We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tripoli Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tripoli Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tripoli Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Matteotti 18, 25015 Desenzano Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Almost perfect. Had a balcony room and watched the crowds go by while we were drinking local fresh wine and eating local cheese and fresh bread. Very romantic!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Be 5 star based in Dezenzano , wonderful panorama to lake Garda , helpful staff .
Try that how the awakening at open window onto the fragrance of the Garda .
Ask the 332 room .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisse, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Very nice and friendly hotel but the rooms are like a big walkin closet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

both years my wife and I visited we got front bedrooms : both clean bright rooms. A small hotel, perfectly placed adjacent to Lake Garda and the ferry docking pier - 30 second walk from front door of hotel. No noise in front bedrooms from the folks dining along the piazza outside at night. Continental breakfast available, no midday meals. Have been 2 years running and would love to go again. Coach available to Verona opera, bookable by the hotel staff.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Hotel Tripoli is located perfectly, right opposite to the jetty from where the ferries leave and amidst all the restaurants and shops. Although the interior looks pretty outdated, this does not really bother at all since the rooms are perfectly clean and rather spacious. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is according to normal Italian standards.

We asked for a room with a view on the lake and we got one. Which we almost regretted when we came back from dinner and discovered that the most popular bar of Desenzano is right next to the hotel with a crowd of at least 100 people standing outside and enjoying the summer evening with a nice drink. Luckily the balcony door was able to keep most of the noise out and sleeping was not a problem. But if you are a light-sleeper you might want to ask for a room at the back in stead of with a lake view.

The bathroom felt even smaller than an airplane toilet. But it was clean and everything worked well so to us there was not a real problem. People who have a problem with their weight might however consider booking another hotel. Yes, it was really that small...

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

just back from this hotel, had bril time, asked for room with lake view and got same, lie in bed and look out at lake and mountains, fab. ferry right outside door, takes you to other towns around lake, bus outside too, we visited peschiara by bus only 20 min,s, sirmione by ferry, 20min's, train to verona, staff really helpful, one guy, usually on at night has excellent english, would def stay here again, market outside hotel every tuesday, we flew to bergamo, so took about 2 hours to get there, bus, to bergamo, train to desenzano change at brecia, and very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

We recently spent 4 nights at the Tripoli Hotel and I can't find fault with it. I was a bit concerned that there were very few recent reviews on here already and wondered if it had gone downhill a bit. I needn't be worried.

What a location - directly across from the ferry port where you could take a boat to the various towns around the lake. It was also perfect if you felt like just people watching as hundreds of people wandered around the piazza outside every night.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and I had requested a room with a view and was definitely not disappointed. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the lake. It was beautiful. The rooms were a little dated and the bathroom tiny but having our little balcony made up for it all.

There were lots of bars and restaurants in the area, however once you closed the windows and shutters at night you couldn't hear a thing from outside. I woke up Saturday morning and there was a market outside the door. We didn't hear them set up or anything.

I can't believe that Hotel Tripoli wasn't full while we were there. I definitely wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else next time. It must be the best location in all of Desenzano.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tripoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tripoli Hotel

Address: Piazza Matteotti 18, 25015 Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 hotels in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tripoli Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tripoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tripoli Hotel Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy
Hotel Tripoli

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tripoli Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.