We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and lake view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Esplanade

Ristorante Esplanade
Via Lario 3, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
+39 030 914 3361
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $98 - $122
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
singapore
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and lake view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This is the perfect spot for great food and scenery between Como and Verona. The food is better than anything we tried in Lake Como and Bellagio. The Ravioli di Branzino with a clear broth of clams was simply the best Ravioli I ever had. It was light done with squid ink and egg white. Very light so that the Branzino fish inside the ravioli is not overwhelmed. Simply sublime! The appetizer of Emotionali di Mare was a Symphony of 6 kinds of seafood arrayed around a white platter each superbly handcrafted. The lobster was very fresh and the scallops nicely grilled stood out as the most memorable on this platter. The seafood soup was also fantastic- the fish was very fresh and retained its favors in a saffron based soup with clams and squid ink pasta. The wine service was outstanding- Marzia the sommelier couldn't be more helpful. He told us about the wines that are of great value on the list and even pointed out local activities like Mille Miglia, the antique car parade going through the town of Desensano later on that day. We had a picture window seating that is literally right next to Lake Garda. On such a sunny day, sail boats were out on the cerulean waters of the lake and distant moutains set beautifully as the backdrop. We almost cancelled the reservation to avoid the pressure of making it on time but in the end, we were punctual and glad we were. Will definitely return whenever we go from Milan to Venezia!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    57
    15
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london, england
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Michelin rated food is far and away the best Lake Garda has to offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

The food is crazy amazing. I've eaten the best London, Frankfurt, Paris & more has to offer. Esplanade is up there with the very very best. Absolutely exceptional food. Traditional cooking with modern twists through innovative techniques. The key ingredient is balance on all dishes for acidity. Chocolate is never too bitter and fruit sauces never over powering. It's very expensive. I don't drink but a secondi and desert for 2 came to 140 euros. There is an awesome waiter who speaks fluent English and is a very friendly chap. Clientele can be stuck up but the staff are not.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allyn, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent DelGarda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Amazing in every way; food beyond expecatations, room with a view to die for.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Sensational Food and Fabulous View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

It's rare to find a beautiful view teamed with beautiful food but this is one place that does both. The restaurant is set just back from the lake, across a strip of lawn punctuated by balustrade and pillars and offering fabulous views. Watching the sunset is lovely. They have tables out on the patio and also inside. We were at a table inside next to the full length windows and the windows in front of us were slid all the way open so we felt like we were outside. We both opted for the tasting menu which ended up being about 9 courses including the extras that were thrown in. We were also served a glass of fizz on arrival which was a lovely welcome. The tasting menu was fantastic. It was very well balanced so we didn't feel stuffed by the end. Each course was delicious and different and beautifully presented. My husband was wild for the "pata negra" pork with blueberries main course. Service was excellent - perfectly timed. Would go again at the drop of a hat and considering that there was no cover charge or additional charge for the fizz, the tasting menu is great value at 95 euros each for 9 fantastic courses in such a great location.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent for everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Food is on my first things-to-do list when I travel. I always search for good restaurants. They don't have to be michelin star restaurants but they have to serve good food or should I rephrase: extraordinary food. Ristorante Esplanade was extraordinary!

To view pictures of the food:
http://lorentia.tumblr.com/post/4245463405/ristorante-esplanade-lake-garda-food
http://lorentia.tumblr.com/post/4228673430/ristorante-esplanade-lake-garda

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Esplanade also viewed

Desenzano Del Garda, Province of Brescia
Desenzano Del Garda, Province of Brescia
 
Desenzano Del Garda, Province of Brescia
Desenzano Del Garda, Province of Brescia
 

Been to Ristorante Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.