We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in this Wonderful Historic Hilltop Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Etruria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Etruria to your Saves list
Hotel Etruria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giacomo Matteotti, 32, 56048 Volterra, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Salida
Top Contributor
395 reviews 395 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Great Location in this Wonderful Historic Hilltop Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Very nice family run hotel located in the center of town. Arrived on bike and stayed one night. They were very accommodating to cyclists. The room was nice, comfortable and clean. Very friendly and breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    59
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
21
67
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is well located, easy to find for luggage transfer and handy to parking albeit up 253 steps. Right on Orvieto's main via. Breakfast was good and room very large and clean. Staff were friendly but at times didn't seem interested. They might benefit from a customer service refresher.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Excellent location within a 5 minute walk of the bus station. So close to many excellent restaurants (Don Beta, La Vecchia Lira) and a grocery store etc and very walkable to all other attractions. I loved my room (clean & quiet), free wifi, tv in room, lovely tv lounge, amazing rooftop garden, and the breakfast and the staff etc. My main reason for giving 5 stars (besides the comfie room etc) is that I ended up having to go to the hospital after blowing out my knee doing too much climbing. The lady that ran the front desk took such good care of me the entire time and looked after me for the next 2 days. She and her staff took such care and concern and were so helpfu lwith everything (not just my fun hospital visit). I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: I had a single room (#28). Up a few flghts of stairs but so quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rogers
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had room on upper floor and even though numerous stairs, was very quiet, overlooking the main street. GREAT location. Bathroom large and modern. Carpets fresh and clean. Room lovely. Breakfast had more to offer than others in Italy we experienced and very good. Parking outside the old town saves the headache of driving in old city and is very convenient for bringing in luggage. It would be helpful to obtain parking lot direction and number before you arrive. We parked in correct lot just by chance. We loved Volterra especially with "Annie Adair's" evening tour at 6 pm for just 10 euro each. Check website or Rick Steves Italy book. Tourist numbers thin out in evening which makes out stay even more special.

Room Tip: Our room was on upper floor and even though lots of stairs, was very quiet overlooking the main stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, NC
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Modern rooms located in an old building on Via Matteotti, the main walking street of Volterra, this hotel is well situated. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The staff was very accommodating, but they misread the bus schedules causing us to miss the bus we planned to take to Siena.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at Albergo Etruria in August for the A.D. 1398 Medieval Festival. The location could not have been better. The front desk staff were always helpful and courteous. The breakfast was nice, with fresh meats and pastries set out each day, with hot chocolate, cappuccino, espresso, etc., made to order. We did stay in August, and we did know it was without air conditioning, so we expected it to be warm. But, the room was a tomb -- certainly very quiet and dark. Unfortunately, without any air movement, one just sweltered. Our recommendation for the management is to place a little fan on the desk or a stand fan in the corner. Obviously, in any other month but August, this would be no complaint. This was a great hotel for our family of 3!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front might be noisy as the night life definitely went on well past our provincial bedt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for only one night, but it was great! The room was beautiful. We had a room overlooking the street (the MAIN street in volterra, so a GREAT location). The bed had chiffon drapes coming down on either side, it was so romantic. It was a big room, even had a small sitting area with table and chairs. The bathroom was also very nice. For the money, this was an excellent deal.. Couldnt ask for a better location. The staff was also helpful and provided us with information on the buses. Since no airconditioning, we had to leave the window open at night when going to bed, so it was not quiet at night, but we didnt mind, we fell asleep to the sounds of the city!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Etruria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Etruria

Address: Via Giacomo Matteotti, 32, 56048 Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Etruria 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Etruria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etruria Hotel Volterra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Etruria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.