We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Resort play and accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   HC 70, Lajitas, Big Bend National Park, TX 79852   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bastrop, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Golf Resort play and accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Golf conditions were very good. Golf staff very accommodating to our needs. Beauty is incredible hotel is excellent. Hotel staff very responsive to meeting our requests. Rooms spacious with nice amenities. We will choose to stay in condos next trip which will be our 3rd in less than a year. 2 couples sharing condo is very spacious. THIS IS THE MOST BEAUTIUL GOLF COURSE IN THE STATE OF TEXAS. So sorry I've lived in Texas for 25+years & not visited. I've sent 5 couples since my initial visit & they, too, have raved about the golf course, hotel accommodations and friendliness of the staff. Golf course continues to be improved and manicured to resort standards. Wonderful place for family events and golf enthusiasts!! Going again in late May!!

Room Tip: No elevator in hotel. Difficult for older people to climb steep stairs, or those with bad knees. Con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    129
    56
    36
    27
See reviews for
112
199
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Made reservation online, printed copy reservation with confirmation number. Showed up at 5:00PM on day of reservation to check in. They can't find any record of it. Showed them my copy of reservation with confirmation number. They discovered that they had the day right but the wrong month in their records. Apparently there is a disconnect between the online reservation system and their official reservation system. They had no rooms available for us. Best they could do was put us up in a hotel in Alpine over 100 miles away. Promised to send vouchers for two nights free stay in the future, haven't seen them yet and frankly don't expect to. Check your reservations by phone, don't depend on the online reservations system, apparently it's unreliable. Confirm Confirm Confirm

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This review does not detail experiences with resort amenities or dining...

We were able to secure a very good rate so we decided to stay here during our visit to BBNP. Even though we would have loved to explore the resort, we ended up spending most of our time hiking and sightseeing in the NP, leaving early and arriving late.

The gentleman at check-in was efficient and friendly - just what you hope for after a long drive (same experience upon check-out, except with a female employee that time). I asked to see two different types of rooms and was kindly obliged. We saw a standard, 2-Queen room in the hotel section, above the registration area and while we were more than satisfied with the size, cleanliness, and location of the room, we elected to see a deluxe 2-Queen room in the Calvary Post building, which is across the street from the registration/hotel lobby. We went with the deluxe for the slightly bigger size of the bedroom and bathroom. Really, either room would have sufficed, again, since our only time in the room was spent sleeping and showering. Thankfully we didn't have any issues with the heater since it became cold enough for snow to blanket the area for two days of our trip. We didn't have any issues with loudness of neighbors or outside noise from vehicles (off of one of the main roads, 170, in and out of BBSP/NP).

The location is roughly a 30-40 minute drive to the NP, again, depending on your speed, traffic, and conditions of the road. Considering the quality vs. other lodging options int he area (also size and offered amenities of the resort), it is worth the extra drive if you feel closer lodging makes more sense for time management purposes. You will pass Terlingua on your way to the park(s) and the town offers dining choices, one of which is the delicious Starlight Theater (see sep. review).

I'm not one to dwell on the decor of a room (unless it poses a safety hazard and needs to be replaced!) but there are some noteworthy items to share regarding our western style themed room. The semi-vaulted ceilings were adorned with beautiful post and beam, evoking a log cabin feel. Each of the beds (both were very comfortable!) had large, matching wooden headboards, with equally impressive frames and foot boards. All of the light fixtures matched the theme of the decor, adding to the essence of the room. My favorite part of our room was the very nice, wall-to-ceiling tiled doorless shower that greeted you with a large rain showerhead. Adding to the shower experience was the strong water pressure and plentiful hot water. The Crabtree & Evelyn bath products garnished the experience!

No, we weren't able to enjoy any of the facilities since we were busy hiking throughout our stay (no not even dining!) but we can attest to the cleanliness of the rooms and grounds and the friendliness/professionalism of the staff. Our great rate was the cherry on top.

