We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, adorable owners.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Otium

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Otium to your Saves list
Villa Otium
Podere Colombaia | San Cipriano, 56048 Volterra, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 Volterra B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great place, adorable owners.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Place was wonderful and ideally located. Pool great and very nice breakfast.

Our room was good but not breathtaking like the one we had in Lucca. It was good though, a bit dark (unexpected for Tuscany) but very decent. They had a few parties down at the bar (I think they have a bunch of those) and it's really nice to have a cocktail by the pool at night and to dance a bit. So it's a great place if you're a couple willing to socialize a bit. Prolly NOT the quietest B&B in Volterra but def. the nicest and the most fun to stay at

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    19
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We recently stayed at Villa Otium for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. The location was great to use as a base and of course had amazing views.

Despite our lack of Italian, Maurizia & Giulio (& Fabio) were all so lovely and helpful. Fabio took time to give us some advice on where we could visit which was greatly appreciated.

We ate at the Villa each night and were stuffed to the brim with delicious Tuscan food. The vibe in the dining area was always quite cheerful, helped on by the friendly hosts.

One afternoon when we were enjoying the view on the sun chairs, and we were brought out a platter of antipasto. It's moments like this that add to a memorable trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Villa Otium is a perfect little B&B perched on top of a hill looking out over the rolling Tuscan landscape. The B&B is located about 15 mins outside of the town of Volterra (a must see town if you are travelling in Tuscany).

Rooms were small, but comfortable and our hosts were very welcoming - giving us refreshing iced tea on arrival.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

I had an amazing stay at Villa Otium with my husband in April 2010. The location is just outside of Volterra and it was very easy to find and go back and forth to Volterra as much as we wanted. The room was very nice – they had a hair dryer for me (a must!) and wifi access as well.

The best part was the amazing views of the countryside from the property. One afternoon we drank a few bottles of wine waiting for the sun to set. We were rewarded with one of the most spectacular sunsets!

We also ate at the Villa one night and the food and service was excellent.

I would highly recommend a stay at Villa Otium!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

when we arrived at this beautiful setting three of our group was under the weather. It could not have been a better setting to relax and rest. We were early so our rooms were not ready but they welcomed us just the same. Maurizza , I hope I have her name right, made us a special soup and herbal tea for us. They both went out of their way to make us comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Villa Otium and were very pleased with the service, food and location. Giulio, Maurizza (and Matteu) provided warm, friendly service starting the moment we pulled up to the place. The first thing they asked us is whether we were hungry - we said yes and within moments were sitting outside at a table with cheese, meats and a bottle of their house red wine enjoying the sunshine and beautiful views.
Maurizza's cooking is wonderful. Make sure to try the traditional Tuscan soup and the rolled meat with cheese and vegetables inside. About 4km outsside of the walled city of Volterra, Villa Otium was close enough to be a convenient drive but far enough to feel secluded and still offer beautiful sunset views of the rolling hills and surrounding countryside.
The room we had (Pino) was spacious and clean but just a little dark so we asked for another lamp and got it- no problem.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

We have a 1 year old baby and were in a large group of people who went to stay at Villa Otium just this last week. There was also 2 other babies with us; an 11 month old and 18 month old. We had the most fantastic family holiday! The babies had a wonderful time, as it's a really family friendly place. I would recommend getting an apartment if you are travelling with small children, as there's more room and it doesn't cost very much more. That's what we're going to do next time! The food was fantastic. The home-made olive oil is to die for! The guys that run the villa are just lovely and more than happy to clean baby bottles and heat up milk for us (which they were doing about a million times a day!). They speak great English. My husband spent every evening in the bar socialising with the owners and had a fantastic time (I prefered going to bed early and getting up early). I have to say we didn't hear much noise from our room. We couldn't even hear the noise from the bar downstairs, but we weren't directly above it. If you're a light sleeper perhaps it's probably best to request a room that's not directly above the bar. Our baby's quite a light sleeper and she had no trouble sleeping. We could hear the odd person if they were talking in the hall, but that's about it. The Villa's about a two minute drive from Volterra, which is a fantactic small town, which is almost unspoiled by tourists. The local people still shop there and you will find a long line of locals at the butchers waiting to buy the local produce! It's also within an hour's drive to Pisa and just over an hour to Florence, but we honestly couldn't be bothered to drive there with a small child (and I've been before), so we just hung out at the villa and took trips into Volterra. I thouroughly recommend this as an economical holiday (Ryanair flies to Pisa) and we're already planning a trip back!!! So, to the lovely guys at Villa Otium SEE YOU SOON(ish)!!!

  • Liked — That it was a newly rennovated old building
  • Disliked — Would have preferred one of the apartments, but they were taken (by my sister on honeymoon and my dad, what can you do???)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Otium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Otium

Address: Podere Colombaia | San Cipriano, 56048 Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Otium is heaven where you will find hospitality, kindness and tranquillity. Immersed in the heart of the Tuscan countryside and only a few kilometres from the splendid Etruscan city of Volterra, which has been the cradle for history and culture for the last 3000 years. Villa Otium has been completely renovated and refurbished in typical Tuscan rustic style. The bedrooms and recreational areas introduce guests to a warm and inviting environment, away from the cold and formal structures that we are usually confronted with in modern lifestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Otium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Otium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.