We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting priory in volterra” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo dei Priori

Palazzo dei Priori
Piazza dei Priori, Volterra, Italy
0588/87257
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Attractions in Volterra
Type: Castles, Cultural
Attraction details
Ascot
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Interesting priory in volterra”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

3.50 euro per adult entrance to a central building in the town with considerable history. The guides will let you up different stages of the building and there is some modern art on display as well. Nice views out from the various window ledges and the bell tower is worth the short extra climb. Could definitely do with some more information panels in English.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    51
    14
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic wedding venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were married in this, the oldest town hall in Tuscany, in June 2012. Hopefully the pictures speak for themselves :o) we were both so happy with the ceremony, officiant and the whole ease of planning the wedding.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“See Volterra at night, too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I really like Volterra - beautiful town up in the hills with amazing views all around. I especially loved walking around the Palazzo dei Priori and surrounding area at night time. It was so quiet...and medieval! It was one of my favorite moments while visiting Italy.

Volterra has an amazing personality; it's hard to describe. But whatever "it" is, I miss it, and I want to go back soon and see/experience it again.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“the best place to get married!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We had a fairytale wedding here and the best wedding planner (contact me!) . We were presented with a gift from the mayor too. The building is ancient and full of history.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Home is still lived in and you get that sense as you travel through the rooms filled with family treasures.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palazzo dei Priori also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Palazzo dei Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo dei Priori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.