We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saved Save
You added Cerbaiolina to your Saves list.
A view overlooking the pool and Apartment
A view overlooking the pool and Apartment
A view overlooking the pool and Apartment
A view of patio outside of the main Apartment entrance
The living room
The kitchen dining area
The bedroom
Volterra
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
keentotra...
uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“You will not find a more peaceful place than this.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

This is a most beautiful apartment with outstanding views whichever way you look. It is 5 minutes down a long lane but is so worth it. You will not hear a sound, apart from the birds. That said it is in a fantastic location if you want to visit the major sights, Sienna, Pisa, Florence, Lucca, even the Tuscan coast. We had August temperatures of 40 degrees in June so stayed close to the lovely pool. You literally have vineyards up to one side of the pool and olive trees to the other side.
There are great places to eat nearby, even a little B & B restaurant a short walk along the lane. Volterra is super, 7 minutes away, very atmospheric without being too touristy. There is a lovely hotel 10 minutes down the road where you can sit beside an old olive tree, fantastic service and food. We have visited other parts of Tuscany/ Umbria and thought they were lovely but they were nothing compared to the scenery here.
Very easy to book , very well equipped , you can cook at home if you wish but there were so many great places to eat , we didn't bother.
If you want peace and quiet, a lovely pool, a great location for scenery and day trips to the best cities and places of interest then you have all of this here. Would highly recommend.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The views and peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Louise S
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Idyllic Tuscan retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We chose Cerbaiolina for it's location away from it all amidst the delights of the beautiful Tuscan countryside as well it being in easy reach by car to San Gimignano, Siena, Lucca, Florence, Pisa and of course Volterra - all places on our list of "must-sees" in Tuscany. Although initially attracted by the photos on holidaylettings.co.uk, on arrival we immediately realised that the pictures didn't do the property and it's surroundings the justice it deserves. We were there for the first 2 weeks of July and were very lucky with the weather having sunshine and warmth every day bar one or two at the beginning of our stay. If you're looking for an isolated Tusan retreat, this place is for you. A car is essential as the property is part of the penultimate farmhouse towards the end of a 2.5KM (approx) narrow, windy road, which means undisturbed views & nigh on complete tranquility. Cerbaiolina has a well-equipped kitchen for you to rustle up some Italian treats during your stay - we did this many times during our stay so that we could make the most of drinking the lovely Italian wines that we'd purchased from some of the local vineyards & supermarkets. This saved us the discussion of who would be the nominated driver had we driven somewhere for dinner! That said, we did venture out for dinner on a handful of occasions at night. The best restaurants visited included Restaurant Albana in the tiny village of Mazzolla, about 4KM outside of Volterra. This is a gem of a place, obviously well-known by the locals and worth booking a table beforehand if there's more than 2 of you wanting to dine. If you're into game, this place will be right up your street. Volterra also has a wide selection of restaurants to choose from. Our favourite was Osteria La Pace, which is rated #1 restaurant in Volterra -it definitely lives up to this accolade! Owing to Volterra being just a 10mins drive from Cerbaiolina we visited it many times during our stay and it became one of our favourite cities. Although on the tourist trail, it doesn't have the big crowds and long queues that you're likely to experience in Florence/Siena and the views out over the countryside are to die for, especially at sunset! Places to visit in the city are the cathedral, Etruscan museum and Roman amphitheatre. Also, don't miss out on the superb home-made gelato in Volterra - it was a million times better than the stuff we had in Florence! I could probably write a novel about our holiday as it truly was one of the best ones I've been on. As a first-time visitor to Italy, I was worried that it wouldn't live up to my expectations but Cerbaiolina and Tuscany delivered beyond my expectations and I'll definitely be returning time and time again.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sunflower...
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Would highly recommend. Such beautiful views from the apartment with peace and quiet. Will definately be going back, wish i was there now.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
MARTA C
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“muy agradable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in July 2014
Google Translation

Alejada de todo, con preciosa piscina privada y un entorno muy verde.
El interior de la casa es agrabadable aunque le falta un poco mas de menaje, un horno y un microondas. La ducha es un poco extraña ya que carece de cortina y esta en medio del aseo.
La propietaria muy agradable y simpatica.
Se hace necesario coche para todo. Volterra esta a unos 3 kilometros y merece una visita.
El acceso a la wifi solo era posible acercandose a la puerta de la propiedad contigua, que era la de los propietarios.

3 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: La piscina
Liked least: La dificultad con la wifi
Traveling group: Con mi pareja
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$911
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Brian B
44 07812143260
Speaks English, Italian
Listed since : Jul 2009
Response Rate: 85 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 3 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing
;