, plenty of hot water and decent pressure in the shower.
The pub is shut during midweek afternoons and there is little in Grafham except miles of fantastic country to walk in to work up an appetite. The pub is a short drive from Midhurst and Petworth.
The food is of the Gastro pub style. I had the Goats Cheese Panacotta which was beautifully smooth, but a little too big for a starter and not cheesy enough for me. My partner had the crab and Crème fraîche bellini which was a little wet (too much Crème fraîche?) She went onto have the Hake with Celeriac Mash and pak choi which was beautiful while I had the Fish Chowder with celtic promise on mustard mash (very interesting, a clever combination of flavours). My side order of vegetables was missed, but quickly produced when reminded and knocked off the bill. The meal was finished with a huge slab of brownie (fresh and not dry) while I had (more) cheese and biscuits....a nice varied selection. All finished off with port and coffee. They have an excellent and well priced wine list. We particularly liked the prosecco!
Breakfast was served the next morning by we assume the owner who was very friendly. There is a nice selection of ceral and juice and fresh tea and coffee. I opted for the scrambled egg and mushrooms (great mushrooms) while my partner had the full English which she enjoyed.
The pup hosts live music on Saturdays and we were so taken with our stay that we tried to book a room for one of the events, only to be dissapointed....fully booked already! (hardly surprising) We will be back in the winter to sit next to the fire, eat more great food and drink more wine. A lovely relaxing couple of days, great staff, great location!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    10
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
38
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Booked for 6 daft noisy jocks to go to a game at wembley . All the lads loved the place great pub , patient pleasant staff , spotlessly clean everywhere and not too bad at food too . A few of the guys travel through business and said these types of places should be everywhere and easily beat travel lodges premier inns etc on all fronts . High standards great value lovely visit . If staff read this apologies for the lads internal tiff on arrival thanks for all your patience and great service

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I certainly agree with other reviewers that this was a wonderful find - the perfect country pub with a low ceiling and roaring log fire. We were made very welcome. The food in the evening (three courses) was high quality pub stuff that would not have been out of place in a more formal restaurant. Our meat and vegetables were perfectly cooked and the sweet, although simple, was delicious. We are fussy eaters and we couldn't fault it. The service was friendly and attentive. There are three rooms and ours was charming and cosy with every facility. The bed was comfy and we slept well as the room temperature is thermostatically controlled. The village of Graffham is pretty, secluded and well kept. Walks onto the Downs are immediately available. We had a DB&B package for one night with a 25% discount using a voucher from the 2012 Good Hotel Guide. This made it excellent value. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We slept in Room No. 2 - excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We found the pub on the internet whilst looking for a place that was cosy and away from the hussle and bussle of normal life, this certainly fitted the bill. The staff were friendly and accommodating, whilst food was brilliant value for money. We stayed for the special deal : 3 course meal with B and B and found this really good value, especially in the area that it was in. I could not fault it and have recommended it to everyone I have spoken to. A good spot for walkers of the South Downs Way and a good base to tour around mid to north Sussex. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We found this pub by seaching for walks in the South Downs, and it turned out to be absolutely perfect. It is a traditional pub in a quite village which has been sensitively updated, bringing style and comfort without lossing the essential qualities of a good country pub. The pub itself has all the usual features of low ceilings, sold wood furniture etc and a really good selection of beers, wines and spirits. The wines in particular were well chosen, and reasonably priced. The food was again, spot on. An interesting menu with plenty of choice, really well cooked, with fresh salads beautifully dressed. The whole experience was enhanced by friendly, efficient service.

The pub has three rooms in the stable block which were clean, and well furnished, albeit quite small. The appeared to have been recently refurbished, with powerful showers and lovely toiletries.

There are plenty of walks around and on the South Downs Way straight from the pub.

All in all a wonderful surpise - the traditional suroundings of an English pub with the style and homeliness of a good country hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

What a great 'find' ! We came across The Forester's Arms on the Internet while searching for a cosy country pub in rural Sussex as a suitable venue for a romantic night away. The Forester's certainly appeared to 'fit the bill' so we booked one of their special deals (that combine a night's B & B stay with a 3 course evening meal). We are pleased to report that we were not in any way disappointed.

The Foresters is located in the heart of the Sussex countryside in the sleepy little village of Graffham. With its old oak beams, roaring log fire and interesting selection of local ales, it typifies the kind of establishment we were looking for. Add to this some friendly and helpful staff, some great food plus comfortable accommodation and what do you get ? Happy guests like us - who book up to stay again the following week as they enjoyed it so much the first time !

Any negatives ? Not for us, although some people might find the bedrooms a bit on the small side, the owners have made good use of the available space when converting what were old stables into 3 nicely furnished bedrooms with en suites. Cosy and comfortable. We will certainly return (again !) in the future.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the quieter of the 3 rooms on offer as it is furthest from the (not very busy) road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend at the Foresters Arms with our dog who was welcomed on our first night for dinner with doggie treats.
The accommodation was superb; clean, lovely cotton sheets, and all you would expect in a top place to stay; toiletries, tea/coffee etc with a great selection of DVD's for those rainy moments. The room was a little smaller than we had expected, but as we were out walking the downs for hours on end it didn't matter.
The menu had a good selection and looking around at meals being served they all looked very good including our choice. Good selection of wines to choose from and great atmosphere with inglenook fire that was blazing with staff wonderfully warm and friendly that went out of their way to make your stay a good one.
We will certainly come again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Foresters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foresters Arms

Address: The Street | Graffham, Graffham GU28 0QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Graffham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Graffham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Foresters Arms Hotel West Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Foresters Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.