We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agrihotel Il Palagetto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Agrihotel Il Palagetto to your Saves list
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Cozzano, 56048 Volterra, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Italian Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked the hotel a few months ago after seeing the photos, with it being in our budget and being in a good location. We read a few reviews, a majority of which seemed to complain about various things. However, after a week's stay we feel that the reviews may not portray the hotel completely accurately.


A little guidance if you are going here soon. From Pisa airport, follow directions to Pontedera on the FI-PI-LI. Once off the motorway (and onto the SS 439 DIR) signs for Volterra start to appear, so follow these. When you get to the junction for Volterra, which is a road off to the right, follow the road around to the left. At the side of the road you should have noticed posts with large white sings on and a black number which indicates at what kilometre you are on the road, with a rectangular blue sign just underneath stating the road you are on. About 750m after the 8km mark, start looking for a little track that goes just off to the left. You should notice this as the road starts to curve around to the right. You should also spot a white sign with "Agrihotel il Palagetto". We had a little trouble, but buy a map of Tuscany and you should be fine.

This is an Agrihotel, which means it is a converted farm house. You are in the country side so obviously you get the odd mosquito and creepy crawly but nothing you would not expect: either way it is a small price to pay to get peace, quiet and great views. Although we had booked a double we got two singles pushed together, but I did not feel that it was something worth a complaint.

The breakfasts were good; there was a good variety of produce to cater for anyone's taste. And with the opportunity to sit outside on the terrace and listen to the crickets and birds chirping was great.

As you have read above, and probably from other reviews, it may sound like you are in the middle of nowhere, miles away from anywhere. I guess this may be true to some degree, but we found that we were:

- 15 minutes from the centre of Volterra
- 40 minutes from San Gimignano
- 1hr 15mins (roughly) from Pisa
- 1hr 15mins from Siena and Florence

I love to drive, so in my opinion this wasn't an issue to me. Try not to use a Sat Nav, as I feel it would distract you from the beauty of the country side.

If going to Siena, try and park at the "Parcheggio I Tufi" which is just off the Superstrada at Siena South (Siena Sud). The shuttle bus costs 1.10 each and you can park there all day for free. The same goes for Florence. We park in Sandicci, which is on the tram line to central Florence. We parked there for the day and it only cost us €4.80, which was the cost of the tram.

The dinner's were good too, although if you are planning on eating at the hotel most nights (which I would recommend if you've been out being a tourist all day) then go half board purely as you get more of a choice of food. We didn't realised until the end of the week. The menu we had was still good food. In particular try the Cinghiale (Wild Boar) pasta.

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Give it a go, you won't be disappointed in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    110
    49
    39
    48
See reviews for
63
235
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roermond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Il Palagetto has a wonderful view of the surrounding scenery, a extra mention goes for the swimming pool which is placed beautifully. The staff is full of hard-working and very friendly people. It's a good base to make day trips to different Tuscan cities/villages. For example Pisa and Siena are an hour drive.
The food in the restaurant is very tasteful and worth the money, you gotta taste the ravioli.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just spent a wonderful night at Il Palagetto with my group of 40 students. Dinner was fantastic, and breakfast and pack lunches were excellent. Giulia is a terrific host and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for a week and had a great holiday. Yes, you don't have to come here when you want high-end luxury and everything needs to be perfect, it's not how it works in this agrihotel. But do come here, if you want to enjoy Tuscany in its purest form, with great and simple food, well located in this region full of great cities and wineries (Volterra and San Gimignano are 20-30min drive away, Firenze and Sienna around 1h).

The rooms have magnificent views, and I admit it, they are not perfect, but it's all you need to enjoy a romantic get-away. The restaurant serves simple and authentic Tuscan food, well prepared and you never leave hungry. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Come with an open mind and enjoy all of the best Tuscany has to offer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delft
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

In beginning august we visited Il Palagetto. The first impression was what a stunning location as we drove up the road. It was a very hot day, and we couldn't wait to jump in the pool. Unfortunately the pool is covered with a lot of insects. At night we ate at Il palagetto, the food was good but we choose th eat the rest of the days in Volterra, whats a 25 minute drive by car. The room had mould in the bathroom and bedroom. The towels were stained and not often changed just as the bedding. They didn't deal with complaints but tried to give us the feeling that we were the only ones who had a problem with a lack of water. I talked with other guest and they weren't impressed of the service. Again, i think it's a pitty of such a lovely place. If the rooms were up to standaard and around the building somebody would clean up, make sure the pool is clean and give the guest the feeling they're special, it would be a wonderfull place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
161 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The rooms themselves are adequate but nothing outstanding. The views, however, are unreal. Every morning we woke to the most beautiful Tuscan landscape.
Breakfasts are adequate and dinners are available as well.
Leopoldo and Giulia were very helpful and made great recommendations for travel and restaurants. They even arranged for a pasta-making class with Marco (the chef) that was a highlight of our trip to Italy.
My only piece of advice is to make sure to get good directions before heading here. It is about 15 minutes north of Volterra but not on most GPS. We got very lost on the way (at night) in a rental car. Aside from this, we'd definitely come back to Il Palagetto.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We have stayed here two times (beginning of may and mid july) and we truly love the place! The view is amazing! The hotel is on top of a tuscan hill and looks over the area. You have a full 360 view from the hotel. The owners, Giulia and Leopoldo, are really friendly, helpfulll and committed. The rooms are clean and there was free wifi in our rooms. We really loved our Italian wine, with bruchetta in the evening in the sun overlooking the area. The pool area is big and it it a small ride to Volterra and San Gimiano.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volterra hotels
3.6 mi away
San Lino
San Lino
#10 of 25 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#1 of 25 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#3 of 25 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#9 of 25 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#4 of 25 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fattoria Lischeto
Fattoria Lischeto
#13 of 25 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agrihotel Il Palagetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agrihotel Il Palagetto

Address: Localita Cozzano, 56048 Volterra, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agrihotel Il Palagetto 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Agrihotel Il Palagetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agrihotel Il Palagetto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.