We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilmarnock Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kilmarnock Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bridge Street | Cruden Bay, Cruden Bay (Port Erroll) AB42 0HD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Fantastic hotel. Wasnt always that way however the last two owners have brought the hotel up a few notches.
It now feels and looks a real Scottish hotel and visitors especially golfers should make a point of staying here.The championship golf course (in Top 100) is only half mile away.
Staff are courteous and friendly and the present owners have obviously worked very hard.
Food is GREAT especially the Goats cheese etc starter.

Room Tip: all good well decorated, clean and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    42
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
35
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very good hotel experience. Room was very good (with garden view). Hotel breakfast, resturant and lounge bar was very good plus lounge with log fire - food was excellent. Public bar had character - it isnt a chain and is typical old fashioned scottish "pub".

Good beer garden but I didnt brave it!

Hotel is run by team of prof's who have worked in 4 and 5 star venues and it shows.

Room had modern Sony big tv, great free wifi, iron and board.

Hotel review may have been 4 star or possibly 4.5 but given totally dire hotel options around Peterhead this option is outstanding. It has future business trips to the area a pleasure not a chore.

Locally the beach is beautif and a short walk with the castle in the opposite direction along the cliffs its well worth a look.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We didn't stay here, just stopped for lunch on our way around the coast. A pretty building with lots of outside seating. The bar is welcoming with warm friendly staff and a good menu. The food was tasty, would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had the pleasure of four nights at the Kilmarnock Arms most recently. Everything was just right. A nice clean room with everything one needs. The hotel itself is in an old building, steeped in history and the recent renovations make it all the better. There is a pub in the building that only adds to the charm. The food and service were equally worth a mention. Will be back again for certain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We live relatively locally to The Kilmarnock Arms and once a month or so, we go for dinner. The welcome, ambience, meals and service have been consistently very good. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I visited the "Killie" after being away from Cruden Bay for a number of years, after returning for a family visit we decided to go for dinner at "the Killie". The food was great and the service & atmosphere were very warming. 10 out of 10. I look forward to going back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here last summer on a self tour of Scotland. Everyone was very welcoming. We ate both dinner and breakfast in the hotel and both were very good. The waitress at breakfast even printed out the morning weather forecast for us, it was rainy but clearing in a few hours. Since we were hoping to golf on the excellent Cruden Bay golf course this was very reassuring. We would recommend Kilmarnock Arms to any traveler in this little Scottish village.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
4.3 mi away
Buchan Braes Hotel
Buchan Braes Hotel
#1 of 6 in Peterhead
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
16.7 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
6.7 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#5 of 6 in Peterhead
3.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
21.1 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
17.3 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen North (Bridge of Don) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmarnock Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmarnock Arms Hotel

Address: Bridge Street | Cruden Bay, Cruden Bay (Port Erroll) AB42 0HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilmarnock Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of the picturesque village of Cruden Bay with 14 spacious en suite single, double/twin or family rooms and just a short stroll from Slains Castle, the beach and the world renowned Cruden Bay Golf Course whether you are enjoying a short break, overnight stay, popping in for a drink or sampling the local cuisine in our lounge bar or restaurant there really is something for everyone at The Kilmarnock Arms Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kilmarnock Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilmarnock Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.