We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Foresteria Volterra

Save Saved
You added Hotel Foresteria Volterra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo San Lazzaro 5 | Localita San Girolamo, 56048 Volterra, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 24 hotels in Volterra
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very good,very clean hotel with polite and helpful staff.Spacious family room.Rich breakfast.Nice location in the woods.A little difficult to reach Volterra's historical center on foot,but feasible.If you have a car,(you better have if you visit Tuscany anyway), the town's underground parking will serve you well and its only a short drive from the hotel.Good value for money, I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    35
    23
    7
    1
See reviews for
16
24
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I had booked a converted monastery in Volterra and somehow ended up at the just above tourist class hotel. It was okay for one night though didn't meet my anticipation at staying in an old monastery. Also ate in the restorante in the hotel with a fixed menu. Much of the charm in Tuscany is the discovery of the food. As a last resort it is alright.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This would have been a nice little hotel - - to bad about the beds. Hard as a rock. Literally the most uncomfortable hotel beds we have ever slept on. The pillows were even worse - - wedges of extremely firm foam with almost no give. Fortunately, they have normal pillows stored in the closet that you can replace the foam ramps with; unfortunately, we didn't discover this until the next morning as we were checking out.
The hotel itself is quite nice and very clean. Would be a great place to stay if not for the bed problem..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hard to find. Even with sporadic hotel signage along route, I do not think that I could have found it without my GPS.

Super cheap room rate. Spartan rooms and décor. But very clean. Beds were comfortable. Small shower. Thin walls. Free parking. Wi Fi was 3 Euros for 6 hours. Breakfast was included and okay [nothing special].

Located outside city walls adjacent to a wooded area. Less than 5 minute drive to Volterra. There is paid parking at bus station [you can park there and walk up to Volterra]. However ask the front desk about all of the free parking lots along the perimeter of the city Wall used by the residents including the one right next to the Roman Theater archeological site. Saved 3-4 Euros every time we parked there.

Personally, I preferred staying outside the city walls and for that reason, I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Foresteria during the end of March. The room was very large, clean and comfortable. We had half board and the food was good and plentiful. The problem arose on the first night when shortly after we started our dinner around 50 middle school aged children filed into the dinning room along with five of their teachers. They proceeded to cheer and yell among themselves giving us the atmosphere of a noisy school cafeteria. Obviously this is not what we came to Tuscany for. Later in the evening the youngsters set up a loud boom box in one of the common areas (It sounded as if it was in our room with us) again giving us a summer camp feeling. At breakfast the next morning we were overtaken by this group one last time. In all fairness the staff tried to handle the situation as well as they could. However, I fault the owner/manager for booking such a large school group at the same time they have individual guests.
For the following two nights of our stay we were pleased with the accommodations.
My advice for anyone deciding to stay here is to be assured that they are not booking large groups at the time of your stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I was going to leave a good review because the girl at the front desk was so nice but the next morning at 7:30 am, the maid banged on the door and told us we must leave within the next 20 minutes so she could clean the room! I have stayed at hundreds of hotels and we usually check out around 9 am, but the posted time is 11 am. I have never had the maid demand we leave by 8 am. Very unprofessional!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

After several hot, busy days in florence our night here in volterra was a fantastic rest, really refreshing, lovely calm atmosphere. Lovely tuscan views from our balcony. Immaculate rooms and communal areas if a little spartan and slightly lacking in character - but dont let this put you off... very spacous room and nice bathroom with organic shower gel etc Very helpful friendly staff (poss owners) told us a bit about the local organic farming and vineyards. Fabulous extensive breakfast of among other things: fresh bread, croisants, lovely fruit, lots of cheese and ham, yoghurts, beautiful homemade cakes (which we didn't really want for breakfast, but wrapped up and pinched for later! thanks guys!!). Also very nice little trattoria don the road with delicious hare ragout, and very generous with the afterdinner fire water! beware crazy italian drivers zooming up behind you and beeping on narrow precarious country roads to get up to volterra - very high up, widing roads!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Foresteria Volterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Foresteria Volterra

Address: Borgo San Lazzaro 5 | Localita San Girolamo, 56048 Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Foresteria Volterra 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Foresteria Volterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Foresteria Volterra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.