We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilmarnock Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kilmarnock Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bridge Street | Cruden Bay, Cruden Bay (Port Erroll) AB42 0HD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel and will not be the last. The hotel is very clean with well appointed rooms that are comfortable and warm. The food is excellent with a good choice on the menu for all tastes. I have also recommended this hotel to some of my colleagues who are also using the hotel when in the Aberdeen area on business.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    37
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
26
9
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Have two nights in 'The Killie' just after New Year the facilities are fantastic. Mine Hosts Lucy and Martin cant do enough for their guests. I just would not go past this establishment. The food is also the best in the area with a very varied menu.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean tidy and have all the facilities required. TOP NOTCH
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Hotel was immediately welcoming with log burning stoves in the reception and lounge bar and cosy, comfortable furniture with books, magazines and tourist information available. The receptionist was warm, friendly and efficient, as were all the staff we met. Our room was on the ground floor in an annex just along a covered and heated corridor and appeared quite newly built. It was very spacious with a lovely, comfortable, huge bed, chairs and table, desk, wardrobe, drawers, flat screen TV, hospitality tray and a stable door with a ramp out to a totally enclosed patio with garden furniture and a small lawn area. The ensuite toilet, shower / wet room was also well appointed and like the whole room appeared accessible for wheelchairs. There were plenty of sockets and free wifi. Everything was spotlessly clean.
The hotel gardens are at the side of the river that runs to the picturesque, golden, sandy beach which is a 5 minute walk away down the lane opposite. There is a nice large, traditionally furnished dining room where we had a good breakfast, but we chose to eat our plentiful evening meal by the fire in the lounge bar with our dog happily asleep by our feet. The hotel bar appears to be popular with locals for a drink and the lounge bar was well occupied by a mix of locals, business people and visitors mostly also eating. The restaurant apparently gets busy especially on Saturdays. The hotel is also ideally located for golfers being practically adjacent to a course. We would always come here any time we were in this area and have no hesitation in recommending it for a stay or just a drink / meal.

Room Tip: Our room 17 was perfect with a dog and appeared to be "disabled friendly" too. We were ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here on business for one night in January. Lovely reception area with welcoming wood burning stove.. Great food (fresh fish and chips evening meal and breakfast with haggis) and good range of beers well kept. Friendly people and good service. Would stay again without a doubt.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Wonderful hotel with clean, tastefully furnished accommodation, excellent staff and top quality catering. Couldn't imagine any better value in the Aberdeen area. Convenient for Aberdeen city yet in beautiful beach side setting of Cruden Bay. Try it - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with four legged companions then the new rooms in the extension are ideal - un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I had 4 nights at the Kilmarnock Arms Hotel. I had a really nice room (large) and the bed was extremely comforatable. I ate in the hotel on three occassions and enjoyed each of the dishes that I had from their varied menu. The staff are extremely helpful. All in a great stay in a nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terceira, Portugal
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I do not have one bad thing to say about this b&b! Clean rooms, friendly staff, tasty breakfast, delicious restaurant, nice bar, and a fair price! A friend and I stayed here for 2 night in October 2010 and wished our stay was longer. The fish and chips at the restaurant were the best I have ever had. We just loved our stay here and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to the area!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilmarnock Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmarnock Arms Hotel

Address: Bridge Street | Cruden Bay, Cruden Bay (Port Erroll) AB42 0HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilmarnock Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of the picturesque village of Cruden Bay with 14 spacious en suite single, double/twin or family rooms and just a short stroll from Slains Castle, the beach and the world renowned Cruden Bay Golf Course whether you are enjoying a short break, overnight stay, popping in for a drink or sampling the local cuisine in our lounge bar or restaurant there really is something for everyone at The Kilmarnock Arms Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kilmarnock Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilmarnock Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.