We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we did not miss this” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museo Etrusco Guarnacci

Museo Etrusco Guarnacci
Via Don Minzoni 15, Volterra, Italy
0588/86347
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 32 things to do in Volterra
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum houses one of Italy's best collections of Etruscan artifacts.
lanex
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
145 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Glad we did not miss this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Did not know much about the Etruscans before we went to Volterra. This museum went a long way to helping me understand their luxurious lifestyles and interesting customs. The museum is an old-fashioned place but this makes it even more interesting.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    69
    36
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quimper, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very informative if you look around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

An old-fashioned slightly topsy turvy sort of place but this makes it even more interesting. The evening shadow has to be seen as well as the Etruscan sarcophagi.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Etruscan Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was in awe of all the artifacts on display. The displays are old cabinets with that chic sense of timeless style. The Etruscan tombs are a joy and really show how the grave styles evolved. There are other collections in cabinets that seem like contemporary art installations and make you think of Damian Hurst. Mosaics are on the floors and when I came out I really felt immersed in a past life time. It helps you understand how Tuscany evolved.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Poorly displayed treasure trove”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This etruscan museum in the heart of volterra has some fabulous well preserved artefacts well worth a visit. Such a shame that not more of the 8 euro per adult entrance fee has been spent on providing high quality display cabinets and multi-lingual information boards.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas US
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fascinating Etruscan finds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Etruscans of central Italy had quite luxurious lifestyles and interesting customs. Much of this is reflected in the carvings on their funerary urns. This museum contains an amazing collection of Etruscan artifacts - perhaps the largest collection in Italy - and is housed in the actual house of the Abbott who collected them. My husband the history teacher was truly fascinated, but I also was quite intrigued. The museum entrance also includes 2 other small, but nice, museums and the audioguide was well worth the extra 3 euros because it explained Etruscan culture and customs and made it clear what we were looking at. The house itself was very nice; the terrace provided some very nice views of Volterra and the surrounding hillsides. After visiting this museum, visit La Vena di Vino for a fun wine-tasting experience!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Etrusco Guarnacci also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Museo Etrusco Guarnacci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo Etrusco Guarnacci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.