We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING find in Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Le Ginepraie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volterra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Villa Le Ginepraie
Save Saved
You added Villa Le Ginepraie to your Saves list
Podere Le Ginepraie | Localita Pignano, 56048 Volterra, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING find in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I absolutely loved this place. Valerio and Paola have a truly remarkable Tuscan experience to share--private dirt road, pristine pool overlooking rolling hills, a lovely breakfast cottage and a perfect location between Volterra and San Gigmangno. My family of 5 stayed in the sunflower room which was spotless and very comfortable. The kitchen had wine and water for us on arrival. Valerio would make a breakfast every morning for my family included a new pastry made by Paola (fig tart, strudel etc). We went off to a village in the morning then returned for a swim then went off to a different village for sunset and dinner. We did a easy daytrip into Florence from here. Valerio was just wonderful in attending to our needs and answering questions. Extremely helpful. I wish we stayed longer and we will definitely be back .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
19
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in April in Apartment Girasole. Everything was as advertised - lovely big apartment with good quality bathroom and kitchen with all essential equipment. Valerio is very helpful and does everything to ensure his guests enjoy their holiday. It is a beautiful part of the country, very peaceful but close enough to visit all the tuscan sites. We hope to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweinfurt, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a week at this gorgeous villa. We rented the whole place, which was amazing. Valero and his wife could not have been any kinder or sweeter to us! They went out of their way to help us plan our trip and provided us with directions and ideas to help make our trip even better. I loved all of the room! My daughter and I stayed in The Green Room, which was the perfect size for us. The food was amazing, and valero's wife made an amazing pear torte for breakfast! She handmade us breakfast treats everyday!

The villa is centrally located too. It's about 15 minutes from the beautiful town of Voltera. The scenery is breath taking. I cannot believe how pretty the countryside of Tuscany was.

The website is completely honest. What you see of the page is real and no catches. A simply beautiful place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltmann
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

O the view at the Villa is breath taking. It is a place where you forget time. It is so peaceful and quiet you feel so relax while you are there. Every morning for breakfast Valerio would greet us with a smile. He treated us like family. Valerio arrange our cooking course with Gigi . That was one of highlights of the trip. Also set up our wine tasting tour it too was great. All I can say best trip I ever had. So if you are looking for a Villa in Tuscany this is the place to stay. I highly recommend Villa le Ginepraie . I miss Valerio and his wife already they were great guest hosts.

Room Tip: Every room was great. My friend rented the whole Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

What a wonderful and relaxing place to vacation. Valerio and Paola treat you like family, and you never feel uncomfortable. The rooms were relaxing and so beautiful. The views from the Villa are spectacular and picture perfect. I recommend the cooking classes, (I have a special place in my heart for the Chef), Take the wine tour, especially with Silvia, what a delightful lady. Each moment we spent in the Villa le Ginepraie was a special moment, a snapshot in time that we will always remember. A definate must if you are in Italy, especially if you appreciate gracious hosts, spectacular views, relaxing rooms, and a once in a lifetime experience.

Room Tip: Every room is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We are never forgetting the wonderful days we have spent in this typical Tuscan villa, not only because of the place itself but also because of Paola and Valerio warmness. The house is a wonderful one, fully refurnished and lovely decorated. It is surrounded by incredible countryside with deers, rabbits, horses...Furthermore it is perfectly located, quite easy to reach from Pisa and Firenze and also close to Volterra, San Gimigniano...(from Barcelona, we took a flight from Girona to Pisa and rented a car at Pisa airport). All the area was so silent that we slept for hours and hours...Definitely this is the perfect place to choose when visiting la Toscana! We hope to be back again*

Room Tip: We stayed at the "sunflower apartment", really sunny, wide and perfectly equipped and deco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

A truly delightful villa in a beautiful setting. We’ve recently returned from our second visit to Le Ginepraie and found it even more enchanting than the first time. Over the years we’ve stayed at some stunning places in Italy and France but Le Ginepraie stands way above all the rest. Put simply, it’s the only place we’ve wanted to visit again.
Set in rolling Tuscan countryside near the hamlet of Pignano, this is a holiday location for those who want to relax away from the world. Yet, for those who want a break from lounging by the pool, the major attractions of Siena and Florence are less than an hour away, with the hill towns of San Gimignano, Volterra and Monteriggioni being much closer.
The accommodation is faultless and elegantly decorated and furnished. We’re thinking of making our next visit in Spring, Autumn or Winter in order to make more use of the interior. Because in Summer, life is spent outside. We take our meals, apart from some poolside refreshment, in the loggia (including some of the preparation). There is a terrace for those who like to be in full sun. And cooking outside is possible with either the barbecue or wood-fired oven. The latter takes a bit to get used to but after a couple of attempts a fresh-made pizza is sublime.
But what makes Le Ginepraie extra special are the owners, Valerio and Paola. Their enthusiasm for life and the locale is infectious. They are unobtrusive, yet are there anytime for help and guidance (from ideas for walks to restaurant bookings). This adds another dimension to a wonderful destination.
I have no doubt that we will return.

Room Tip: Rosso Fiorentino is the most elegant but all rooms are well decorated and furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Le Ginepraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Ginepraie

Address: Podere Le Ginepraie | Localita Pignano, 56048 Volterra, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 Specialty lodging in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Le Ginepraie, a typical 17th century Tuscan farmhouse, with private chef and private restaurant only for the guest, stands on a knoll surrounded by hills, offering a superb panorama. Even though the location enjoys total tranquillity, it is in a strategic position between San Gimignano, Volterra, Colle Val d’Elsa, Siena, Florence and the sea, which can all be reached easily. The private swimming pool and large garden encourage relaxation, sunbathing and reading, while the surrounding countryside offers a number of pleasant walks. In other words, Villa Ginepraie offers itself as a unique place to spend a restful holiday with your friends and family, only a short distance from Tuscany’s art, history and entertainment.The three roomy apartments and the two bedrooms that make up the Villa are elegant, but warm and welcoming at the same time. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Le Ginepraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;