We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal, surprisingly bad house wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda il Boschetto

Locanda il Boschetto
SR. 68 Km. 49,50, 56048 Volterra, Italy
+39058835148
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 71 Restaurants in Volterra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Quiet place in the greenery half-way from Volterra & San Gimignano. Tipycal food at a reasonable price. Many home made products like olive oil, jams, liquors.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great meal, surprisingly bad house wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Had the rabbit with a side of spinach. Was yummy. The kids had chicken and French fries and the French fries were outstanding. They ate every bite of their grilled chicken and fries. It was all really good and the service was friendly. The house wine however was TERRIBLE. It was the only bad wine I tasted in Italy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaBoschetto, Direttore at Locanda il Boschetto, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review..
I'm really sorry, you didn't like our house wine, nobody claimed about it before so clearly the bottle I opened was bad..
If just you reported to me immediately I would change it..
By the way, thank you so much again and best wishes for your nice family!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food and Owners great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

A great location but the staff and food make it even better. The risotto was out of this world, along with the Vegatable Soup. The food is simply prepared but the flavors were excellent. Pork Scalappino was delicious along with white beans. But the best was the risotto. My wife and I have had better. I can't wait to come back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding- The Best Of Meal Our Weekend in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We actually went to Locanda il Boschetto mistakenly, thinking it was another osteria just down the road from it. But, what a great mistake it turned out to be, this family owned restaurant, excelled in food and service. We started with the regional vegetable soup, and then moved on to some great secondi, including, boar chicken, pasta and pork.
The service was unbeatable, with the staff answering any questions and making a lot of helpful suggestions. The food was a bit slow to come out, but was well worth the wait.
If your driving down SR68 and spot this place, pull in for a great meal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best in Tuscany!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The best in Tuscany truely decribes this restaurant along SR 68 in Volterra, the family that owns the restaurant, takes pride in serving only the best in the region. They specialize in local food fare, including Wild Boar, Hare, and seasonal entrees. We enjoyed a local mushroom salad,as part of our eating excitement, which was the highlight of our last evening in Tuscany, The wine selection of local wineries is extended and we tried a reserve wine that we ended up going to the vineyard the next day to buy more bottles.

If you are ever in Tuscany, its well worth the drive, A true diamond in the rough!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locanda il Boschetto also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Locanda il Boschetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda il Boschetto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.