We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   HC 70, Lajitas, Big Bend National Park, TX 79852   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

My wife took me there as a birthday present to play golf and visit Big Bend National Park and Big Bend State park. This out of way distination was definitely worth the trip. Due to a hard freeze the golf course was closed and expected to reopen on Sept 1. My wife set up reservations for at the end of September as a birthday present. When we arrived we were informed that the course was open until Oct. 1. The resort went out of fheir way to accomadate us for the golf and let us play rounds before the course opened. Although there are still some damage that has not yet recovered from the freeze, the course was in nice condition. I played the course 2 times and thoroughly enjoyed it. I could have played 36 holes a day and would not have been disappointed or bored by the course. The first day I played they even had an employee (thanks Alan) play with me so I could get the layout of the course. I would recommend that anyone playing should at least or view each hole from the back tees. The view is amazing. Ruffin and his staff really went above an beyond to make sure it was a memorable experience.

There are plenty of outside activites to keep you occupied. We shot sporting clays and went on an evening trail ride and visited both parks. There is very little shopping so if this is your desire this is not the place for you. The local establishments were very intrigueing such as the Terlinqua Company store and Starlight Theatre.

This is a very pet friendly establishment that was very welcoming to our 2 Bulldogs. The accomodations were top notch but not overpriced. My wife loved the message that she received at the spa.

Although we don't have an RV, I was impressed by the quality of the RV resort on the grounds of the resort. Paved spaces with all of the necessary hookups, a laundry room and a pool.

Cell phone service was spotty at best but that was a plus to us because it allowed us to unwind with out all of the interruptions of our Houston home.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor suite not in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMStevens, General Manager at Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear LeeH,
Thank you so much for your kind words about our Resort and our amazing golf gourse, Black Jack's Crossing. We are receiving multiple accolades about our golf course, it has been written that there is none other like it in the state of Texas! We are so happy we were able to accommodate you during your visit so you too could enjoy the course. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon and please bring Louie and Lola, your bulldogs, who were a big hit with our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    125
    55
    36
    26
See reviews for
111
193
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
austin, texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Lajitas Monday through Thursday night. We left Lajitas on a Friday. Since it was during the week, and off season, we pretty much had the entire place to ourselves. This resort is huge! The grounds are modeled to look like an old, "upscale", West Texas Town. If you have enough money, you can ride horses, shoot skeet, golf and eat 4 star meals every night. They even have an "International Airport." Everything seemed to be in very good condition and you are surrounded by desert and mountains. Even though it's very close to Mexico, we never felt unsafe. There seemed to be many patrols. We saw the sheriff many times...be careful speeders! There are many different types of accommodations to choose from and most them looked nice to stay in. We stayed in one of the Calvary Post Cottages, #127 to be exact (See my pictures...I also have pictures of #128 too). Our cottage was very comfortable. It included a mini-fridge and kitchenette. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. They put a microwave in our cottage's kitchenette, which was nice. We ate dinner one night at the resort bar called the Thirsty Goat Saloon. The food was excellent...some of the best beef fajitas I have ever had! My wife and I are not golfers. The main reason we went on this trip was for vacation and to visit Big Bend National Park. Lajitas is about a 20 min drive from the Western park entrance. We drove a lot of miles back and forth. Next time, we will try the Las Casitas cabins (http://bigbendfarflung.com/lodging/) in Terlingua, TX which were much closer to the park entrance. They also seem to be more in our price range. Speaking of Terlingua, I highly recommend the Starlight Theatre and La Kiva in Terlingua and Terlingua Ghost Town for dinner. Don't forget to stop at the Terlingua Ghost Town Cemetery!

Room Tip: Calvary post cottages are roomy, secluded and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

we had a lovely stay here - chosen due to close proximity to Big Bend National Park, this is a real oasis. The accommodation was of a very good standard both in terms of style and cleanliness. The bar was a delight, - a lovely couple from Louisiana made our night with their warmth and good humour - the barstaff were excellent, and staff and food in the restaurant were fabulous. An unexpected treat on the way back to our chalet was to notice so much wildlife right next to the buildings - bats, small creatures (perhaps racoons - could not really tell in the dark!) and something larger too but again not sure what it was in the dark!! The swimming pool area was really pleasant, particularly given the intensely hot temperatures. The gardens and seating areas, water features and flowers provided a really restful setting, and to top it all a lovely little bakery on-site provided a delicious breakfast, the lady who runs it is obviously an excellent cook. Will definitely call in here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMStevens, General Manager at Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear cag65,

We appreciate hearing about your visit here with us in the beautiful Big Bend region of
West Texas. We take pride in our staff being exceptionally friendly as you experienced. And yes, our guests are always amazed at the variety of wildlfie they are able to observe in this area, from exotic rare birds, to wild horses grazing along the Rio Grande River our area delights and suprises in it's natural surroundings that are still left untouched. We thank you for your visit, hope to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Had a great time of peace and quiet. We did the canoe trip on the Rio Grande, half day trip and we saw many animals, scenic mountains, and the wild side of living. Great time. Spent time at the Resort pool, so relaxing and quiet. In the evening, we went and had drinks at the Resort Bar, where they mixed great drinks. Again, if your looking to spend some quiet and peaceful time, and relaxation, stay at the Lajitas Resort & Spa.

