We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Locanda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Locanda to your Saves list
Hotel La Locanda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Guarnacci, 24-28, 56048 Volterra, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed here for one night. A bit disappointed when walked into reception but was pleasantly surprised by the room. A good size, clean and with a great size bathroom with a Jacuzzi. Arrived a little early but we were left into the room anyway but the worrying thing was the cleaners were still cleaning and all the room doors were left open (the two cleaners were on their phones). I could see as we were making our way to our room all the other guests personal belongings. Stayed in a room overlooking the street. Quiet so not a problem.
Breakfast the next morning was a real disappointment. The bread was stale and there was not much of a selection.
Pros.... location. Definitely a good location.
Cons... Breakfast

Room Tip: Stayed overlooking the street . Not a problem as no noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    60
    24
    9
    1
See reviews for
25
88
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a Rick Steve's tour. We had a large room and bathroom which were clean and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was very good and the hotel staff was attentive. This is a lovely place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is a really charming hotel in a great location inside the city walls. Our room was very clean, and both the room and bath were spacious and comfortable (especially by European standards). This is an old-style hotel where you turn in your key at the desk when you go out, and when we returned the desk staff almost always remembered which key was ours without asking our room number. Breakfast was good, with a nice variety of items.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Very nice hotel located just past the gate to the city so it is close to the parking just a new minutes walk. Rooms were nice sized and breakfast was very good. Volterra is a small city so we could walk anywhere within the city walls from the hotel with no issues. Very good value when paid in advance. Would recommend this to any travelers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My sister and I stayed there with a Rick Steve's tour for 2 nights. It was in a great location, it was easy to find and to get to, since our bus had to drop us outside the city walls, it was half of a block to walk!! The front desk lady knew our rooms and gave us our correct key fob each time!! I loved that about Italy, you didn't have to keep track of your key, you turned it over as you left and got it back when you returned, each hotel has a unique fob too!!! FUN!! The hotel seems small.... until you start going up and around and over to find your room!!! Our room was located just above the main entrance and facing the road, no problem and no noise!! We left our windows open and the shutters shut so we had privacy but fresh air, then we could open them to look down the road and across to see how people not on holiday go about their every day routine. The breakfasts were fine, all staff was very helpful and gave us directions to a few spots we asked about. Our bathroom was a large "L" shape, very bright and very nice. This is a very quiet town and easy to just stroll, after spending 3 days in Rome, it was great and the hotel was very cozy and relaxing, with a fridge and safe in the room too!! Grazie! Kim

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Small, charming hotel located in the heart of old Volterra. Friendly, helpful staff and nice amenities. Not luxurious in any way, but a pretty little gem with well appointed rooms and a generous sized bathroom. We were fortunate to have a room that opened out to a semi-private courtyard that made for pleasant evenings unwinding on our little quiet patio. Would gladly return there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

In the heart of "old" Volterra, perfect location for walking around the historic narrow streets. Room & bathroom were rather large for European hotels, very comfortable. WiFi. Fantastic (large) shower! Washcloth available if requested. Quiet. Not terribly modern, but definitely NOT "rundown" as some of the reviews say. Will certainly stay here again if we're fortunate enough to go back to lovely Volterra someday.

Room Tip: There is an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaVolterra, Receptionist at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Ellen K,

Thank you for sharing your experience!

We hope we will welcome you again!

With Our Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Locanda

Address: Via Guarnacci, 24-28, 56048 Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Locanda 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel la locanda is situated in the historical centre of the town.we are in proximity to the roman theater and to the porta fiorentina.our hotel is new and has been converted from an ancient monastery of nuns.the former owner of this palace, in the second half of 1700s, was anton filippo giachi, historically and culturally famous for his studies of etruscan history.in remembrance of him, you can find today a memorial plaque over the entrance of the hotel. In those days he fixed onto the front of the building some urns, boxes for urns and the tops of urns from the etruscan time, with representations of fantastic animals and scenes of the trip to the inferno.he found all this here when he excavated the site.to decide to stay at the hotel la locanda means discovering the wonders of the culture of a remarkable town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Locanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Hotel
La Locanda Volterra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Locanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.