We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Lino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added San Lino to your Saves list
San Lino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Lino 26, 56048 Volterra, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“charming!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were around Tuscany with my family and we improvised a passage in Volterra , where we was intrigued by a long time . The city is wonderful , an urban jewel in the medieval walls. We stayed on S.Lino Hotel that location is ideal , in the historic center with a private parking and nice swimming pool ( was close because of winter ) . Super comfortable! Once inside we found the stories that the hotel is housed : in an old monastery of cloistered nuns next to the small church of S.Lino (another jewel), which was the first pope from Volterra after s.Pietro . however it was very enjoyable and the idea of ​​sleeping in the old cells of the nuns, small in space but not in the charm, made it even more magical. Good breakfast - homemade and plentiful , but the dinner was simple and amazing !! Experience definitely to repeat in the spring or summer. A. Siman-Tov

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    122
    42
    19
    6
See reviews for
53
127
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wantage, NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the San LIno while on a tour, so we didn't have a choice or the motivation to look for lodging elsewhere in Volterra. After staying at the The San Lino once, I think I would like to explore other options if we return. The San Lino was in a good location with easy access to the Volterra's lovely streets. However, you could hold a conversation with the people in the next room through the very thin walls. Thankfully tired travelers go to bed early and the hotel quieted down by 10pm. The bed couldn't have been more than 15 inches off of the floor which was a challenge for my less than limber husband. The hotel, overall, was very clean, the rooms small, breakfast was adequate, and the staff very friendly. A bell tower was right outside of our room and the pealing of the bell scared me silly each time it went off. Thankfully, the powers that be must have a rule that shuts the bell off after 10pm. Definitely consider the San Lino, if only for its location, but check out the alternatives as well. Do make it a point to visit Volterra - very charming and picturesque old city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

two part review: the facility and then the service
The hotel is in a great location but then again Volterra is small (and wonderful) so just about anything inside the walls near the main square would be great. My single room was tiney (ok by me). In decent shape with a new ish and remodeled bathroom - again very small. Bed was to my preference: firm/hard. Pool looked pretty but that photo is distorted - it's more like 25 feet end to end. Not the 50 m it looks like.
I'd stay again
As for service they were wonderful. Our group's car broke down 5 miles out of town. We grabbed a ride to the hotel, they got us a taxi (Faust was great - he took us to a garage, set up the tow, the repair). Next day we finished touring the town, checked back in at the hotel whereupon they contacted the garge, then Faust delivered us to the garage and we were on our way. Folks in Volterra love their town and for good reason.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a great time in Volterra and Hotel San Lino is in a perfect location. Close enough to the walls of the town to have easy access to the hotel car park and good restaurants within an easy walking distance. They have experienced a drought in the area so water was in limited supply but the hotel seemed to manage the problem well and we had no problems. The pool area is great for cooling off after a busy day. The bathroom in our superior room was very compact so be prepared not to have a lot of space for toiletries etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

A reasonable place for a quiet stay. The pool can get a bit crowded but the room was very pleasant and the breakfast fine. It is great to be able to park inside the walls of the old town and Volterra is less pretentious than some neighbouring towns. There are also several decent places to eat in Volterra.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

A comfortable hotel well staffed with english speaking reception etc. Standard rooms are a bit small, ours overlooked the pool area and was a bit dark but all in all it was fine. Hotel is in a good location within the town walls and in easy walking distance of the main squre & shops. A private car park/garage is a bonus as parking within the town walls is not allowed to non residents allbeit at a cost of E11 per night. Ample breakfast supplied and we had a voucher for our( 3 courses plus desert) evening meal in a nearby restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the road are noisy early in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Spent a wonderful 7 nights in San Lino Hotel. Lovely breakfast each morning which you could have outdoors, great pool with plenty of sunloungers and you couldn't get a better location for a stay in Volterra ! The staff were also very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Lino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Lino

Address: Via San Lino 26, 56048 Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — San Lino 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Lino is a 4 - stars Hotel set within the medieval walls of Volterra, only a 5-minute walk from the central Piazza dei Priori. It offers a fresh garden with outdoor swimming pool and panoramic sun terrace. Wi-Fi is free all over the hotel, even if it's not easy to realize a wiFi connection in a structure created in the 14th century.All rooms come with an en suite bathroom, satellite TV, and a minibar. Some feature a rustic Tuscan style, with wooden furniture and terracotta floors.San Lino Hotel is also a 5-minute walk from the Roman Amphitheatre. A garage is available on site.In the morning, a various continental breakfast buffet's waiting for our guests, during the summer months, it's even possibile to get the breakfast outside in our courtyard. The Restaurant "I Papi" offers you a light lunch and a special evening service with traditional specialities and also selected fish preparations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Lino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Lino Volterra
San Lino Hotel Volterra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Lino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.