We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good B&B in lovely Volterra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Primavera

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volterra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Primavera
Save
You added La Primavera to your Saves list
Via Porta Diana, 15, 56048 Volterra, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Volterra B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Very good B&B in lovely Volterra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting Volterra. Good location just outside the city walls, with parking. Our room was big, but we found it a bit odd that it did not have any windows (neither did the bathroom). Upon closing the door, the room was probably the darkest we've ever slept in, so make sure you bring your alarm clock! It was still comfortable though as it was not hot in September, but in summer it might be different. The breakfast was a bonus for us, so no complaints there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    25
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
82
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for two nights in September, having chosen this place based on the reviews. It is a great location, just outside the walls of Volterra but with its own parking. We had a lovely big room with plenty of space, there is a garden to sit in if it is warm,and the breakfasts are good too. Silvia is really kind and helpful and gave us great recommendations for restaurants. In fact La Vecchia Lira was so good that we went back on the second night. Volterra is a charming town and this is the perfect base for a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianna
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

I visited Volterra for 3 days in Sept 2012. I selected La Primavera based on reviews in trip adviser. I was not disapointed. It is a very nice B&B. The hostess, Silvia is great. When i first arrived in Volterra, i had trouble locating the residence. I called Silvia and she was fantastic in assissting me. My room was spotless. Silvia obviously takes great pride in her establishment and it shows.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Lots of positive comments about this B&B, great location just outside the walls of the town of Volterra, free parking, spacious clean rooms and en-suite bathrooms (4 in total), comfortable beds (perhaps two pillows per person would be a great addition) ample room to hang your clothes.

Downsides :

Breakfast is very disappointing! I don't think one needs to spend much, but I think toast should be cooked to order, not cooked at 7:30am and it is cold and hard by the time you have breakfast at 8:00am and it is probably the same toast that is still sitting there at 9:30am. I mean toast...how can you mess up toast! Croissants are not great either, they are served like the ones you get on an airline i.e. in a sealed plastic bag...again...is there not a bakery close by that could deliver these? The rest is OK is you like yogurt, cornflakes, lemon cake, cheese, and salami.

Electric Fans - It is hot hot hot in Italy in the summer, I wonder whether fans could be added in the rooms, I guess that does use up electricity?? It was OK, but some people might find the no air conditioning unbearable.

I would not stay here again, if we are traveling in the summer again to Italy, Tuscany, I'd prefer to stay somewhere that has a pool. Otherwise the 70 euro fee for a double room for two is a good price and Silvia is a wonderful host, oh and also you get free Wifi in the lounge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

For us, one of the most important factors when booking La Primavera was the free parking and close proximity to the Centre. This B&B is indeed just a couple of minutes walk from the walls of this charming little town, and it does offer ample off road parking for its guests, so a big thumbs up for that! However, logistics aside, La Primavera is also everything a family run B&B should be. Beautifully decorated, spacious bedrooms which, as already mentioned, are immaculately clean. A gracious and welcoming host, who had plenty of local knowledge to answer the many questions that we bombared her with. Thank you Silvia.
As for the cat, we simply fell in love with him, you could literally pick him up and wear him like a scarf!
great place and great memories.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Would endorse positive comments in other reviews: spotlessly clean, comfortable, two steps from town yet with parking (NB the public car parks close to the old town are metered), charming and helpful owner, great food at breakfast. There is wifi - one just has to ask for the code and it works in the lounge or just outside the door. Volterra is a wonderful, friendly town, very different from some of the more frequented places in Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed at the Primavera 2010, (Ijust checked to see if Silvia is the owner and she still is) We loved this place and this town. With places like San Gimignano being overrun with crappy tourist junk. Volterra is the real deal. Silvia and her husband and her cats are the best. The cake she serves for breakfast is something I still try to duplicate at home. She suggested some really great restaurants in town-and you can't beat the Torture Museum.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Primavera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Primavera

Address: Via Porta Diana, 15, 56048 Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Primavera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.