We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick and delicious dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe al Ponte

Caffe al Ponte
Via porto vecchio 2/4, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
0309142219
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Modena, Italy
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A quick and delicious dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We found this place over the port in Desenzano and we decided to have a dinner here.

Main course, traditional, fair enough and at good prices.

A very wide choice for dessert and ice cream cups.. Delicious as well!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    58
    52
    40
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of our best restaurant experiences in Desenzano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Concerned by some of the poorer reviews about this restaurant. We had a great experience just last week. Setting is lovely on the front with views of the lake. Our service was very good and timely. Drinks ordered quickly so we were able to enjoy our wine whilst choosing our food. Would recommend the spaghetti and clams, it was delicious. As was the carbanara. I would agree about that the size of the place could be a problem but can honestly say we did not experience any problems and the restaurant was nearly full. Toilets were also an issue.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Poor Hygiene worse service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off here a few days ago
What a mistake!
Worst service in the whole town. Waiters are surly and rude and the waitresses are the grumpiest I have seen in a longwhile
The food is inedible and if you check out the general hygiene of the place, you will do well to go for a vegetarian option or go somewhere else
Fortunately this town has brilliant eateries, only come here if you like being insulted or ripped off

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tourist Trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

It is a great location, but that's it. The service is rushed and impersonal. The food is ok, and the child's portion was tiny and we were charged 85% of the full price. I would recommend giving this place a miss and enjoy proper Italian hospitality in many of the other restaurants around.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great location, good food, OK service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We ate here twice for dinner during our 10 night stay in Desenzano. The fact that we went back again tells you it is OK, as there is plenty of choice in the area. Food was good, if a little on the expensive side, but the location next to the little harbour makes it worth it. Make sure you know what you are ordering - very little comes with any veg, or side dishes. Typical Italian courses. I ordered steak one night and although it was delicious and cooked just as I asked, it was bare on the plate although it was meant to come with a mushroom sauce.

The service is quick, but they are very busy rushing about to so many tables and there is often a queue of people waiting to sit down, so the pressure is on. This makes it a little less friendly service.
Dont wait for the bill to come - it wont! Just take a note of your table number and go inside to pay. One downside - the toilets are very inadequate for the size of the place.

Worth giving a try though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe al Ponte also viewed

Desenzano Del Garda, Province of Brescia
Desenzano Del Garda, Province of Brescia
 
Sirmione, Province of Brescia
Desenzano Del Garda, Province of Brescia
 

Been to Caffe al Ponte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe al Ponte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.