We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motorcycle trip to Normandy and the D-Day beaches / Museums” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Naomath

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Naomath to your Saves list
La Naomath
Cheimn sur l'Erbage 14400 Hameau de damignyst martin des entres,, 14400 Saint-Martin-des-Entrees, Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Motorcycle trip to Normandy and the D-Day beaches / Museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I primarily chose this 'Chambres D'Hotes' for its location which fitted nicely with our itinerary of viewing as much as possible of the D-Day sites and museums. Easy to find and in a quiet rural location. The main house is a converted 210 year old Barn conversion with the guests suites within. Hosts Natalie and Fabrice ADAM are very friendly and hold good knowledge of surrounding areas, able to direct you into Bayeux and recommend good restaurants. The rooms were found to be clean and fresh and breakfast was much more than the expected 'Continental style. Juice, fruit, apple tart, bread and jams with tea / coffee. The private garden is beautiful and a lovely place to relax with a bottle or 2 of wine on a sunny evening. Vehicle parking is excellent with security electric gates. You have to pay a 30% deposit up front to secure your booking and the remainder is to be paid in cash. Delightful stay of three nights for myself and 2 motorcycle colleagues for 3 nights late July 2012. The hosts English may not be the best, but if youy can speak even a litlle French like me then there is no problem. Sadly the room did not have a kettle to make our own tea and coffee, but Natalie was more than happy to provide us with Flasks of boiling water. Highly recommended and I would stay again, most enjoyable, and value for money.

Room Tip: There are different styles of rooms so review their own website for your options
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    4
    0
    5
See reviews for
13
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cold Bay, Alaska
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

The hostess is named Natalie and she's very friendly. The family room is on the ground floor, and consists of a separate bathroom (no tub), living room with a couch and flat screen TV with a patio door that opens onto the front garden, and a separate bedroom that has two single beds and one double bed. The decor inside is immaculate, charming, tasteful, yet not cluttered. Breakfast was fresh and simple the next morning. Parking is inside her gated property, and wi-fi is free and strong. You'll definitely need a car if you want to stay here though, as it's about a 8 minute drive to Bayeux. You can't check in til 1800, so be aware as you make your way there. My family had a fantastic one night stay and it only cost us 80 euro, a fantastic value for what we were given. I actually told Natalie that you could easily charge a lot more!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here for two nights on a trip to Normandy. Our hostess was very freindly, and we managed with our sketchy french and her sketchy english - you have to try!
We were shown to our room, which unusually had no external window. Not too much of a problem, but surprising how much you miss one - just for ventilation if not a view of the weather! (The door was glazed, which opened onto to the hall which did have another glazed window - so there was some natural light available). The other thing was the en-suite was sperated by a wall, but no door - again a bit strange (i'm sure it could be easily solved and would make a big difference). There was another room available - which was larger and seemed very nice.
Saying that, the room was well decorated, and well presented. Great bed and everything was very clean.
Breakfast was included, and was fresh and simple and perfectly adequate.

Room Tip: Go for the biggest one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We staid in La Naomath in August 2011 – a family with three teenagers.
I would like to advise you against this B&B. We have a very unpleasant experience there.
The hostess showed us every minute that she was unsatisfied with us as her paying guests:
..We didn’t speak French and wanted to see Bayeux.. but the hostess expects her gests to sit on the balcony and chat.
..We slept on sofa in the leaving room…
..Our towels are wet after we used them ….
..The roll of toilet paper run out too quickly in our room …
To short, everything was wrong with us from her point of view and she showed it every minute.
As I understand she keeps B&B not for business but for her own pleasure and doesn’t want to serve.
The culmination was in the last morning that we were not given the breakfast since we slept till 10 AM (!)
Please read it again: in the Bed & Breakfast we didn’t get breakfast.
We made a huge effort not give to the hostess to ruin our vacation. But our kids still remind her unpleasant behavior.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed in the gîte of La Naomath and it was a great holiday! The gîte is well equiped, has a large living room, a private garden within the property of the B&B and a closed parking lot.
The owners are very friendly people who had put a bottle of home made cidre in the fridge on the day of our arrival.. they always how our day was and what we had visited and our 2 year old son was crazy about the dog!
If it is nice weather it is a very nice garden to relax and where the kids can play as it is completely closed.
The bedrooms are very nicely decorated, the bathroom is rather small but with a good shower. We also rented the towels so this was very convenient.

The gîte is also very well located near to the RN to Cherbourg, ideally to visit the landing beaches, St mére Eglise, Caen, Le Mont St Michèl...

It is also only a 5-min drive to the centre of Bayeux which is really lovely and you have a lot of supermarkets (a giant Le Clerc) But you do need a car to make the best of the holiday as in the immediate surroundings of the gîte there is nothing .. but this makes it a very quiet place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

This B&B was very nice and in the country. I would not advise staying here unless you have a car at your disposal. It is very close to Bayeux and the beaches of Normandy as well as the city of Caen. The breakfast was very nice and the owners of the B&B were also very nice. There is free wi-fi and gated/secure parking. I would definitly stay here again, it is very nice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We have now returned five times to the gite, La Naomath, in this wonderful part of France. The accommodation is rated 3* by Gites de France and has everything you need for a self catering holiday - easily fulfilled with the local markets, shops and hypermarkets in abundance. The location is a little outside Bayeux itelf but only 3 minutes from the main autoroute, and the tiny rural hamlet of Damigny is just so peaceful and relaxing. There are well tended and planted gardens around the premises with a private area for the gite. Car parking is very secure on site. The hosts are a wonderful family who run both the gite and the B&Bs themselves, and we are very proud to now call them our friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Naomath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Naomath

Address: Cheimn sur l'Erbage 14400 Hameau de damignyst martin des entres,, 14400 Saint-Martin-des-Entrees, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux > Saint-Martin-des-Entrees
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Martin-des-Entrees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calm and peace are the most important words at the Naomath, comfortable "longre" of the "bessin," restored with authenticity, full with charm, near Bayeux the medieval historical city and the D-day beaches. Open all year. English and Italian spoken. Our family b&b on ground floor can receive 4 persons. The vast living room of relaxation is exclusively reserved for our guests. It includes TV and refrigerator. Breakfast is served in the living room with a superb view on the garden. The room annexed to the living room is composed with a bed for 2 persons, 2 beds for 1 person. A washbasin space is also present. The bathroom annexed to the living room has a shower, another washbowl and wc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your La Naomath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Naomath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.