Room Tip: Stay on one of the suites near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMStevens, General Manager at Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear elias h,

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time here in one of the most beautiful scenic
areas of Texas ! Our resort hosts over 27,000 acres of pristine desert and mountains
located adjacent to the Big Bend Park regions of over 1.1 million acres of protected park lands.
So yes it's the perfect place for a getaway and to relax and enjoy the quiet and calm of nature
as well as great cocktails and the sunset view from the Thristy Goat Saloon.
Please hurry back soon as providing relaxation for our guests is a top priority!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We went off -season but the resort was everything they advertised it to be on the website. It was like walking back in time into the old west. We thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance of the resort and it was a sight to see in itself. Excellent service. Looked forward to relaxing with everything they had to offer after a hot day at Big Bend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMStevens, General Manager at Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear danya j,

I have shared with our Team your comments about enjoying the "old west " ambiance and the excellent service you received during your visit with us! Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay as that is what our Team's commitment is for each one of our guest when they spend time with us here at the Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa. We are so happy you had an awesome experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Arriving at Lajitas was a rather strange experience, felt as though we were entering a ghost town, not dissimilar to the real one a few miles up the road at Terlingua. There seemed to be no one staying at this resort and the room we were shown to, the "upgraded, deluxe poolside" special, was musty and had an air conditioning unit that sounded like an aircraft carrier taking off - constantly! That's the bad news.

The good news is, after one night of no sleep in the noisy, musty room, once we told the manager of the problem, we were immediately and graciously moved to a lovely, less expensive room in the main part of the hotel. At least there we actually saw and heard other guests, lessening the Twilight Zone feel of our previous night.

Dining was at the resort (there are literally no other options around) and the service was wonderful and the food terrific. Again, with so few guests, the help was able to give us undivided attention.

We chose this establishment from viewing the web site for lodging around Big Bend National Park and were attracted to the special rates offered at this time of year. According to everyone we spoke to at the resort, this is the off season. They assured us that people really do come here in the winter months!

At any rate, it was a lovely oasis in the middle of west Texas and once we got the noisy room taken care of, our stay was perfect.

Room Tip: Avoid the "poolside" rooms - they are remote, noisy a/c and musty smelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMStevens, General Manager at Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear cwit,

We are happy you found our resort to be a lovely oasis in West Texas! We appreciate hearing from you both the good and not so good part of your visit. Happily it was mostly good as you stated ! Our desert location lends itself to being quiet during the warmer months of the year, however allot of our visitors prefer coming to enjoy the quiet and calm during our slower season. Thank you for bringing the guestroom ac issue to our attention, it's only through our guest's eyes can we to do better, so taking the time to let us know is so appreciated. We hope you will return soon, the winter months are a wonderful time to return to Lajitas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was a fabulous place to stay for our first of many trips to the Big Bend area of Texas. This hotel is located between BB State & National parks. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. Everything about this property was very nice. The food was good. The place was well kept. It was the off season so it was run on a skeletal staff but we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel. The absolute best part of this place is the Equestrian center and the activities there. It is run by Mr. O.K. Estes, died in the wool, cowboy! If you have ever wanted to fulfill your dreams of being a cowboy like the movies, Mr. Estes can make it happen. He is skilled, knowledgeable, friendly, and all around so likeable we will go back to Lajitas just to see him! We were able to go on a 2 hour trailride one day and then went back to shoot guns in the old west town that is set up near the property. At the end of our trail ride my husbands horse got into a beehive and was spooked, we are not very experienced riders but that made no difference. O.K. was to his side so quickly and took control of the situation, both his horse and my husbands. He was on a good, fast horse and had selected the animals we were on as to make sure it was a safe, pleasant experience. I do believe, because of him it all turned out much better than it could have. I can't say enough good about this place. It is the best kept secret of the southwest. You won't be sorry if you go. You'll wish you had gone sooner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lajitas
Villa Terlingua 4.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews Maverick Ranch RV Park 4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
View all 0 hotels in Lajitas, ranked by popularity

Been to Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa

Address: HC 70, Lajitas, Big Bend National Park, TX 79852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Big Bend National Park > Lajitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Lajitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa offers a boutique resort setting nestled in the lowland desert between the majestic mountains of the Big Bend National Park and the Big Bend Ranch State Park in Texas. Featuring resort amenities with a Lanny Wadkins designed golf course, a relaxing spa, an Equestrian Center,and a variety of outdoor adventure activities of ATV and jeep tours, mountain biking, hiking, river rafting or just relaxing poolside soaking up the warmth and beauty of the pristine desert. In the evening visit the Resort's casual restaurant with outdoor seating with incredible vista views of the Big Bend mountains, or sip on a cool drink in the Thirsty Goat Saloon with live local music most nights and enjoy star gazing on the patio. Come and enjoy the "ultimate Big Bend experience!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lajitas Golf Hotel Lajitas
Lajitas Golf Resort And Spa
Lajitas Hotel
Lajitas Resort Texas
Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa Big Bend National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.