We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rail holidays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Desenzano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Desenzano to your Saves list
Hotel Desenzano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Cavour, 40/42, 25015 Desenzano Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great rail holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just got back from Lake Garda on a Simply Lake Garda Great Rail holidays. Had an absolutely fabulous time. Hotel was lovely couldn't fault it. Brilliant location by the railway although you wouldn't know it as it is quite quiet. Walk into a very attractive town takes about ten mins.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dese_17, Responsabile reception at Hotel Desenzano, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
customer friendly,

Thanks very much for the nice words spent for our hotel and our country.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel


We wish you a good summer

Hotel Desenzano****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    64
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
14
98
8
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The well balanced, tour manager-lead (ME), Great Rail Journeys (GRJ) tour 'Simply Lake Garda' is based around the quietly placed Hotel Desenzano situated near the main station. Tour trips include idyllic Isola del Garda, old city of Verona, picturesque village of Sirmione and the unique city of Venice.

Lakeside and quays, many restaurants of Desenzano lay down hill from hotel which takes 10 minutes walk but the hill coming back might take 15 to 20 minutes depending on stops and heat. We were very lucky with warm 30C to 34C sunshine. Desenzano is a base from which you need to plan to venture further afield.

On arrival at the hotel our tour party of 36 was welcomed by Hotel staff with a drink on the 3rd floor terrace and a chance to look out over the lake before going to our rooms where our luggage had been delivered. Room 126 lay at the back of the hotel looking up the street away from the main road. We could not see the building construction next door but we could hear it. GRJ had kept us fully informed that building work would be going on during the day.

Our room was very comfortable, well looked after, well air-conditioned and a good place to return to after a warm day's sight-seeing.

We enjoyed all our hotel meals especially breakfasts. The hotel made us a packed lunch for our return journey to UK via Strasbourg.

The very mixed age-group tour were very supportive of each other. It is not easy lifting suitcases 180cm onto a train carriage luggage rack. But there was always a very generous spirit within the group that overcome those hurdles on each train. After all, we were told before we left "travel light" - you really do need to!

This holiday and hotel enabled a spirit of adventure to flourish.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Although the hotel is 10-15 minutes stroll from the lake shore, the bonus is that it is only 100 metres from the station - a station on a line that includes Milan, Verona, Padua and Venice! We received a glass of wine and snacks on the terrace on arrival which set the tone for the service from the staff for our stay. Excellent buffet breakfasts, perfect air-conditioned rooms and helpful advice from reception when needed. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Last march my boyfriend and I decided to go to Italy on holidays to get to know a piece of the country.
I talked to an italian friend and asked him about a nice place by the sea and tipically italian, so he suggested me to check out Desenzano on the net. I did so and it was luckily what I was looking for. So I asked him about a nice and quiet hotel in the area and he recommended me to go to Hotel Desenzano, and so I did.
It is a really nice hotel and we really got to relax ourselves during our holidays. The relation between the quality and the price is good,.
The hotel was perfect, clean, charming, the staff was friendly, the service was really good. Also we rented bikes and we could park them at the hotel and even keep them in the room!

I really encourage u to check it out

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dese_17, Responsabile reception at Hotel Desenzano, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your review, that makes us happy to know that you have enjoyed here.

Recently we have become "bike hotel" and we are glad that you have enjoyed this service.

