We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family holiday of a lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Le Ginepraie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volterra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Le Ginepraie
Save
You added Villa Le Ginepraie to your Saves list
Podere Le Ginepraie | Localita Pignano, 56048 Volterra, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Bad Soden am Taunus, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A family holiday of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We celebrated my 60 th birthday with 10 family members: with the three boys of us and their wonderful girlfriends and another young couple.
The villa was the perfect setting for our holiday,situated in the lovely tuscany countryside; at several evenings we could watch deers coming out of the forrest to feed on the grass just a few hundered meters away.
The large pool was a steasdy source for fun, well maintained by Valerio who was our outstanding landlord: he was a perfect resource of advice for our trips and activities ( horse riding, trapp shooting,restaurants, wine tasting....) Valerio and Paola were the most wonderful hosts, very decent, always helpfull and full of Italian spirit and humour.The secret extra was the most lovely tomcat we ever met:it strolled over to us and became part of our family in this week

The Villa is very well equipped with all kind of kitchen devices so it was very enjoyable to prepare the meals for even this large group.

Valerio took care for a good supply on firewood so we could use the three fire chimneys at several romantic evening sessions,and we had additional access to a barbecue , we even tried once to bake pizza ( with limited success)

The spacious ground was perfect for all kind of sport activities like volleyball or speedminton, during our stay there was not as much wind as we expected from the villas video ( even our skite did not work)

The area arround the Villa is less populated than the southern part of Tuscany, so it may take arround 15 minutes for the shopping in Volterra or San Gimingiano , we visited additionally Pisa , Firenze, Livorno and Lucca and some of our youngsters made a trip to the sea.

We had a really exceptionnaly nice holiday - the wonderful hosts , the spacious and well kept villa and the calm environement was for us the perfect setting. We will recommend this villa to our friends - and say "millelgracie " to our outstanding italian couple Valerio and Paola

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
19
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed in the Villa le Ginepraie for a week in August and had a fantastic time. We shared the villa with our friends and both families enjoyed a great holiday. The villa is situated just off the beaten track a few kilometres from Volterra in Tuscany, on a peaceful rolling tuscan hill, but it is easy to reach Volterra, Siena or St Gigmangno. It really is the Tuscany you see in all the brochures.
The villa is beautifully appointed and decorated but very easy to live in and it has a large pool that our children loved. Both families have teenage children.
The villa was well equipped, as we had the whole villa we had a choice of kitchens! The whole place is very clean, tidy and well maintained
Valerio and Paola are excellent hosts, helpful when you need it, but never obtrusive and they speak good english.
There are plenty of restaurants in the area, wine tasting, olive oil tasting, local sights and events to keep you busy if you want to. Try to visit the eccentric cheese maker nearby he is a real character.
We very much hope to go back again one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I absolutely loved this place. Valerio and Paola have a truly remarkable Tuscan experience to share--private dirt road, pristine pool overlooking rolling hills, a lovely breakfast cottage and a perfect location between Volterra and San Gigmangno. My family of 5 stayed in the sunflower room which was spotless and very comfortable. The kitchen had wine and water for us on arrival. Valerio would make a breakfast every morning for my family included a new pastry made by Paola (fig tart, strudel etc). We went off to a village in the morning then returned for a swim then went off to a different village for sunset and dinner. We did a easy daytrip into Florence from here. Valerio was just wonderful in attending to our needs and answering questions. Extremely helpful. I wish we stayed longer and we will definitely be back .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in April in Apartment Girasole. Everything was as advertised - lovely big apartment with good quality bathroom and kitchen with all essential equipment. Valerio is very helpful and does everything to ensure his guests enjoy their holiday. It is a beautiful part of the country, very peaceful but close enough to visit all the tuscan sites. We hope to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweinfurt, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a week at this gorgeous villa. We rented the whole place, which was amazing. Valero and his wife could not have been any kinder or sweeter to us! They went out of their way to help us plan our trip and provided us with directions and ideas to help make our trip even better. I loved all of the room! My daughter and I stayed in The Green Room, which was the perfect size for us. The food was amazing, and valero's wife made an amazing pear torte for breakfast! She handmade us breakfast treats everyday!

The villa is centrally located too. It's about 15 minutes from the beautiful town of Voltera. The scenery is breath taking. I cannot believe how pretty the countryside of Tuscany was.

The website is completely honest. What you see of the page is real and no catches. A simply beautiful place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltmann
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

O the view at the Villa is breath taking. It is a place where you forget time. It is so peaceful and quiet you feel so relax while you are there. Every morning for breakfast Valerio would greet us with a smile. He treated us like family. Valerio arrange our cooking course with Gigi . That was one of highlights of the trip. Also set up our wine tasting tour it too was great. All I can say best trip I ever had. So if you are looking for a Villa in Tuscany this is the place to stay. I highly recommend Villa le Ginepraie . I miss Valerio and his wife already they were great guest hosts.

Room Tip: Every room was great. My friend rented the whole Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

What a wonderful and relaxing place to vacation. Valerio and Paola treat you like family, and you never feel uncomfortable. The rooms were relaxing and so beautiful. The views from the Villa are spectacular and picture perfect. I recommend the cooking classes, (I have a special place in my heart for the Chef), Take the wine tour, especially with Silvia, what a delightful lady. Each moment we spent in the Villa le Ginepraie was a special moment, a snapshot in time that we will always remember. A definate must if you are in Italy, especially if you appreciate gracious hosts, spectacular views, relaxing rooms, and a once in a lifetime experience.

Room Tip: Every room is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Le Ginepraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Ginepraie

Address: Podere Le Ginepraie | Localita Pignano, 56048 Volterra, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Le Ginepraie, a typical 17th century Tuscan farmhouse, with private chef and private restaurant only for the guest, stands on a knoll surrounded by hills, offering a superb panorama. Even though the location enjoys total tranquillity, it is in a strategic position between San Gimignano, Volterra, Colle Val d’Elsa, Siena, Florence and the sea, which can all be reached easily. The private swimming pool and large garden encourage relaxation, sunbathing and reading, while the surrounding countryside offers a number of pleasant walks. In other words, Villa Ginepraie offers itself as a unique place to spend a restful holiday with your friends and family, only a short distance from Tuscany’s art, history and entertainment.The three roomy apartments and the two bedrooms that make up the Villa are elegant, but warm and welcoming at the same time. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Le Ginepraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.