We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   HC 70, Lajitas, Big Bend National Park, TX 79852   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Over all the resort was beautiful and clean. Front desk was very nice and helpful; made us feel very welcome. Resort could use more dinning/food options. Furthermore, the food was a little over price. Our family enjoyed our time there and planning to come back when we plan our return to Big Bend National Park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    151
    69
    42
    27
See reviews for
126
231
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Chose this resort for its proximity to Big Bend Natl Park(20 minutes drive time) and spa/golf. Spent four days just prior to spring break crowds to enjoy the park and local activities. Resort is spread over multiple buildings with some appearing to be considerably newer and closer to the lobby which might be a better selection depending on your needs. There are many types of rooms available, we booked suite so can only speak of it. Our selection was two room with bath and a half. Had difficulty finding room given the map supplied by the staff at registration, mostly due to the numbers on the rooms were painted on tiles at door of each but print was so small you had to be right on top to read it. Room was decorated in western motif, cute but dated. Bed was firm and furnishings were fine. Each room of suite had an air conditioner in the ceiling which each were very load. Since this resort is somewhat isolated, staying here results in you depending on the resort for much of your stay.Given that dependency, the real issue of the stay was with restaurant on-site. Over the four day stay, we ate four meals two breakfasts and two dinners. The quality of the food was poor and as a result we were not charged for two of them, authorized, I guess by the manager but he/she never introduced themselves so were not sure who they were. Food was either cold and/or nearly burnt. The wait staff on multiple occasions would take 5 - 10 minutes to get to the table, often times clearing adjacent tables without uttering a word, such as "be with you in a minute" or something similar. Understandable if busy but at most we ever saw only three tables were occupied, covered by two waiters. Bar was nice had live entertainment each night, however, ran into an interesting situation one night when asking if they had bar "food". We were told no, just the restaurant. When I tried to go to restaurant and bring food back to bar, was told I couldn't do that. Not sure what the issue there was. After that experience I'd recommend either getting a sandwich as the Lajitas General Store or going to the Starlight Theater in Terlingua ghost town, where food and service were excellent. Staff at reception was friendly and courteous. Spa was utilized one day. There is only one person to perform spa actiivies in small area. She was very good and friendly as well. Golfed one day, staff very helpful and courteous as well. Brought my own clubs but noticed they had two Nike sets for rent if need be. Views from many holes just spectacular which added to the enjoyment of the round. I inquired about the 19th hole, hoping for a snack and beer. Was informed they didn't have one. Later found out that there was a very nice restaurant there but had been closed indefinitely. There were several other activities such as horseback riding and sporting clays but didn't do those. Never tried room service but understood that if you called them, you had to go and pick it up from restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the lobby overlooking golf course appeared newer, might be somewhat better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimberle
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent three nights out here. The hotels location to Big Bend, Big Bend Ranch and the drive to Presidio along the Rio Grande was great. The golf course was beautiful, challenging and well maintained. We Loved This Course! The staff at the course were very attentive and helpful as were the hotel staff. Our room was a little worn, the door to the room had a large crack running down one of the panels you could see daylight through. The hotel cafe has a very scenic view but the food is average. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, MO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed a week in the RV park on the resort property. Spacious sites, full hook ups, awesome views from your rig, very nice pool area and rec hall. Visited both Big Bend National and State parks. Easy, beautiful drive to both, and the parks are just incredible. Played golf at the resort - beautiful, challenging course with killer views and in excellent shape. They offer discounts if you are staying with them. Well worth the price. Thirsty Goat Bar has great atmosphere, and live music on weekends. Drinks are a little pricey, and they have a good food menu. We ordered appetizers which were all good. Their grocery store is wonderful - all the basics, and lots of fun stuff too, along with a great deli. We ordered sandwiches to go and they were excellent. Easy drive to Terlingua for more restaurant options and fun bars. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay here. Very comfortable resort and friendly helpful service. Great place to serve as a base for Big Bend activities since it lies between the state and national parks and close to Terlingua. Only wish it was a little easier to get to.
Our room was comfortable and extremely clean. Large room but layout did not lend itself to two beds which caused some congestion. Fireplace in room was a very nice touch.
Restaurant was good but perhaps not great. View and outdoor seating was very nice. Menu could use a little more variety.
We would stay again if in the area and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just spent three nights at Lajitas Resort, and it was wonderful. This is a great place to stay if you're just touring the Big Bend without camping in the park. Very near the park entrance and other neat places.

Wonderful room and restaurant. Just a good experience

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cavalry section and were very please with the surroundings. Quite and peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Ridge, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Wife four kids and a long drive from Michigan, we were looking for a quiet oasis to get some rest near the Mexican border. We decided the small town of Presidio wasn't going to do it and chose Lajitas. Although we got in late and left after breakfast, we were thrilled with the grounds, the fountains, the decor in the rooms and a wonderful breakfast. The drive through Big Bend to Presidio was breath-taking. I want to return and check out the golf course, the shooting range and even the hunting opportunities. It was a slice of heaven all bundled up in a few hour stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa

Address: HC 70, Lajitas, Big Bend National Park, TX 79852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Big Bend National Park > Lajitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lajitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa offers a boutique resort setting nestled in the lowland desert between the majestic mountains of the Big Bend National Park and the Big Bend Ranch State Park in Texas. Featuring resort amenities with a Lanny Wadkins designed golf course, a relaxing spa, an Equestrian Center,and a variety of outdoor adventure activities of ATV and jeep tours, mountain biking, hiking, river rafting or just relaxing poolside soaking up the warmth and beauty of the pristine desert. In the evening visit the Resort's casual restaurant with outdoor seating with incredible vista views of the Big Bend mountains, or sip on a cool drink in the Thirsty Goat Saloon with live local music most nights and enjoy star gazing on the patio. Come and enjoy the "ultimate Big Bend experience!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lajitas Golf Resort And Spa
Lajitas Golf Hotel Lajitas
Lajitas Hotel
Lajitas Resort Texas
Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa Big Bend National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.