We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster Dinner in restaurant” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Nazionale

Save Saved
You added Albergo Nazionale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergo Nazionale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Marchesi 11, 56048 Volterra, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 24 hotels in Volterra
Huntly, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Disaster Dinner in restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

After visiting Volterra four years ago I was looking forward to rekindling my love for this place but it has gone to a bad start after eating here!!! Having arrived late on we had no reservations made so chose this on a whim - first mistake! We felt the staff really lacked any service as we waited quite a while for drinks (we had ordered bottle of water, bottle of wine and two cokes which surely for two of us should indicate we are thirsty!!) We chose from the menu two 'first course' pasta dishes (which granted were ok just basic, lasagne and a 'special' tagliatelle which was just pasta in a creamy mustroom sauce and not wild mushrooms at that!) For second courses I chose beef strips with salad with out the cheese and my husband a sirloin steak. We were then advised that the sirloin steak for my husband was 'massive' and so he relucantly opted for a smaller meal of beef in a sauce dish. Then he was advised to go for another dish and was told it was the same cut of beef as the sirloin steak and he could have it with mushrooms or cheese so chose the cheese. Imagine our surprise to see we both had the same dishes served up for our second course and both with cheese! We always like to order different so we can try two things! So we were a bit miffed but then found neither of us could enjoy it because the beef was cold and chewey with no taste to it whatsoever. I loved eating steak last time we were in Italy for it's flavour and texture yet this despite being 'medium' cooked as still pink was beyond awful. What was even more so disgusting was the service from the staff as surely giving back two full plates would again indicate how rubbish the meal had been but not once throughout the entire meal were we asked if it was ok and whether we wanted anything else. They clearly just get their money from tourist trade one offs and hotel guests but I for one would not eat there again. I found for what we had spending €58 was a rip off. Try elsewhere and avoid if you want a decent experience of proper tasty tuscan food and friendly staff as it's obvious you won't get it here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlnazionale, Manager at Albergo Nazionale, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We regret that You didn't appreciate our food. We accept all criticism in order to improve, even if they are very hard. . It's not easy to meet all tastes, but we really can grant that our staff, which also include young people with a great desire to do very well , is really attentive and qualified in their work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    23
    23
    12
See reviews for
14
30
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Following a 3hr delay and mammoth ques at the airport to collect our car we half expected a closed up hotel on our arrival in volterra at 12.30am. The hotel staff new we where arriving a kept the doors open and welcomed us, even though usually they closed up at midnite. The hotels location was 2mins from a secure underground carpark priced at 11euros per 24hrs. The room we had was very spacious and cleaned everyday, new towels etc. a lovely balcony view out over Tuscany, we really couldn't ask for more . Breakfast was a Buffett self service continental style, perfectly adequate but nothing over the top. We only ate in the hotel on the last night but a three course dinner for around 15 euros was good value. Staff helped us with wine coolers in the room, tea and coffee cups in the room also. The limited English speaking staff didn't hinder us it just made us work harder to speak Italian, we loved it. Would I stay hear again ...a big Yes! Would I recommend it? Yes again. Trip advisor helped us choose so I hope my review helped you make the right decision.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlnazionale, Manager at Albergo Nazionale, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank You for Your positive review. Review like yours give us the charge to go forward and improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Note that no room's have AC, no way you can sleep in 37'C degrees. Extremely bad service, the whole hotel gave us bad feeling! We left after one hour. I would recommend another hotel! I hope that the hotel really chape up!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Volterra hotels

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location and appears quite nice from the hotel lobby. If you receive one of the two front facing rooms they are not bad as you have air flow however the rest have one window facing a back alley that has sewage smell constantly throughout the day. The rooms get very hot and have nothing other than a bed.

I would not stay here again despite its great location. There are many other places nearby that offer this convenience without the bad service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed on 3rd floor with deck overlooking plaza and had a great stay. Parking garage was close by and made our visit very easy to access. Large older room was dated but clean and comfortable . Very reasonable price for location

Room Tip: Choose upper rooms to get plaza view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlnazionale, Manager at Albergo Nazionale, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank You for your positive review. We agree that our rooms with balcony have a great view over the city and the surrondindgs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I've read the other reviews. We stayed here as a stop in a bike tour of Tuscany. It's easy to find. Check in was friendly. Room was on floor 3 (fourth floor) with one small 2 person elevator to serve hotel. We expected old...that's part of the charm, but room (309) was small, supposed to be a double but all floor space was occupied by 3 slightly smaller than twin beds. Bathroom small and dirty, no place to recharge phone. Breakfast OK, but not stunning. I would definitely look elsewhere, will certainly never go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Room was huge and clean with a nice view on two balconies. Large bathroom as well. Nice amenities. Style a bit outdated but we did not care.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Nazionale

Address: Via dei Marchesi 11, 56048 Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Nazionale 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nazionale is situated in an antique palace since 1890. Thanks to our great central position, you can visit wonderful Volterra easily on foot. We offer 38 rooms all of them with private bathroom with all necessary amenities, a telephone and a TV. Spend an original and pleasant stay in one of our rooms. All the rooms are provided with the free Wi-Fi internet access.A lovely Restaurant can be found inside. Here, you can enjoy great Tuscan cuisine prepared with nothing but the freshest and most genuine ingredients , combined with an excellent wine selection. The restaurant is made up of an ample dining room that can host up to 110 people, making it particularly adaptable for weddings, ceremonies, official work or group dinners.If You're travelling by bike, You can store it inside the Hotel. If You're travelling by bus,We stand 50 meters in front of the main bus stop. If You arrive by motorcycle, You can park in public places outside the building.To reach easly the Hotel by car, follow Pizza Martiri della Libertà and enter this adress in Your sat nav system. You can park Your car in the close secure public garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Albergo Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Nazionale Volterra
Albergo Nazionale Hotel Volterra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Nazionale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.