We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, super friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Rosa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Rosa Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Rosa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungolago C. Battisti 89, 25015 Desenzano Del Garda, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel, super friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in April 2012 for a week. The hotel was lovely and everything was at a high standard, the decor, food and staff. My only criticism is that the pool was not open during our stay, the hotel said it had been too cold and it would be open the following week which was obviously no good to us as we were going home then. I must had it was not too cold for us being British we got sunburnt on our trip! The gem was definitely the bar manager David whom we spent many an evening chatting with and getting to try his crazy cocktails!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    143
    33
    11
    5
See reviews for
75
305
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for our 25th wedding anniversary. The hotel staff were extremely helpful as they got me the name and phone number of the local priest so I could arrange a blessing. They also booked the local hairdresser for me. A lovely surprise was a bottle of champagne in our room on our anniversary. The hotel was exceptionally clean. Breakfast was excellent and food by the pool was also very good. I am afraid as we were on a lot of excursions we did not have a chance to eat in the dining room. The hotel is at a perfect location overlooking the lake, close to town. My only criticism is I found the rooms a little small. Other than that I would happily go back again and one more thing the young bar manager is a real character,very funny.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have visited this Hotel many times befor, it has always been an exquisite hotel, but on our last visit we where verry disappointed with the restrant as it was disorganised and had an atmospher like sitting in a cafe. Every other year the food and experience has been exceptional which a shame. Another problem we found with the hotel was it seemed to have been taken over by a conference, who took over the ground floor of the hotel and veranda so it didn't feel like we wherein holiday.
Reception staff are verry nice and friendly and will go the extra mile, also to mention a real character bar man David verry pleasant and funny.
Unfortunatley due to the restaurant that has sempt to have changed since our previouce visit it is most likely we will not be visiting the hotel again until they sort the poor resterant service and feel.

My ratings below are based on the hotel alone , not the restrant.
Value, mark based on the conferences tasking over the ground floor of the hotel.
Breakfast, mark based on having to ask for things as they had not been topped up ( not like our previous visits)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for three nights to celebrates my husbands birthday. We had one of the rooms with the balcony facing the beautiful lake. The views every morning was great! The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Breakfast was buffet style with delicious breads, cakes, salami, eggs, bacon, fresh juices etc. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant on two nights and were satisfied with the food. If we are ever in Desenzano again we would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our three night stay at the Villa Rosa was delightful from beginning to end. Our room was very comfortable and well appointed; staff were most courteous, welcoming and friendly at all times.
We enjoyed two evening meals in the hotel restaurant, both of which were excellent and on each evening the head waiter and his assistant were most helpful and charming.
The only two little things we missed during our stay were a facility to make tea or coffee in our room and an illuminated clock for telling the time at night.
However, despite these small drawbacks our visit was a real pleasure throughout. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Choose a superior or lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Clean, modern hotel on the shores of lake garda, the location couldn't be faulted, a very short walk to the main town and ferry port to take you around the lake.

Our room was big and had a fantastic balcony overlooking the lake and the pool. Our only disappointment was that it was right next to the lift and so the noise in the morning and until quite late at night was a bit much, luckily I packed earplugs! In hindsight we probably should have asked to move rooms, but the view and room itself meant that we could put up with a bit of noise!

The restaurant is fantastic, really good food that's not too pricey, and the staff are all really lovely.

The breakfast was really good, plenty of choice and relaxed atmosphere.

We also quite liked the restaurant opposite, on the shores of the lake. It was cheap and quite basic but the food tastes great!

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a family holiday in August at the Villa Rosa Hotel. We booked a bed and breakfast package, which suited us better as it allowed us to enjoy many of the local restaurants as well as the restaurant at the hotel.
The rooms were a good size, which you do not always find in Italy and the facilities first class. Ths staff were very attentive and friendly.
Although the pool was fairly small, there was never any problems getting a couple of sun beds and the waiter service around the pool was a nice touch.
The resort itself was delightful and a great base for easy access to both Venice and Verona due to Desenzano being on the soutern end of Lake Garda.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Rosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa Hotel

Address: Lungolago C. Battisti 89, 25015 Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
#3 Luxury Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Rosa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting wonderful views over Lake Garda, the Villa Rosa Hotel is set in front of a small beach area and just a short stroll away from the historic area of Desenzano, with its ancient churches and museums, shops and coffee houses. The contemporary and chic interiors feature stylish design touches that contrast beautifully with the neoclassical style exterior, and the elegant guest rooms and suites are decorated to high standards with modern, clean lines and neutral tones, each featuring stylish furniture and a balcony. Set in the gardens, with panoramic views over the lake, there's a seasonally circular outdoor pool with Jacuzzi section. Light lunches and cocktails are available at the poolside Lunch Space restaurant, whilst Rose & Sapori Restaurant, winner of numerous awards for its excellent cuisine, such as "Chicco d'Oro 2007", "Italy International 2010", "Menu Franciacorta Sparkling 2009", "Italian Hospitality 2011, 2012, 2013 & 2014",provides the setting for evening dining with mouthwatering Italian and international dishes creatively prepared by internationally renowned chefs. The guests can choose between half board menu or a la carte menu, that on warm days can be enjoyed al fresco on the terrace overlooking the lake. We are also prepared to cater for coeliac (gluten fee) and vegetarian guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Rosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rosa
Villa Rosa Hotel Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Rosa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.