We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel le Fonti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hotel le Fonti to your Saves list
Park Hotel le Fonti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Fontecorrenti, 8, 56048 Volterra, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the Park Hotel le Fonti. The area in which it is situated is really lovely, and the town above the hotel is exactly how you imagine a Tuscan town to be. The hotel is a good base for touring the general area, and provides a very restful and relaxing environment, especially if you have been out sightseeing in a bustling town like Siena or San Giminano.

The rooms are comfortable and well decorated. Each has a small but pretty well-stocked mini bar. Our room overlooked the pool area, and the lovely Tuscan hills beyond. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are pleasant, professional and obliging. The food is very good indeed. The breakfast buffet is varied and plentiful, and of a very good standard. In the evenings you have the option of ordering a la carte, or you can go for the set menu of the day which is 4 courses for 28 Euros. The a la carte menu is a little more expensive but it is well worth the cost. Three courses with wine, water and bread for 2 people was averaging 90 Euros. The dishes are freshly prepared to order, using locally sourced produce. If you don't mind a 15 minute or so wait, the chocolate fondant is as near perfection as I have experienced anywhere.

They say that the walk up into the town is only 400 meters, but I think that is a little inaccurate. It is further and it is a steep walk. However, I am not going to berate the hotel for that, as in fairness they have a private minibus service that will take you up to the town if you ask them (they may need 30 mins notice), or they can call you a local taxi. The public bus stops just across the road from the hotel entrance so again, this is another option for getting around.

Would I stay here again? Most certainly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHotelLeFonti, Direttore at Park Hotel le Fonti, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Jazzkat71,
sorry for delay in our answer and thank you for your kind review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and remember that if you come back we will be glad to apply a 10% discount on room rate for direct reservation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    110
    50
    22
    7
See reviews for
33
158
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed in this hotel as part of a tour with Riviera Travel for 4 nights from evening of Tues, 2 October to first thing on Sat, 6 October. Reception areas very grand and comfortable as was dining room. We were in Room 206, one floor up, which overlooked the pool and the beautiful Tuscany hills. We slept with window open and no noise but I suppose it was end of season and quite dark by around 7. Room fine with very large bed. Good sized bathroom. As well as the a la carte menu hotel does 2 set menus - one meat, one fish - both four courses each evening for 28 Euros. Great value and superb food. Volterra quite a steep walk up from hotel so we dined at the hotel on three out of the four evenings we were there. On the morning of our departure we left at 7 which was the time breakfast began, so hotel put on coffee/tea and croissants for us from before 6.30 which was good. Volterra was also quite a good centre as Sienna, Pisa, Florence all within easy reach and Volterra itself a lovery place. Really no complaints and would recommend.

