We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mayer & Splendid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mayer & Splendid to your Saves list
Hotel Mayer & Splendid
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ulisse Papa 10, 25015 Desenzano Del Garda, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Northern Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in July 2014, (16-22). The location is superb, right on the promenade. We had a room with a balcony and lake view, which is always well worth any extra, I think the hotel called it a junior suite which was quite a large room, big en-suite bathroom, and all mod-cons. Air conditioning worked well and was necessary as it was very warm during our stay, not very noisy either so could be left on overnight if desired. This hotel probably has the best location on the resort with all the main squares, restaurants and shops on its doorstep. The ferry stop is almost opposite, and a bus stop is nearby; the railway station is a 10-15 minute walk up hill. Its on the main Venice to Milan line which is why we chose this Lake Garda resort.
The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful, breakfast was plentiful with a good choice. We ate in the Hotels own restaurant one night which was very good, though we do tend to eat out mostly. There are numerous restaurants in this resort. The small road in front of the hotel is closed to traffic at night so its very peaceful. We would certainly return to this hotel again , and would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in this lovely resort.

Room Tip: A room with a lake front view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    41
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
65
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Firstly, you can not get a hotel with better location in Desenzano than this one. Everything is close, yet it's peaceful inside. We stayed at Mayer & Splendid for 5 nights in Jul 2014. The service was friendly and helpful during the whole stay. The whole reception staff made us feel really welcome and relaxed. I can honestly say it was the best service I've had on any hotel I've stayed at.

We had a "Camere Business Puccini" on the 2nd floor, facing the lake. You can request for the lake view on your reservation. Room was decently sized, nice looking and everything in it worked perfectly. If you for reason intend to spend a lot of time in the room during your holiday, you might want to take a look at some of the bigger rooms. You can set the air conditioning into silent mode to keep you cool during the night too. Cleaning staff made excellent job every day. Room was always spotless when we returned to it. While the hotel's located next to the beach boulevard, traffic (it's not much really) never bothered us as the sounds outside are almost completely silenced by the windows.

Breakfast was good. A selection of warm foods, good variety of breads and toppings. Nice selection of pastries, fruit juices (including freshly squeezed orange juice). Overall it's a good continental breakfast. We didn't have any other meals at the hotel's restaurant, as we like to try out different places, but the restaurant has had good reviews on TripAdvisor.

I highly recommend Mayer & Splendid to anyone who's visiting Desenzano. Based on our experience, Mayer & Splendid could easily be a 4 stars hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed two nights on July 2nd - 3rd at the Mayer. Service and room were the best during our 18 day trip from Chamonix to Venice and Milan. Room 106 had big private terrace open to lake with Sirmione view and also in front of small lively central piazza. Service and comfort meets perfectly well. Breakfast and service, once again, were excellent. Higly recommend this place.

Room Tip: They gave us keys for five rooms to select, all were unique and great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Mayer for 7 nights in June/July 2014. The hotel is ideally located overlooking Lake Garda, in the heart of the town. The road that runs between the hotel and the water's edge is closed to most traffic after 9pm. We stayed in room 112 which has a large terrace overlooking the lake. The room was large, comfortable and cleaned every day. There was a minibar and tea/coffee making facilities provided. We found the free wifi signal to be weak, but usable, in the room.
The reception staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke good English. They helped us plan local bus journeys, printing off timetables, etc. The breakfast was adequate with a small selection for the cooked breakfast plus toast, pastries, cereals, yogurts, fresh & tinned fruit. We had read the previous poor reviews regarding the restaurant but I think it is now under new management and the dinner we had was excellent - plus, as a guest of the hotel, we got a 10% discount, so I would recommend trying it. We would also recommend trying Ristorante Bagatta alla Lepre and Il Bagattino at which we had excellent dinners.
The hotel is located next to the boats that ferry you over the lake, 2 minutes walk from the bus stops and it is about a 15-20 minute walk up-hill to the mainline railway station from which you can travel to Verona, Venice, Padua, Brescia, Bergamo, Milan, etc.
In conclusion I would recommend this clean, friendly, well situated hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Mayer & Splendid for 4 nights in June and was very impressed, the location is fantastic and the staff very friendly. We just had breakfast at the hotel, good selection for continental. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Vic Australia
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed as part of a group and already have plans to return independently as we enjoyed not only our stay at the hotel but Desenzano in particular. The hotel overlooks the waterfront and the lake which is spectacular. Rooms are not overly large but very comfortable with air-conditioning and wifi. The bathroom was on the small size even for two people but we managed. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would add to the appeal. The breakfast was a buffet with a good range of food on offer including coffee machines and freshly squeezed orange juice. Some of our dinners were disappointing and not of the standard we would have expected from an Italian hotel serving Italian food. I guess this is "group food". We would most likely eat elsewhere when we visit again. Ambra on the reception desk is a delightful young lady, helpful, smiling and nothing too much trouble. She is an asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vrhnika, Slovenia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

When we stepped out of the car, the first thing we noticed was an amazing location and a great appearance of the hotel. When we entered, we were impressed.
A restaurant is very pretty, the breakfast is simple, but delicious. Staff on the reception is very friendly. Rooms have a huge bathroom, also beds are clean and big enough. Desenzano city is splendid! It has nice cafes, bunch of pretty boutiques and again, location by the lake is beautiful. Most of the people speak English very well.
We are comming back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mayer & Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayer & Splendid

Address: Piazza Ulisse Papa 10, 25015 Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mayer & Splendid 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mayer & Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mayer And Splendid
Hotel Mayer & Splendid Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mayer & Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.