We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to stay in the center of Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Otium

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Otium to your Saves list
Villa Otium
Podere Colombaia | San Cipriano, 56048 Volterra, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Volterra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Fun place to stay in the center of Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Villa Otium is a perfect small hotel in the center of Tuscany which makes it ideal for exploring towns north and south. B&B is modern, fun and proprietors are a young and engaging couple. They improvise great poolside parties, play good music, serve good food generally create welcoming atmosphere. We enjoyed our stay and even went riding horses from the nearby stay.

Room Tip: Bigger is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    21
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Place was wonderful and ideally located. Pool great and very nice breakfast.

Our room was good but not breathtaking like the one we had in Lucca. It was good though, a bit dark (unexpected for Tuscany) but very decent. They had a few parties down at the bar (I think they have a bunch of those) and it's really nice to have a cocktail by the pool at night and to dance a bit. So it's a great place if you're a couple willing to socialize a bit. Prolly NOT the quietest B&B in Volterra but def. the nicest and the most fun to stay at

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We recently stayed at Villa Otium for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. The location was great to use as a base and of course had amazing views.

Despite our lack of Italian, Maurizia & Giulio (& Fabio) were all so lovely and helpful. Fabio took time to give us some advice on where we could visit which was greatly appreciated.

We ate at the Villa each night and were stuffed to the brim with delicious Tuscan food. The vibe in the dining area was always quite cheerful, helped on by the friendly hosts.

One afternoon when we were enjoying the view on the sun chairs, and we were brought out a platter of antipasto. It's moments like this that add to a memorable trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Villa Otium is a perfect little B&B perched on top of a hill looking out over the rolling Tuscan landscape. The B&B is located about 15 mins outside of the town of Volterra (a must see town if you are travelling in Tuscany).

Rooms were small, but comfortable and our hosts were very welcoming - giving us refreshing iced tea on arrival.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

I had an amazing stay at Villa Otium with my husband in April 2010. The location is just outside of Volterra and it was very easy to find and go back and forth to Volterra as much as we wanted. The room was very nice – they had a hair dryer for me (a must!) and wifi access as well.

The best part was the amazing views of the countryside from the property. One afternoon we drank a few bottles of wine waiting for the sun to set. We were rewarded with one of the most spectacular sunsets!

We also ate at the Villa one night and the food and service was excellent.

I would highly recommend a stay at Villa Otium!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

when we arrived at this beautiful setting three of our group was under the weather. It could not have been a better setting to relax and rest. We were early so our rooms were not ready but they welcomed us just the same. Maurizza , I hope I have her name right, made us a special soup and herbal tea for us. They both went out of their way to make us comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Villa Otium and were very pleased with the service, food and location. Giulio, Maurizza (and Matteu) provided warm, friendly service starting the moment we pulled up to the place. The first thing they asked us is whether we were hungry - we said yes and within moments were sitting outside at a table with cheese, meats and a bottle of their house red wine enjoying the sunshine and beautiful views.
Maurizza's cooking is wonderful. Make sure to try the traditional Tuscan soup and the rolled meat with cheese and vegetables inside. About 4km outsside of the walled city of Volterra, Villa Otium was close enough to be a convenient drive but far enough to feel secluded and still offer beautiful sunset views of the rolling hills and surrounding countryside.
The room we had (Pino) was spacious and clean but just a little dark so we asked for another lamp and got it- no problem.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa Otium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Otium

Address: Podere Colombaia | San Cipriano, 56048 Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Otium is heaven where you will find hospitality, kindness and tranquillity. Immersed in the heart of the Tuscan countryside and only a few kilometres from the splendid Etruscan city of Volterra, which has been the cradle for history and culture for the last 3000 years. Villa Otium has been completely renovated and refurbished in typical Tuscan rustic style. The bedrooms and recreational areas introduce guests to a warm and inviting environment, away from the cold and formal structures that we are usually confronted with in modern lifestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Otium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Otium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.