Room Tip: We were in Room 206, one floor up, overlooking pool and lovely Tuscany hills. Big bed, good sized b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHotelLeFonti, Direttore vendite at Park Hotel le Fonti, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear ScotlandCaroline,
We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay here at the hotel, your opinion is very pleasing to all our staff. I would like to invite you to come back and visit with your family, maybe during the summer, we have beautiful rooms or family rooms. Write to our email info@hotellefonti.com as a repeat guest and we offer a discount of 10% on your stay. We are happy that you liked the menu of the day, for the next year we will offer € 28.00 a menu of meat or fish with 4 courses: appetizer, pasta, main courses with side dishes and desserts. thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The view from the window was beautiful. We overlooked the pool area. Our room was just okay, nothing special. It was warm in the room so we had to keep the window open and unfortunately we faced an outdoor dining bar area and there was smoking coming into our room all night. Also we could clearly hear the people at the outdoor bar below. There was a dog barking nonstop in the wee hours of the morning that kept me up. I think there are homes close by to this hotel and this was a dog from one of those homes.
The staff was not overly friendly. They did have free wi-fi in the lobby area which was great. Buffet breakfast was decent. We had lunch in the hotel and it was okay, again, server not extremely friendly. Lunch was only served from 1 - 2pm but I think the bar was opened all day.
The lobby had a nice seating area and one day when it was raining, many of the hotels guests sat in the lobby reading the newspaper.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHotelLeFonti, Direttore vendite at Park Hotel le Fonti, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear DiegoFlorida,
Sorry not to have fully enjoyed our services, I guess the bar area below the window has disturbed immediately after the dinner, it seems strange that all night, as the Bar closes at midnight, it's really hard that there are guests after this time.
I wanted to remember that the wi-fi is distributed free of charge in all rooms as well as the reception, the restaurant and solarium pool.
The opening hours of the restaurant from 12:30 to 14:30 and from 19:30 to 22:00, from 11:30 to 24:00.
Our bar offers cold dishes, toast, pizza, sandwiches and drinks. Our reception offers a large living room with comfortable sofas and secluded corners, very bright and full of plants.
Thanks again to all our collaboration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I read some of the reviews on this hotel before we travelled.We stayed for 4 nights with A guided holiday firm.Regarding The staff ,they were ok.Yes the coffee is dire,as mentioned in previous reviews,we asked for cappuccinos every morning,sorted!The room we had(324) overlooked the pool,brilliant view,no verandah unfortunately ,to sit outside.Bring your own tea making facilities if you like your own cuppa!Clean towels every day,big plus from wife that.There is a small safe in the room for your passport and money,not big enough for an IPad or Laptop.Free Wifi,with a good signal.TV had Sky news,should you want to watch the box on Holliday.The room had an adjoining door,locked,but you could hear people in the other room,thankfully they were quiet.A very nice Dining room,where we had our
Continental breakfast,help yourself,though tea and coffee was brought to you by a waiter.All food ready cooked,scrambled egg ,boiled and fried,the usual cold meats,cereals,yogurts a bit runny,not a hit with the wife,otherwise food generally ok.Didnt dine in,ate out every night,village has plenty of good restaurants.there is the hill problem though,as mentioned in other reviews,very steep,even for a Welshman,used to hills!!!
You can get a bus,but the hotel does have a minibus which charges 20Euros one way,for 8 of us it worked out 2.5 Euros.There are minor things like worn out carpets in the Reception area,bar closed at 12 pm,and food during the daytime not being available at this time of year,as mentioned in previous reviews,not sure about the 4 star rating criteria on that?Anyway,summing up,not a bad hotel,could do better in some areas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view,the other side of the hotel overlooks the carpet,all are quiet for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHotelLeFonti, Direttore vendite at Park Hotel le Fonti, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Dreamboy,
thank you for your honest review, we are happy that you had a pleasant stay, we will try to improve the American coffee, however, I also prefer the cappuccino. we have communicating rooms very suitable for families during the summer, we will try to put insulation performance in these rooms. Upon request we Transfer service, very effective if you are traveling as a group to reach the historical center of Volterra. Unfortunately, at this time you can not enjoy a lot of outdoor hotel (Park, swimming pool ...) although Volterra hides her very own charm now. Visit it and you will realize why! But the view is now much more beautiful than during the summer, with the cold air is more rarefied and will soon be able to see the mountains of Corsica whitewashed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in this hotel from 15th to 19 th September and thought it was excellent. The hotel is about 15 minutes down from the town and the views are just stunning. It seemed well appointed and the reception staff were friendly and helpful during our stay. We did not eat in the restaurant in the evening, but in town with friends, so cannot comment on the menu. However, breakfast was very good and the staff were efficient and friendly throughout. The room lived up to expectation and was light with a hill view. There is no shortage of eating places in the town for the more adventurous.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the hotel overlooking the pool have a fantastic view over the valley though the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHotelLeFonti, Direttore vendite at Park Hotel le Fonti, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear MalcolmH65,
Thanks for the review, Volterra offers spectacular views and in the winter months is even more fun wandering around in the small streets full of atmosphere is very impressive, after all it is the city of the Volturi!
Among the many restaurants of the old town there are some really good (In October and November is easy to found white truffle and wild mushroom from our forest), they offer quality and reasonable prices, this is what the most of the people want to Tuscany change locations frequently and not squandered a salary. The smaller countries such as Volterra offer just that opportunity. You only have to choose the right places. Thank you for your good review made ​​sure that all the staff will appreciate a lot, I still remember returning from us will be entitled to a discount of 10% on this stay. Thanks again best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I thought this was a lovely hotel; the views from the terrace were a delight. The bedroom was what I would expect from a 4 star hotel - ditto for the breakfast menu. The daily set menu looked good and reasonably priced - I chose a la cart as my better half is a veggie (she can't help it) and was not disappointed. I can understand some of the comments re the staff but they were efficient and certainly not rude - all that they need to do is to learn how to smile even when some guests may not deserve one!

The walk up to the town is about 10 minutes but it is demanding as it is very steep

Room Tip: Go for the rooms fronting the pool, they may have a surcharge but the views of the country side are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHotelLeFonti, Direttore vendite at Park Hotel le Fonti, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Joenorthumberland,
Thank you for your valuable review, we recently attacked by some customers' bothered by our service restaurant that is always the same for years, I'm sorry that define rude, we have solved some of the problems that occurred earlier this month, but now our standard is shared with enthusiasm, do not claim to be impeccable but not below standard, our restaurant uses first quality materials, our chefs selected ranging from international cuisine to the traditional recipes, the quality standard is indisputable and price of the menu of the day is € 28.00 for 4 courses. It 's true that in our work we constantly need motivation and maybe sometimes the attention can be lowered, but I think that respond to serious and objective review as its fills us with admiration and desire to continue. We are happy to see you again back here. Thanks again, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We were resident at the Hotel Fonti in a group from 10th Sept. The location was superb with fantastic views, the Reception was friendly which is far more than one could say for the Restaurant. The staff from the Maitre d' downwards were without any humour and at times down right rude. It seems they missed the classes on customer relations when at 'Waiter school.'

The should realise that if it were not for us the customer, they would not be in a job.

The food in the restaurant was good but on the chef's night off very badly presented.

Finally our bathroom was not tidied or cleaned during our four day stay. Not what one would expect from a four star hotel.

A lovely hotel that has to get its act together.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHotelLeFonti, Direttore vendite at Park Hotel le Fonti, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear John W,
We are sorry that the restaurant service has suspended all our work of the entire hotel, our Maitre Edward certainly did not want to offend you and I'm sorry that defines rude, is a professional with years of experience and service from us for years , maybe we will remember the smile more during the service. The staf restaurant knows that without you, dear guests, they would not work, in fact they work hard to be efficient and timely service in the dishes or breakfast in the morning.
With the hope that it will be able to raise its expectations of us will always be welcome to come back to us. Thanks and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hotel le Fonti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel le Fonti

Address: Via di Fontecorrenti, 8, 56048 Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel le Fonti 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hotel le Fonti is located in a strategic position on the western side of the hill of Volterra. The wide valley that extends for 20 km leaves a great view over the Val di Cecina. The view from the terrace and pool area is breathtaking, on clear days we can also see the profile of Corse Island.Due to the location of Volterra, situated in the heart of Tuscany, Florence, Siena, Pisa, Lucca, Livorno and the major airports of the region can be reached in about an hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Park Hotel le Fonti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Volterra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel le Fonti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.