We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medieval town with a rich history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volterra

Volterra
Volterra, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 nightlife in Volterra
Type: Civic Centers
Attraction Details
Vercorin
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Medieval town with a rich history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Much of the medieval center has been well preserved and restored. The Duomo (beautiful 'deposition of Christ'), Baptistery and Piazza dei Priori are required viewing. If you are interested in Etruscan art and culture, the Museo Etrusco Guarnacci contains thousands of finds excavated from nearby tombs and burial sites. Some of the jewellry is breathtakingly beautiful and intricate. The Pinacoteca and Museo Civico shows mostly religious art from 14th and 15th century AD. There are English explanations. The adjacent alabaster museum is disappointing: no guiding theme, explanations in Italian only, lackadaisical presentation.
Alabaster shops and workshops are all over the place and sell mostly tourist trinkets. Beautiful pieces start at EUR 1000 or above and require shipping (VAT deducted for export). Many restaurants, pasticcerie, snackbars if all the walking around town makes you hungry and thirsty.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    110
    4
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tuscany at its finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you like the open feeling and true italian vacation try staying at a Bed & Breakfast or renting a Villa in Volterra.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, NJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Jewel on a Hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Wander the cobblestoned streets of this charming little city on a steep hill. You may feel like mountain goat when you're done but I wouldn't have missed strolling the streets, exploring the nooks and crannies, shopping in its well-tended shops.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, Wiltshire. U K
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Volterra is a must-see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a 5 night stay in Tuscany, using Volterra as our base. Of all the places we visited, including Pisa, Florence, Siena and San Gimignano, I think Volterra was probably my favourite. It's far less touristy than the others but is a town full of history and ancient buildings. It has an amazing Roman theatre which you can view from the town walls. Take yourself off into the small side streets and you will find all sorts of hidden historical treasures - parts of the old Etruscan walls/gates and the San Felice fountain (dating from 1319). The main square, Piazza dei Priori, is one of the best preserved in Tuscany and is surrounded by medieval buildings. On the last night of our stay, I stood in the centre of the square at 11pm whilst walking back to the hotel after dinner - it was so atmospheric and haunting, to be surrounded by so much history. If you get the chance, it's well worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Beautiful town with a wonderful histoy. Thoroughly enjoyed staying there. Bring your walking shoes lots to explore and enjoy!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volterra also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Volterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volterra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Volterra to your Saves list