We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base for Lake Garda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Maria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Maria to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Maria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Michelangelo 150, 25015 Desenzano Del Garda, Italy (Formerly Villa Maria Hotel & Residence)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Midlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A good base for Lake Garda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

We had holidayed on lake garda a number of times over the past few years and wanted a new location where we could, if possible, manage without hiring a car.

We stayed in one of the Villas at Villa Maria and they are all well furnished. There is a good pool, which was well used by our children and their friends. A local bus stop is just outside and a taxi to desenzano costs €10, when its too hot to walk. We managed without car hire which was great. The supermarket for those self catering is approx 5 mins walk away and will cater for most needs.

The grounds and pool are very well maintained and staff were all pleasant and helpful.

There are a number of quite nice resturants all within walking distance in Rivoltella, Eclips & Rossi & Rossi. Only missing being situ on the lake itself.

We travelled to Verona (20 mins by train) one of days and Venice was about 1.5 hours by Train. Ferries are great for travelling to different towns, but beware they finish pretty early in the evening. There is a local bus to Gardaland in the evening from Rivotella (approx. 25 mins)

We enjoyed our stay very much and found the Villa Maria a good base and not having a car was not a problem. We travelled up from Milan by Train.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    44
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
45
25
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Villa Maria Hotel is very nice. We used hotel rooms but this hotel also have a many villas in the garden. There is very nice swimming pool, very clean.
We stayed just at pool because itś a far from the lake (if you have small children).
Itś near to Gardaland park so itś nice trip, 100km to Milano (aquapark - very cold water).
Staff in this hotel is very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mish80
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

I stayed here with 7 girlfriends and had one of the best weekends ever. In terms of the comfort level, amenities and value for money you can't really go wrong with Villa Maria. it is also close to everything nearby. The staff are polite and very accomodating. The pool is very very clean, as are the grounds. I will definitely be going back and have recommended it to all of my friends.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

Recently returned from Villa Maria - 4 of us stayed in one of the villas. The grounds are beautifully kept and the whole place is spotless. There is a huge pool and loads of sunbeds. Because we went in September it was very quiet and we had the pool to ourselves, but I imagine it would be busy during school holidays. Villa was quite basic but well equiped (apart from no kettle). The twin room is basically for kids - my husband and I drew the short straw and ended up in it and the beds were small to say the least!

Desenzano is a short bus ride away - 1euro. From there its easy to get boats around the Lake. The station is also here.

There is a good supermarket just a few 100metres away from hotel (turn left and its down the hill). There's a nice restaurant near the hotel down by the lake in Rivoltella (which is basically where the hotel is situated, rather than Desenzano) called The Eclipse - their pizzas are gorgeous and the staff pleasant.

Desenzano is a nice town - but the surrounding area is flat and uninteresting - however its a good place to be based as you have access to all the other places on the Lake and the station is nearby if you want to go to Venice or Verona. Sirmione is lovely to visit by boat as is Garda, Bordolino and of course Malcesine. All in all a lovely holiday and I would recommend staying at the Villa Maria to anyone.

  • Liked — Lovely grounds and pool
  • Disliked — Basic - small beds in twin room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

We spent a week here with three children 8,5 and 1. It was ideal. Had a two bedroom apt, very spacious and clean (could have done with a kettle and wine glasses!) and with air con if you needed it. Apt situated poolside and grounds are gorgeous, kids own football pitch. Seemed quiet, sometimes we had the pool to ourselves. Bar 20 steps from the apt (number 6!)
Staff very helpful and friendly. We didn't eat in the restaurant but had bar food (nothing spectacular but fine)
Apts are only 5 min walk from the lake in Rivoltella and probably a 20 min walk to desanzano which you wouldn't do in summer with kids because it's too hot. We found a car, although not essential, great for air con and 5 min trip to Desanzano and Sirmione.
Lake Garda is stunning and great for a family.

  • Liked — position to pool and bar/restaurant
  • Disliked — no wine glasses!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

If I had to fault this hotel it would be for the lack of a kettle in the self catering villas, and the provision of an ironing board but could not find an iron. Having read a previous review I took my travel kettle.
The staff are great, helpful and know the area.
The pool is large, and should have warmed up by the end of June; last week it was mind numbingly cold, but the kids loved it.
The villas are clean and tidy, TV has sky news if you have to have a fix of english news.
Desenzano is delightful and only a 20 minute walk that is so easy it helped keep the pasta off the waist line.
The bus (linea 2) runs every 30 minutes or so and does a round trip via the port. If you do a bus to the port on a Tuesday get off after the station and walk down the hill into town as the port front is taken over by a street market.
Good experience.

  • Liked — Sitting outside the villa with a drink in the evening.
  • Disliked — Could do with a bit more comfort in the lounge of the villa.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

I stayed here on a group tour. I can agree the hotel was beautiful for Italy standards. Good thing we were on a tour with a bus that took us places, cause the location wasn't so great. We had a twin room and could see the lake from all our windows. We even watched the fireworks over the lake one night from the bathroom. The bathrooms were clean. Do NOT open any of the windows at night/evening as the mosquitos visit and their bites are bad. It wasn't confirmed, but i developed lots of bites on my feet during my stay. a few people had told me they thought it was bed bugs and this is enough for me to not stay here again. could have been the mosquitos however. The reception staff were more than accommodating and the food was amazing....especially breakfast. A trip to nearby Lake Como is a must - so beautiful!

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — possible bed bugs????
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maria

Address: Viale Michelangelo 150, 25015 Desenzano Del Garda, Italy (Formerly Villa Maria Hotel & Residence)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
#11 Luxury Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
#11 Romantic Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Maria 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the midst of a marvellous 3.7 acre park with secular trees, only 300 metres from the Garda Lake shores, the Villa Maria comprises the main hotel with 40 guest rooms, 24 beautiful three-room villas, a restaurant, and a congress centre. This elegant 4-star hotel in Desenzano del Garda offers spacious and quiet accommodations, all equipped with direct dial phone, mini fridge, safe, hair dryer, and flat-screen LCD TV with international channels. Wireless Internet access is available in all rooms and common areas, while an Internet point is at your disposal in the hall. Further on-site amenities include a wonderful outdoor swimming pool with spacious solarium terrace and a cocktail bar for a quick snack or an aperitivo. The Liberty-style villa houses the restaurant, where you can taste delicious Italian and international specialties, as well as vegetarian dishes. Moreover, you will enjoy the following facilities, free of charge: tennis court, bicycle rental, bowling green, and outdoor parking. Garage parking is subject to charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maria Hotel And Residence
Hotel Maria Residence
Hotel Villa Maria Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.