We will definitely plan on returning when the occasion calls for it!

Room Tip: If you want to be in the same vicinity of the dining areas, lobby, and excursion desk, stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and two chilren recently stayed at Lajitas Resort. We were amazed at the service and beauty of the area. The beds are very comfortable. I had a massage which was incredible. The food and service at their restaurant was awesome. Everything was wonderful. I would recommend this hotel.

Doris
Ft.Worth, Texas

Room Tip: Get a room at the La Cuesta.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My hubby and i stayed here in August 2012 as we flew into Texas with no idea of what to do or see and this seemed like a good option.
August is very much a low month, but the property still looked great and they still had ample staff on (the poor girl in the bar had just the one customer all evening).
The pool is great (but could do with better shade), rooms are quite nice (but would have been better had the balcony been accessible) but rom memory aren't regularly serviced.
We drove through Big Bend national park on the way here and found it really pretty - well work a look-see.
I dont know that i'd go here again - mostly as it took quite some time to travel here from San Antonio and there is pretty much nothing to see or do on the way - but it was worth seeing and staying a couple of nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, General Manager at Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
AbbsG,

Thank you for offering your comments. Big Bend in the summer is the best kept secret in Texas, which is something we are hoping to change. The region is beautiful and Lajitas is a great place to base when you are visiting the area.

We hope you change your mind and decide to return to Big Bend soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Lajitas Resort over the New Year holiday. This is our 3rd stay at this resort in the middle of nowhere and on the banks of the Rio Grande in the Big Bend area.

This resort has much potential. It is a beautiful place and a good place to stay when visiting Big Bend National Park. But the management tends to overlook the smaller details. We had two rooms, 124 and 125. Room 124 was very dark even when all of the lights were turned on. Additionally, the light between the beds had a broken connection with exposed wires and was very dangerous. The other complain we had regarding the room and housekeeping was on the first day of our trip, we left the "please clean the room" sign on the door at 8 am, but when we returned after hiking in the park all day at 5 p.m., the room was still not cleaned and the towels refreshed. All in all, it is a beautiful and unique isolated resort. If the management will pay more attention to the small details, I think they will see better success.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, General Manager at Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Spursone,
Thanks for taking time to offer your comments. Your input is important to us and we appreciate your insight. We have a new mangement team at Lajitas and attention to detail is our number one priority. As you can imagine, Lajitas is a large facility and addressing all of the issues is challenging. However, I believe we have the staff to acheive great things here and will continue to work towards that goal. Your continued support will be instrumental to our success.

Thank you for choosing Lajitas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We love Lajitas Resort and it is always fun to take people there for the first time. This year there were ten of us that met and brought in The New Year together. We have been there several times and love staying in the condo's. Golf for the guys and spa for the ladies...you can't beat that! I would recommend Lajitas Resort to anyone who loves to be busy or as a great place to just do nothing.

Room Tip: We love the condo's! Both bedrooms have fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa

Address: HC 70, Lajitas, Big Bend National Park, TX 79852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Big Bend National Park > Lajitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lajitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa offers a boutique resort setting nestled in the lowland desert between the majestic mountains of the Big Bend National Park and the Big Bend Ranch State Park in Texas. Featuring resort amenities with a Lanny Wadkins designed golf course, a relaxing spa, an Equestrian Center,and a variety of outdoor adventure activities of ATV and jeep tours, mountain biking, hiking, river rafting or just relaxing poolside soaking up the warmth and beauty of the pristine desert. In the evening visit the Resort's casual restaurant with outdoor seating with incredible vista views of the Big Bend mountains, or sip on a cool drink in the Thirsty Goat Saloon with live local music most nights and enjoy star gazing on the patio. Come and enjoy the "ultimate Big Bend experience!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lajitas Golf Hotel Lajitas
Lajitas Golf Resort And Spa
Lajitas Hotel
Lajitas Resort Texas
Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa Big Bend National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.