We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Etruscan town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porta all'Arco

Porta all'Arco
Volterra, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Attractions in Volterra
Type: Historic Sites, Ancient Ruins, Historic Walking Areas, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
lanex
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
140 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Great Etruscan town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

An impressive arch and wall built during the Etruscan Empire in a fascinating town. We loved Volterra

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    25
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Arch of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

For me, this old arch was a 5 on the scale of historic attractions. As I looked at it, I wondered about life here when it was first constructed. They were very different times.

You need to be in relatively good shape if you plan to make the walk down over the hill from city center to see the arch because the hill is fairly steep. However, if you make the walk, you will become witness to the engineering and masonry skills of a people (Etruscans) who lived long ago.

Looking at the wall again, I knew that on the day they were finishing the arch, those who constructed it could have had no idea what the world would look like today. You can see my trip to the wall was a philosophical journey through time. I loved it!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A truly historical monument”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I got used to seeing Roman monuments during our trip to northern Italy, but in this case we were treated to an up-close look at a structure that easily pre-dates the Roman era. As other reviewers have noted, the arch has much more recent history associated with it as well. We found it interesting that there are people living right next door.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas US
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Arch with lots of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Not only is this a pretty impressive stone arch built during the height of the Etruscan Empire, but it has an interesting modern twist also. During WWII, the Volterrans were afraid that the Nazis were going to blow the arch to slow down Allied forces, so they took it apart stone by stone and filled in the arch. It was reconstructed after the war's end.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Etruscan and Roman with a WW2 story”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Not for travellers with mobility issues as it is on a steep hill down from the main centre. If you can though it is well worth the effort. The gate has a history and tells a story through time-the views from the ancient walls are spectacular.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porta all'Arco also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Porta all'Arco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porta all'Arco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.