We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Pignano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Borgo Pignano to your Saves list
Borgo Pignano
Loc. Pignano 6 | Pignano, 56048 Volterra, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stunning place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

There is no need to give a detailed description of Borgo Pignano, you simply must visit! Hosts and all staff are wonderful, very international,fluent english is spoken. The setting is breathtaking with beautiful views, especially from the incredible infinity pool. The charming rooms are tastefully decorated- all in all the whole atmosphere is very welcoming! In summer our absolute favorite thing to do is to attend "Pizza Night" on tuesdays, an experience not to be missed!!
Special greetings to Camilla and her wonderful gang - we'll be back this summer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgo_Pignano, Direttore at Borgo Pignano, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Tina we are very touched by your warmth. We can't wait to see all again! Much love specially to the kids!
Camilla and the Pignano Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at La Fonte Villa, a beautiful converted farmhouse at Borgo Pignano. . Overlooking a beautiful lake and surrounded by rolling hills, La Fonte is the perfect place for a peaceful, relaxing week of reading and walking in the Tuscan countryside. It's also well located for day trips to Florence, Pisa, San Giminiano and Volterra.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgo_Pignano, Direttore at Borgo Pignano, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
It was so nice to having you all here!! Thank you so much for your warm words, we hope to be seeing you soon again and wish you all a great spring!
The Pignano Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a very memorable stay at Borgo Pignano. The site is stunning, surrounded by idyllic foothills and woods, and we enjoyed some perfect pre-dinner sunsets from the terrace. All the food was fresh, tasty and beautifully prepared - the salads were particularly fine - and the service and hospitality were impeccable. Add to this the proximity of Volterra, Siena and Florence, and you have the perfect Tuscan holiday experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgo_Pignano, Direttore at Borgo Pignano, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and we look to welcoming you again at Borgo Pignano.
The Pignano Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Our stay in Borgo Pignano was one not to forget. The site is stunningly beautiful, yet close to Volterra, Siena and Florence, the food was the among the best Italian I've ever had, and the staff was so lovely and helpful. One is truly cared. Going there is being at home and being away at the same time. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgo_Pignano, Direttore at Borgo Pignano, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for your warm words and we look forward making you just as happy the next time you come.
The Pignano Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

What an idyllic place. Beautiful, tranquil location, delicious food and brilliant service. Nothing was too much trouble for the villa staff, whose informal kindness made it feel like a home rather than a hotel. All the food was local, and despite eating far too much, we felt really nourished and healthy after our stay. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgo_Pignano, Direttore at Borgo Pignano, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dearest Abigail,

They say "home is where the heart is" so this must have become your Tuscan home and we are so happy and honored to have you as a 'Pignano family member'!
We can't wait to see you again with your great children or\with you fantastic students. Please give them all our regards and thank them for the beautiful cards they left for us.
Love from all of the Pignano gang to all of you,

Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

There is not other place just like Borgo Pignano! One big family of knowledgeable (but never pretentious) and passionate people who simply love and respect life! Being there makes you appreciate this, and being in the most amazing piece of Tuscany I can simply say it's my own piece of Heaven on Earth! Please do not ever change any bit!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgo_Pignano, Direttore at Borgo Pignano, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you Valeria for such warm words. You all have become part of our 'Borgo Pignano family' and we look forward seeing you soon. In the meantime we will try our best not to change, in fact we will try and become Red's Cloud poem:
"I am Earth.
My eyes are the sky,
my limbs are the trees,
I am the rock,
the depth of water,
I'm not here to dominate Nature,
I am Nature."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We first discovered Pignano last September and had the chance to return for one night earlier this month.

The estate is located high in the Tuscan hills and the house has the most magnificent views of the surrounding area. The location is enough to make you want to stay forever! The villa itself is furnished beautifully and rooms are comfortable with fantastic bathrooms. As people have said before that whilst Pignano may look grand it has such a relaxed feel about it that we immediately felt that we had been there longer.

Despite being the only guests that night - the season was just beginning again - Anthony (the chef at Pignano) prepared us a wonderful dinner and the following morning we were able to try Camilla's home made bread and the estates own honey, jams and cheeses (all amazing).

At it's heart are the people and the community that make it such a special place. Camilla is a wonderful host. The care and energy that she brings to Pignano is inspiring. Despite us not really wanting to tell others about how wonderful Pignano is, Camilla wants to welcome more guests so this review is for her!

We hope to return with our families and friends very soon so they too can experience Pignano and fall in love with it as we have. We just hope it won't be too far away!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgo_Pignano, Direttore at Borgo Pignano, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you again at Borgo Pignano.
The Pignano Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgo Pignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Pignano

Address: Loc. Pignano 6 | Pignano, 56048 Volterra, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo Pignano is a charming private Tuscan estate on 750 acres of secluded and unspoiled fields, hills, woods and gardens near Volterra and San Gimignano, in the province if Pisa, between Florence and Siena. The principle building of the estate is 18th century Villa with 12th century ramparts. The Villa is surrounded by terraces, lawns and gardens and has an infinity pool, beautiful nested in a natural limestone quarry immediately outside the house. There are 14 elegantly furnished rooms and suites, some with original fresco's with majestic views with princely limestone and marble bathrooms. We farm 375 acres of organic agriculture land and grow olives, barley, alfalfa and hey. We make bread, honey, jams and cold pressed olive oil. Our chefs produce Italian organic cuisine and we offer a wide selection of Tuscan organic wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Escapio and Odigeo so you can book your Borgo Pignano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Pignano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.