With the hpe to see you again in the future

We wish you a good summer

Greetings from Lake Garda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Have just returned from GRJ Tour. First impression of my room No. 116 was disappointing. Small room with terrible view from balcony. When I asked for room change on first night was informed they were fully booked but could change rooms on the Monday. The owner was not very helpful and I felt I was being a nuisance. The night porter/manager was trying to be helpful and said we could change rooms on the Monday. When I went to reception on Monday after having packed our cases nobody seemed to know anything about this change. Eventually was offered a different room on the same floor and whilst room was bigger it had the same décor as the first room but I felt I had no choice but to take it. I went to see a room on the second floor which one of the other members of the group were staying in. This room had clearly been refurbished and had a better view. I feel that as we had paid the same price as other people in the group we should have had the same standard of accommodation.
The food at the hotel was average. Although the staff were friendly (other than the owner) I would not return to this hotel again and would not recommend it to friends. Also the pool stuck in front of the hotel is not ideal.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 116!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dese_17, Direttore at Hotel Desenzano, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s with high pleasure that we noticed that you subscribed yourself in the Tripadvisor site, expecially with the main purpose to be able to leave a “negative” comment about our Hotel.
Straight from the first moment you arrived here, as well as during all your stay, you showed us a sort of rudeness and a low level of respect towards who’s working hard to ensure a good service to the customers. You were trying to find foolish excuses just to change your pre-assigned room, but even if we really wanted to satisfy soon your pressing request, you were told that we could do anything until Monday because Saturday and Sunday night all rooms were already occupied by other customers and we were completely full.
Then on Monday, we perfectly knew that you still wanted to change room and so we showed you the only room which became available exactly from that Monday morning after some other customer’s departure, on the same floor and of the same type as you had before.

As far as regards your judgement about our pool, we felt a bit surprised after reading what you wrote, cause our impression was that you appreciated a lot the possibility to swim every day, as not many other customers did, in fact you used the pool very often and every time you received clean towels from the guys at the reception.

Sorry but we are more than assured that the service which you received is fully in line with the package you bought and the thing which encourages us is that the majority of our customers/guests don’t share your opinion.

Objectively it’s quite difficult to be considered the Best Hotel in Desenzano from everybody.

We wish you anyway an enjoyable summer


Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Truly fantastic place to stay, it was our first time at the lake garda and we were so pleased we were booked at Desenzano. The hotel is furnished to a very high standard. Food was outstanding and every meal was perfect, all served by friendly, patient, English speaking staff.
All amenities clean and well cared for, and friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble when caring for their guests....
Superb leisure facilities- swimming pool, bike hire service , plus a great location.
Great quality for the price, would recommend to everyone who comes to the Lake Garda.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I had high expectations coming to stay at this hotel from New York and I was not let down! We stayed for 4 nights and everything was absolutely perfect! The staff was very accomodating and friendly- they were very helpful in providing us with anything and everything we needed to ensure a positive experience for us. The facility was immaculate, especially the pool, which was beautiful. Delicious breakfast each morning helped start our days off right, especially before a long bike ride (bicycles provided by the hotel!!) to take in the amazing views and scenery. Also, you can't beat the views from the 3rd floor terrace or the solarium on the 4th floor. Definitely check out this hotel, which I highly recommend for couples, families, or a group of good friends :) I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dese_17, Direttore at Hotel Desenzano, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Good morning,

we thank you so much for commenting positively our hotel, and we are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed it and our work.

Our pool is very pleasant for our customers, especially on hot days like these, and this year we have become "bike hotel", with free bike rental for three hours and on request there is the possibility to having a guide for your excursions.


We are very happy you enjoyed our work, we are waiting in our hotel and wish you a good time

Manager & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Desenzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Desenzano

Address: Viale Cavour, 40/42, 25015 Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Desenzano 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Desenzano****, recently completely refurbished is located in Desenzano del Garda,easy to reach from exit of the Highway,just 50 meters far from the railway,5 minutes walking to arrive in the historical centre.Good point of departure for trips all around the lake,towards entertainment parks or to visit artistic cities.The modern complex combined with the elegant surroundings allows us to offer an ideal accommodation for business Clients,tourists and Meetings.The rooms are provided with private bath,hair dryer,direct dial telephone,TVsat LCD,air conditioning,minibar,digital safe,all with balcony.Pool with deck-chairs,beach-umbrellas,wide solarium terrace with lake view to relax yourself and sunbathe,TV leisure room,American bar,free internet point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Desenzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desenzano Italy
Desenzano Hotel Del Garda
Hotel Desenzano Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Desenzano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.