We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed, offered a lot but didn't deliver.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kapperi

Kapperi
Via Nazario Sauro | Via Santa Maria, 25015 Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
0309991893
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Disappointed, offered a lot but didn't deliver.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Food was okay, but pricey for what it was, with poor service.
Two of us ate here. Ordered the bruschetta to share as a starter which was nice. My boyfriends beef then arrived which was lovely, but not much of it. The waitress then asked if I was eating... Yes. Disappeared and returned a few minutes later to say okay, on the way. A good twenty minutes later my food finally arrived, by which time my boyfriend had finished. They had obviously screwed up the order, but there was no word of apology, which annoyed me. I can understand mistakes happen, but an apology or explanation would have been nice.
Nice atmosphere, but service was also slow here with takin the original orders and bringing drinks etc even without the mistakes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    123
    66
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible food and service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We thought the resturant looked lovely from then outside how wrong we were, the food was tasteless the ingredients weren't fresh it was very disappointing the staff were very rude, all In all we were very disappointed and I would avoid this place there are definatly better places to eat!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“At Kapperi the customer certainly isn't always right!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have eaten at this restaurant a couple of times in the past month and was looking forward to our easter family lunch there. I decided to order a pasta dish from the "specials" part of the menu as a change to the dish I had eaten and enjoyed on the previous visits. What a disappointment, the dish was absolutely tasteless and my sister in law who also ordered it said she was only eating it as she was so hungry. I asked my husband to taste it and he was in agreement so I decided to tell the owner as he passed by.He immediately went into defensive mode and sacarstically told me it was impossible the dish was tasteless as his chef was very good and he had every confidence in him, I said he could taste the dish if he wanted to but that there were three of us in agreement that it was tasteless. He gruginly offered me something else to eat and took my plate off to the kitchen only to emerge two minutes later to declare that he didn't know what I was talking about as he had tasted the pasta and it was "exquisite". What was it about the customer always being right?,I felt personally attacked , When the replacement meal came I told them to take it back and myself and the other nine members of family will certainly not be returning. This man behaved like a child and not the person responsable for a restaurant. He should book himself on to a customer service course before he loses any more customers!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good food but not the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

very good food and wine.
but frankly speaking, the price is too high that I dont think it worth.
and the environment is just TOO NOISY, people talking out loud, baby crying like crazy, mother shouting to their kids...
too bad that good food, good service, but feel like eating in the supermarket.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We hadn't booked a table and when we arrived they were fully booked; however they offered us a place on the bar which was great! We were delighted with the service and the owner and her husband were very helpful and attentive. The food was delicious we had the anchovy starters, pasta and black rice dish and a selection of deserts! which were scrummy. We really enjoyed the evening and would highly recommend a visit, the atmosphere was great and the prices reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kapperi also viewed

Desenzano Del Garda, Province of Brescia
Desenzano Del Garda, Province of Brescia
 
Desenzano Del Garda, Province of Brescia
Desenzano Del Garda, Province of Brescia
 

Been to Kapperi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapperi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.