We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A huge disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hotel to your Saves list
Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungolago Cesare Battisti, 17, 25015 Desenzano Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Christiansted, St. Croix
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A huge disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Park hotel was a huge disappointment. They room was so hot we barely could sleep. The airconditioning was like a heater. The staff was not very friendly. They took our car keys everytime we went anywhere which was ridiculous. Desenzano del Garda is a nice town but not half as charming as Lasize, Malcesine or Riva del Garda. Would not stay there again, Extremely overpriced for what they offered.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkmanagerDesenzano, Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We are very sorry for your disappointment and hope to have another occasion to show you that our Hospitality is not the one you experienced. About the air conditioning, if only we had known that there was a problem, for sure we would act immediately to solve it , as we always do. About the request for your car keys, it is an usual request since our Hotel is right in the historic centre and the garage parking can't be extra-large; thus to satisfy all our car guests sometimes we must move the cars and park them in a way which is good for everybody.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    85
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
39
168
1
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I have recently returned from a week at the Park Hotel and we were not dissapointed (except for the weather which was terrible) The staff were very helpful and the Hotel very 'classy'.We booked a 3 night meal package and mentioned that my wife needed a Gluton free diet they organised a different gluton free pasta to be available each night and the chefs made sure the sauces were also gluton free, fantastic service and also great value, It is perfectly situated for the centre which has a really nice atmosphere with lots of bars and restaurants,we hired a car for the week and visited Verona (went to the Opera Aida along with 13000 others in the ampitheatre wonderfull!) and Venice as well as Mount Balde all within an hour and a half away by car.
The Staff sid next time we come back they will guarantee the weather so I I will take them up on that!
Thanks to every one at the Park Hotel

Room Tip: We had room 472 which is on the top floor next to the pool it has a big balcony and fantastic views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Park Hotel Desenzano is a perfect starting point for those who want to experience all the sights around Lake Garda. it is our first visit in Italy and Lake Garda area. Just a short walk away from the hotel we find the ferry that goes several times daily and can take you around to most of all the small villages around the lake. The hotel and staff I can't fault in any way. The room (executive room) is new, spacious and fresh, Everything is sparkly clean and any request we make is fulfilled in minutes. We were lucky to get a really spacious balcony/terrace (3d floor) with both sunchair and two comfortable chairs and a table. The view over Lake Garda is priceless. The beds are comfortable and as soon as you close the windows/doors you are not in any way disturbed by the traffic outside. We came by car, and as soon as we parked outside they offered to help us carry the bags upstairs and they park your car safely in an underground garage. Perfect on hot summer days - like the heat wave we're experiencing right now. The air conditioning is effective and not disturbing at all. Breakfast has everything you can wish for. The ambience here is wonderful and we will be back - for sure.

Room Tip: The executive rooms in fourth floor, next to the pool, have larger more private terraces and an exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had booked 2 rooms at the Park hotel for 5 nights.
Both rooms were lovely, well decorated; clean; large comfortable beds; air con that was spot on, kept the room cool without chillling us too much.
All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the reception staff, who helped us plan excursions, printed out train timetables, etc.

All the public rooms looked smart but welcoming.
There was plenty of choice for breakfast and everything was fresh, tasty and well presented. We never ate dinner at the restaurant, but the menu looked interesting.

The roof top pool was very nice, its a bit smaller than the pictures suggest, more of a place for a cooling dip when you get too hot sunbathing, rather than somewhere to actually swim. But it was very clean, a pleasant temperature, and you could sun bathe on the deck around it or sit in the shade at the 'pool bar'.

Location brilliant - If you want to be close to the center of Desenzano with its interesting shops and restaurants. Overlooking the lake was lovely, and the road wasn't that busy or noisy (although we did keep the windows shut much of the time as the air con worked so well). Desenzano caters well for tourists, but is not too 'touristy' if you know what I mean. The shops are varied, and unlike Sirmione every other one isn't selling tourist 'stuff'.

There are a couple of nearby pebbly 'beaches' if you want to sunbathe and swim in the lake.
It is 5 mins walk to the ferry terminal & bus station.
You could also walk to the train station - about 1 kilometer - but its all up hill, so would not recommend it on a hot day.
We took the train to Venice - 1hr 30mins. - train tickets were not cheap, but Venice was worth it. However I would not go there again in August - its just too busy.
We were lucky enough to be in Desenzano for the annual illuminations and fireworks display - well worth seeing if you can.
Also in July & August a trip to the Opera at Verona is quite an experience. We booked the excursion with Europlan before we went to Italy. Turned out much cheaper than others we saw on offer in Desenzano.

We rarely re visit places, but I would definitely consider returning here.

Room Tip: Our room on the back may not have had a view of the lake, but it had a lovely balcony, and it looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Park Hotel Desenzano  is without doubt one of the most  elegant , friendliest and well organised hotels we have stated in . The food is exquisite  & you really have to sample the fillet steak it one of the most mouth watering  ever tasted.  Roof top pool was quiet and had an amazing view over Lake Garda.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Park really is one of the best hotels we have stayed at in Europe.Great staff,excellent food,lovely location - pick your superlatives.Better still,standards remain the same each and every time we have visited - ie impeccable.Prices are very reasonable too for what you receive.
We cannot wait to go back !

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in have been fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just back from a week at this beautiful hotel in a prime location, minutes from the ferry and several good restaurants. We had a room at the back of the hotel as I am a light sleeper - not a problem here - the air conditioning was very quiet and this hotel has the best black out curtains of anywhere we have ever stayed. All the staff are friendly, courteous and obviously well trained in their posts. There was plenty of choice at breakfast and didn't finish until 10.30. We used the rooftop pool almost every day and it was the perfect place to cool down. We also took advantage of the free afternoon tea.

The train station is about a 15 minute uphill walk away where we took the fast train for a day trip to Venice. We did a recce a couple of days before and bought our tickets in advance. We were glad on the day as the queue was very long but it is possible to buy online or hotel staff will do it for you. There is a computer and printer to use just off the lobby. There is also a tv where you can pick up some English Sky channels - handy for catching up with the Olympics.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Address: Lungolago Cesare Battisti, 17, 25015 Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 4 star hotel located on Garda Lake, in the historical centre of Desenzano, lake front. Equipped with restaurant with menu a la carte, private parking, suite rooms with all comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.