We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best tour guide in Tuscany is not Italian!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volterra Walking Tour

Volterra Walking Tour
Piazza Martiri della Liberta, Volterra, Italy
+39 0588 086201
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Activities in Volterra
Type: Walking tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Annie Adair and her colleagues offer a introductory walking tour of Volterra, Tuscany's oldest, continuously-inhabited city.The one-hour walk is held EVERY DAY from 6pm to 7pm, April through October (except August). Cost: €10 per person, minimum 3 persons or €30Meeting point: Piazza Martiri della Libertà, in front of the ALI alabaster shop.This is a group tour, and there is no need to book in advance.The walk is done in English by professional, licensed guides and touches on Volterra's Etruscan, Roman and Medieval history.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best tour guide in Tuscany is not Italian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Three couples touring Tuscany decided to visit Volterra, an ancient, walled, town sitting high above the surrounding rich farmland but not spoiled by a large influx of tourists. I had contacted Annie Adair by email (info@tuscantour.com) before leaving the states. Annie, from Washington DC, decided to visit Italy after college and fell in love with this "real" Etruscan town as well as one its locals. Fourteen years later, she and her husband Francesco are raising their family here while running a thriving tour business. She will set up a tour based on your interests whether it be history (Etruscan, Roman, medieval or even WW II), art (mainly Etruscan and the region's local alabaster creations), or food & wine. We met her at a local coffee-bakery shop and after 30 minutes of getting to know us, she lead us around town for the most interesting three hours that we had all week. We only wished that we had budgeted more time for Volterra and Annie as we didn't even get to meet her sommelier husband to experience one of his wine tours or tastings. Don't miss this value packed experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“We loved this tour and Volterra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We went to Volterra and other hill towns on a trip the first week of June 2012. Annie led a group of 10 of us-British and American. She explained the wonderful history of Volterra from Estrucan times to 1944. It was incredibly interesting and she was really good at answering questions on every level. She gave us a great perspective on the events and people of the town. she also reccommended a wonderful restaurant. Volterra is a town you should go to-it does not feel like a tourist trap like some other towns do and it has a great history. Annie's 10 euro fee was well worth it. You will enjoy this tour.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great addittion to a beutiful town, A very Interesting history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We showed up at the meeting point one weeknight in May and It turned out that my girlfriend and I were the only ones who showed up that night. We paid 30 euros and it was definitely worth it for a one on one experience. We had spent the day wondering through town and had seen the majority of the sights, but we did not know any of the back ground information. She was able to give us a customized tour of the area and a general background history. The tour felt more like a conversation and she easily adapted it to what we were interested in. She also gave some nice suggestions for restaurants. This tour has made the pictures that we took much more meaningful as there is a story to go behind it. I highly recommend this tour as it will enhance your experience in volterra and make you sound a whole lot smarter!


Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Walking Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband and I, along with three other couples, visited Tuscany for a week in September 2011. We rented a villa and traveled to many of the small towns in the area: Lucca, Volterra, San Gimignano and Sienna.

Not only was Volterra one of our favorites, but it was where we had the best guide, Annie Adair, who I found by reading other Trip Advisor reviews. She’s an American, with a passion for Italian history, who will bring the many stories of Volterra to life. Our afternoon with her was one of the highlights of our trip. I highly recommend her. Here’s her web site, Tuscan Tour. http://www.tuscantour.com/

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tremelo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paintings can save a town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

As often in Tuscany the visit of a town can be compared to a visit to the middle ages, one wanders and expects to meet a de Medici or a Strozzi. However the charm of Volterra finds a climax in the visit of the Pinacoteca and a contemplation of Rosso Fiorentino's Deposition of the cross together with Signorelli's painting of the Annunciation. Excellent presentation in this old palazzo. A breathtaking experience that no one with some interest in cultural heritage should miss.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volterra Walking Tour also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Volterra Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volterra Walking Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.