We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see in Volterra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teatro Romano (Roman Theater & Baths)

Teatro Romano (Roman Theater & Baths)
Viale Francesco Ferrucci, Volterra, Italy
3280707834
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$90*
and up
Volterra and Bocelli's Theatre Half Day Tour by...
Ranked #4 of 36 things to do in Volterra
Attraction details
Level Contributor
168 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Must see in Volterra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

There are two choices here, firstly the Roman monuments are visible from the street and you can see the whole site without paying for entry, or secondly take a ticket and move around the site to read the boards that will explain to you what the ruins represent and their history. I recommend the later. There is and other dig site at the top of the town Parco Archaeologico. Buy a ticket at one and this ticket covers the entry to the other. Either way the story is fascinating.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank theredman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pretty place and lots of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Beautiful place and amazing history, lovely views and great photo opportunities. Definitely worth a visit if you are in Volterra, a short walk through the small streets and you are there. Everything is well sign posted too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Becjinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Volterra Gems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very atmospheric, you could easily imagine the performances and drama that was staged here and the roar of the crowd.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mervyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great photo opportunity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I have to agree with the rest of the comments, while it is very cheap to actually visit this site, it really is just as good to view it from the city walls. We did pay to visit as my daughter wanted to take some up close pictures of the ruins and we were the only people there. The toilets were smelly and closed. The ticket price includes entry into a small Etruscan temple complex in the park at the top of the town but it is overgrown and really not worth it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Theo2011186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas US
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“check it out from the overlook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

As you're strolling around town, you should be able to see the theatre and baths easily. We didn't go in as we have viewed many a bath and theatre throughout Turkey and Italy, however the overlook is quite nice. Also, on market days you'll see a little temporary truck city behind the ruins - Volterra's version of a visit to Wal-Mart. I got a kick out of the group of men waiting on the edge for their women who were shopping. I guess some things are universal!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank smithley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Romano (Roman Theater & Baths) also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Teatro Romano (Roman Theater & Baths)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing