We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this quaint castle made our vacation come to life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau d'Agel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau d'Agel
Save
You added Chateau d'Agel to your Saves list
6 place du Chateau | To Pak, Enter by 2 Place de L'eglise, 34210 Agel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Agel B&B and Inns
San Ramon, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“this quaint castle made our vacation come to life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

In August, our family rented the Chateau for a family reunion. Not only was the castle beautiful, making us feel like medieval royalty, but the modern amenities were beyond expectation. We enjoyed every minute, from the numerous day trips to nearby villages and big attractions to the lounge days relaxing at the pool and tennis court. The chateau is a great place for adults, who can find enjoyment in the wine cellar, large kitchen, and beautiful rooms as well as for kids, who can explore the secret passages and play on the grounds. The castle more than comfortably fit the 12 of us- in fact, we probably could have fit more. The location provides access to the many beautiful sites of southern France and the chateau itself gives you a sense of privacy while also providing you with the comfort of being in a friendly village environment.

Martine and Jean-Marie are wonderful hosts and people, who were constantly within reach to meet our every need. They kindly recommended things to do in the area, and even reserved a boat ride/lunch for us. We couldn't have asked for better hosts.

Needless to say, it was one of the best vacations we have had. We HIGHLY recommend this chateau for your stay in France.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The castle offers an old world atmosphere with the right amount of modern conveniences.
Everything is wisely decorated with lot of taste and charm and equipped for pretty much any need.
The countryside is surrounded by stunning vineyards and picturesque villages.
The location is perfect for day trips around the south of France from Toulouse to the Mediterranean and from Tarn to eastern Pyrenees.
Martine and Jean-Marie are great hosts. They were very accessible, responsive and ready to help on any question or request.
Ultimately we had a superb vacation and many wonderful memories to treasure from our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We rented the Chateau for a week for a family gathering to mark a special occasion. The reviews and web site seemed too good to be true... In retrospect they do not adequately relay the wonderful nature of this special place. The grounds are beautiful and the Chateau itself is a perfect combination of modern amenities and timeless charm. Thirteen of us were more than comfortable.The town is small but the residents are welcoming. It is a great spot from which to explore this beautiful region. The local restaurants are great and reasonable (don't expect Michelin, just good local products prepared well).
Finally, I can't say enough about hosts Martine and Jean-Marie. They are at once helpful yet unobtrusive. We felt like we were staying with old friends. Be sure to ask Martine to arrange a tour and tasting at the Vinyard, a special experience.
Just go here.... you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The suite at the top of the castle is the most charming to me, but be prepared for a climb up an anc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muskogee, ok, usa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

At least 15 of us have stayed at the Chateau for a week, two different times. It's truly like a home away from home. Martine and Jean-Pierre are gracious hosts. We met many of the locals, including the Backhouses-he's a great photographer and she does stunning jewelry. The wine of Chateau d'Agel is pretty wonderful, too. The rooms are more than spacious and the kitchen is well-equipped. The location is great for day trips to some wonderful places: Bezier, Narbonne, Collioure, Pesanas, etc. A highlight was a wonderful concert at the church across the street the night we arrived. One of those serendipity moments. Another time, during an art event, we were invited to a wine, hors d'oeuves and concert there at the chateau and got a private concert inside later. Wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mustang83
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

We spend 1 night in this authentic french castle. We received a warm welcome by Martine and Jen-Pierre. What a great place to stay.Rooms as you would expect them to be in a castle with all modern amenities including Wifi at hand. Great effort has been put into this rare and special place.An ideal location for a stay with friends and family. You can rent the entire chateau and have the buildings, park and pool all to yourselves. Excellent location for excursions in the Minervois area, the castle is located just a few kilometers north of Bize-Minervois and Minerve, between Beziers and Carcassonne. We stayed on a B&B basis. Certainly an experience of a lifetime.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

Our weekend at Chateau D'Agel with Peter and Sally was the most amazing experience. The chateau is beautiful, authentic, luxurious, each room is different, tastfully decorated in keeping with the amazing Chateau. There were 5 couples and we were celebrating a friends 30th birthday, and Sally had put some special balloons out on the chateau gates and in the bedroom of the birthday boy, a special thoughful touch, we got settled and were then greated with a glass of Rose and a lunch prepared by Peter the Chef, fit for a king (of a Chateau!) and from then on the food and wine and hospitality never ceased to impress.

Continental breakfasts of croisants from the local bakery, fresh in season fruit, tehn spiced quail for lunch, filet mignon of porc for dinner, amazing deserts... and then the cheeses, fabulous french cheeses, each with a story from Peter about how they are made, their history, it was fantastic. Peter's knowledge of the local wine is emense, he made a point of explaining each of the wine's we were drinking with the meals (the ingredients of which are locally sourced often cooked with herbs grown within the Chateau gardens), and how they paired with the foods we were eating. Afternoons were spent playing boule in front of the magnificent chateau, swimmimg in the pool, sunning ourselves with a glass of Pimms....

Needless to say I can fully recommend a stay at Chateau D'Agel catered for by Peter and Sally, I have stayed in many hotels across Europe and beyond and eaten in Mitchelin starred restaurants and their hospitality, their attention to detail is second to none and I cannot recommend a stay with them highly enough, and I can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — It's authenticity yet classiness
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau d'Agel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau d'Agel

Address: 6 place du Chateau | To Pak, Enter by 2 Place de L'eglise, 34210 Agel, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Agel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Agel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast or Exclusive rental of the Castle.Your hosts look forward to welcoming you to a truly memorable stay in the beautiful, atmospheric surroundings of their family home. This superb medieval castle close to Minerve and Carcassonne dates from the 12th century onwards, and consists of the main building, four towers and a dovecote, extensive terraced gardens covering 2 hectares (5 acres) and a swimming pool. Bed and breakfast : If you wish to find the ambiance from the past, you will enjoy the large lounges, the library, the spacious rooms and the breakfast facing the park.For family vacations or vacations with friends, it is possible to rent the entire castle, the park, the pool. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau d'Agel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.