We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect villa in Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sensano

Save Saved
You added Villa Sensano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Sensano
Borgo Sensano, 56048 Volterra, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A perfect villa in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have just returned from our 5 day stay in Villa Sensano and we are already making plans to go back! We could not have been happier with the villa, the services, or the very helpful members of staff. The grounds are well maintained and very peaceful. The pool is AMAZING! It has great views across the Tuscan landscape. Everything was very clean and well kept. We stayed in the 2+ bedroom apartment, Laurence, and it had everything you would need to make your trip comfortable. The 2 bedrooms were both modern en-suites, and the kitchen and living areas were perfect for gathering for meals and relaxing ... although we did most of this outside by the pools and tables that are through the grounds. The restaurant next to the villa was very well priced and had a good variety of food and drink. We ate here twice and it was busy both nights! On one night we even had a taxi arranged for us to get to San Gi and back from the villa so that all four of us could enjoy a great meal and some local wine on our last night in Tuscany. A car is essential if you want to do some exploring, and is certainly necessary to get to the villa. Can't say enough positive things about our stay! Perfecto!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federica C, Proprietario at Villa Sensano, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for this fantastic review!

We are very happy to read all this beautiful words, we try always to do our best and , when we receive review like yours we understand that quest will remember for ever his holiday!

Good job has been done..
Thank you..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    23
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sjobo, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This carefully restored house from late eighteenth century is situated highly on one of the characteristic hills of Tuscany. With an astonishing view from the beautiful pool and garden you will find a harmonic place to contemplate over the stressful world you just left. You may also start to wonder why you don't live in a such place. Our apartment "Rosa Tea" was nice, clean and well equipped for a pleasant and memorable stay. Close to the Villa you will find a restaurant with tasty traditional Italian food and attentive staff. Federica and her sister were very gentile and helpful. We highly recommend a visit to Villa Sensano! Erland and AnnaMaria

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I spent one week of holidays in the villa Sensano with my friends. It was wonderful. The villa is situated in the middle of a beautiful landscape, it is very restful. The apartment was very clean, with a geat view. The swimming pool is brilliant! I recommend you this villa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I would highly recommend Villa di Sensano to anyone looking for a Tuscan holiday. The rooms were fantastic and the staff were brilliant. The food and. Staff in the restaurant were great and really good with our two year old.
Nearby town of volterra is beautiful and not too "touristy".
Just an amazing holiday and we'll be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I recently stayed at Villa Sensano and it was fabulous! A beautiful place to stay in every way. The two lovely ladies who run the place are attentive and welcoming, and have restored the property so beautifully, creating a gorgeous, tranquil place to stay in the Tuscan countryside. The apartments are equipped in order to cater for your every need and the gardens and pool areas are so delightful you will never want to leave. The villa is situated in a tiny hamlet with a wonderful view across national parkland, and the restaurant next door serves very fine local food.
I can't recommend this villa highly enough and am already planning to go back for another holiday! Grazie mille per una sosta favolosa!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a very relaxing few days at Villa di Sensano. Federica and her sister were warm, friendly and helpful. The apartment was clean and well equipped. We loved the pool and the amazing views from the shady terrace. The only negative for us was the distance (20 minute drive) to the nearest shops for basics for breakfast etc. However, we had a lovely meal at the local restaurant next door.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neerpelt, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a lovely stay in Italy this summer. Within this trip there was a two day stop planned at villa sensano! And it was great! The view at the pool was priceless. Unfortunately our stay was too short. It is a place where you can totally relaxed. We've had also enjoyed the jacuzzi and the massage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federica C, Proprietario at Villa Sensano, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Our small but smart Spa is our proud, the treatment is very relaxing and our guests, like you, enjoy often this possibility.

Thank you very much, We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Sensano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sensano

Address: Borgo Sensano, 56048 Volterra, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 93 Specialty lodging in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of peace in the picturesque hamlet of Borgo di Sensano that is surrounded by woods and olive groves and the majestic silence of the Chianti hill country; Relais Villa Sensano offers charming, beautifully furnished apartments with all up-to-date amenities (TV, Internet). The Relais Villa Sensano is a complex of the eighteenth century, composed by a Villa and a close Resort, everything brilliantly restored, both with a private park where there is a swimming pool. For its guests there is a wonderful wellness area. Villa Sensano is located in the heart of Tuscany and after visiting the region's most famous cities (with their museums, monuments and exclusive stores) or the Chianti country, nothing could be better than a relaxing stay in a beautiful place with every comfort you can imagine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Sensano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sensano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.