We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baptistery

Baptistery
Piazza San Giovanni, Volterra, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 35 things to do in Volterra
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Not as impressive as Pisa....obviously. However, worth having a look during a stroll around the town.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    41
    25
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“THIS IS A REVIEW OF THE BAPTISTRY IN VOLTERRA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Some of the reviews are for other baptistries in Pisa and others. This is of the one in Volterra, the vampire capital.
It is a 13th century Baptistry done in green and white marble. The baptismal font is by Vacca in 1790. The inlaid mosaics are excellent.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
157 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Quiet & restrained”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

A small quiet space with the original 1502 font in the corner - it looks as if it was replaced with a bigger and more ornate one.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

It was breathtaking. So amazing. My husband and I can't wait to go back.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Impressive structure and well maintained”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We toured the Baptistery during our visit to Pisa to see the Leaning Tower. We decided to tour the Cathdralmand the Baptistry while we were there since they all are within 100 yards of each other. There is a small fee for the Baptistry but worth the small euro u will pay to enter. The interior is exceptionally maintained in great condition. The are typical ornate catholic furnishing but the magnitude is impressive. Worth the visit if u have time.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baptistery also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Baptistery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baptistery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.