We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Porta all'Arco

Save Saved
You added Villa Porta all'Arco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Porta all'Arco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 2, 56048 Volterra, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 hotels in Volterra
Russellville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“We loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

On a trip to Italy my wife and I had the good fortune to stay at the Villa Porta all'Arco. The rooms were very comfortable and the management was just so warm, gracious and helpful. It's a nice walk (uphill...but everything in the area is uphill or downhill) into Volterra and the area is so beautiful. Breakfast at the Hotel is very nice. The pastries are to die for and the selection of juices, teas and coffees was very nice. If we're in Volterra again we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Just ask for anything you may need, because the service is so friendly and exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    55
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

When we arrived the gentleman in the reception didn't have our reservation and although he did manage to get us a room it wasn't what we had asked for nor expected. The hotel is in a restored villa but the room we had was very basic and quite small. On the other hand, the hotel is quite inexpensive and they did allow us the park there while we visited the town.
It is quite a trek up the hill but you pass through the Etruscan gate which is one of the few remaining Etruscan ruins. During WW II when Volterra was occupied by the Germans, the Volterrans protected the Porta Etrusca by removing paving stones from the streets to cover the entire gate thus preserving this precious treasure for us to see today.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a quiet room with a view at the back of the hotel. The rooms in front are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Found Hotel easy, the walk out the front gate is not that bad, just be aware especially if you have young people with you. The room was good and the air con appreciated. Breakfast was good, and the staff helpful. I was able to be understood with my very limited Italian skills, but the staff we all all good and helpful. Have no problem recommending the hotel. Steep walk up the the historic centre, but an easy walk home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Location and access is a little difficult the first time, gate is on a hairpin bend on busy road. Be especially careful when leaving on foot, traffic brushes toes. Once you have crossed the main road and climbed a few steps you are safe and can be on steep hill into town in a few minutes.
beautiful old villa and very stylish rooms.
A very nice breakfast is taken outside on terrace, under shade of trees. Free wifi in room, no problems.
Volterra itself is well worth visiting and we seemed to be there during a festival of some sort and there was live music in square and public buildings were open in evening. Free to see and climb tower.
A small negative, frequent whiffs of drain/sewage type smells in streets. Worse than I have ever experienced in Venice which seems to have an unfounded reputation for them. Was put off an otherwise good restaurant because of smells.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We arrived after a 65 km bike ride at the hotel and found nobody there, and were thinking: Oh No... But then a very nice old men arrived. He only spoke Italian, but was very nice and helpfull. We got a fantastic room in a real Villa with a fabulous view and noiseless air conditioning ( a big plus). Location is just outside the city walls and you have to be a little careful crossing the street - but for a hotel close to a city this is one of the best you can get. Breakfest (served by the same man) was also very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This simple hotel right outside the Etruscan Gate was perfect for us. We had two rooms; our teenagers shared a large bedroom and bath on the first floor, while my husband and I had a small room on the ground floor. The bed was a real shin-banger--three of us left with bruises--and not quite as comfortable as most of the Italian hotels we stayed in. The breakfast, however, was the best we had, with large mugs of cappuccino made to order. The staff has limited English (still better than our Italian!), but they know "big cups" please Americans! There is a small parking lot which requires some cooperation between driver and staff at busy times, but it's still a great convenience in Volterra, where parking is at a real premium. The grounds are lovely and the staff are wonderful.

Room Tip: The location is a quiet one, but if you are sleeping on the ground floor near the entrance, you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Beautiful villa located a few minutes walk from the center of Volterra. The staff there is very simple but extremely nice and service oriented. The hotel is a villa of the 900 and the style is maintained both in the rooms and in the common areas. The breakfast Is very good with a lot of different stuff to really satisfy everybody.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Porta all'Arco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Porta all'Arco

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 2, 56048 Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Porta all'Arco 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa Porta all'Arco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Porta All Arco
Porta All Arco Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Porta all'Arco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.