We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Nice staff. Tend to agree that it's not a 4 star hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Anelli, 24, 25015 Desenzano Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
LANCASHIRE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location. Nice staff. Tend to agree that it's not a 4 star hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We got a really cheap deal so we got excellent value for money. Our room was at the front with view over the harbour.
Room was fine. Very similar to others we've stayed in in Italy.
Good buffet breakfast.
Had everything we needed for a few days in Lake Garda which is a fabulous place.
Recommend getting the boat to Garda to try the lakeside restaurants.
Also recommend a cocktail from the bar next to the hotel (turn left out of the hotel and it's the first one you come to)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    11
    12
    24
See reviews for
18
27
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Don't expect too much from the hotel if you stay here - it's definitely not 4 star. The rooms are very small, but in this part of Italy they all tend to be small. There was a tiny shower and no bath and a view of a rubbish strewn courtyard and high walls. However, the staff were pleasant and helpful - they recommended a great restaurant called Garda at the other end of town - only a 5-10 minute walk - which served good local fish and pasta. And the location was convenient - in town but not too noisy, though we were at the back of the hotel so it may be different if you have a room at the front. It's also right by the ferry, so great for trips round the lake. We didn't bother having breakfast at the hotel as there are plenty of cafes where you can sit outside, sipping your cappacino watching the world go by.

Room Tip: Get a superior room - if they have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed in this hotel one night on route to the northern part of the lake. It was reviewed pretty well on the hotel sites but we found it poor. The lights in the bedroom were very dim and one had a bulb not working. Very depressing if you were staying for more than one night. The breakfast room too was dull and "sad". On the up side the location is fantastic very close to the lake and the town centre. No private parking. Public carpark right across from hotel €25 per night !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Desenzano Del Garda hotels

Warwickshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

a very good and convenient place to stay for South Lake Garda. Hotel Plaza is on the Lake front and within a short walikng distance of the main square of the beutiful town of Desenzano. the train station which has trains to Milan and Venice and the regional towns is only 10min walk or a short taxi ride. The hotel has its own shuttle for the airport or shoping Mall and short excursions like Sirmioni town. although it does not have its own restaurant, the buffett breakfast is very good with plenty of variety and the Teatro restaurant just 50mtrs away is excelent for evening meals.
My wife and I and some other friends and family had a great time and will stay at the Hotel Plaza again.
Special thanks to Francesca, Bianca, Benito and family for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Vradim, Israel
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

This was our last stop on Italian trip - the place to relax. How naive we were!
Apartment on the ground floor in Casa Regina (property marketed by Hotel Plaza) met us with broken window - which was simply closed forever after we complained. The kids bunkbed was awfully old, unsafe and made a lot of noise so the one on the upper bed could not sleep and went to our place. In the room there was no place to put anything - broken wardrobe, no shelfs. But the "best" of all was bathroom - it was simply impossible to take a shower without flooding the entire apartment! We ended up cleaning the bathroom and the apartment by hand every time each of us went there - unpleasant experience for the tourist.
When we complained to Marianna, the receptionist, she seemed to agree and was silent - I believe we were not the only ones who fell into this trap. All we wanted is an apartment with kitchen - all we got is kitchen without a normal room. Bottom line - barn for animals, not people.

Be aware of this trap and read TripAdvisor carefully - do NOT RENT ANYTHING from this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

This is NOT a four stars hotel!
Our room was really small, has not a good smell and was quiet dirty.
Ops.. I forgot to say that all the hotel is soo sad!
I travel a lot and believe me..this is not a four stars hotel!!

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

There is no way that Hotel Plaza deserves a four star rating.
The housekeeping is poor: in the bedrooms we had evidence of the previous occupants blonde hair on the carpet, balls of dust around the wardrobe and very dusty cobwebs in the bathroom. We took a second pillow out of the wardrobe only to find it had been used by a previous occupant and put away - obviously no one had checked it since. As we opened the door there was a nasty whiff of smelly feet which I believe came from the carpet (which in both the hall way and room definitely needed cleaning) and we had to open the window wide for some time. The small terrace had not been cleaned of either the cigarette butts from a previous occupant nor the birds deposits.
In addition the fixtures and fittings are cheap, old fashioned and in some cases just need replaced: the shower tray was cracked as was one of the floor tiles, there were cigarette burns in the toilet roll holder and the plastic bathroom fittings were like something out of the 70s. We could hear the fellow guests in their rooms having showers and flushing their toilets.
Breakfast was a very poor affair with coffee, juice etc out of a machine and packaged everything, except a fresh croissant. We would not have stayed only the Vin Italia fair was on in Verona and getting a room elsewhere was nigh impossible - I would not recommend this hotel to any one, the only good thing about it was the girls on reception who were charming and helpful.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Via Anelli, 24, 25015 Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is in the historic center of Desenzano del Garda, in front of the port and 200 m far from the promenade. Near the hotel: restaurant, pub, self service, bank, shops, pharmacy...All rooms are classically furnished with soft carpeted floors or parquet. Are provided with private bathroom with shower and hairdryer, minibar, safe, TV Sat, air conditioned.Free wi fi in rooms and in commons areasFrom this year new bike rental service with city bike, mountain bike, professional bike: all day or half day (free helmets and free locks)Parking: in front of the hotel and near the hotel's area 50 m far from the hotel: public bus and private bus, taxi, boat, train.In the zone there are many attractions: Aquaria Thermal bath, Gardaland, Moviland, Sigurtà Garden, Caneva World, Kart.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Desenzano Del Garda
Hotel Plaza Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.