We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a pitty of such a stunning location.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Agrihotel Il Palagetto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Agrihotel Il Palagetto to your Saves list
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Cozzano, 56048 Volterra, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
delft
1 review
“It's a pitty of such a stunning location.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

In beginning august we visited Il Palagetto. The first impression was what a stunning location as we drove up the road. It was a very hot day, and we couldn't wait to jump in the pool. Unfortunately the pool is covered with a lot of insects. At night we ate at Il palagetto, the food was good but we choose th eat the rest of the days in Volterra, whats a 25 minute drive by car. The room had mould in the bathroom and bedroom. The towels were stained and not often changed just as the bedding. They didn't deal with complaints but tried to give us the feeling that we were the only ones who had a problem with a lack of water. I talked with other guest and they weren't impressed of the service. Again, i think it's a pitty of such a lovely place. If the rooms were up to standaard and around the building somebody would clean up, make sure the pool is clean and give the guest the feeling they're special, it would be a wonderfull place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    99
    48
    37
    47
See reviews for
56
209
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The rooms themselves are adequate but nothing outstanding. The views, however, are unreal. Every morning we woke to the most beautiful Tuscan landscape.
Breakfasts are adequate and dinners are available as well.
Leopoldo and Giulia were very helpful and made great recommendations for travel and restaurants. They even arranged for a pasta-making class with Marco (the chef) that was a highlight of our trip to Italy.
My only piece of advice is to make sure to get good directions before heading here. It is about 15 minutes north of Volterra but not on most GPS. We got very lost on the way (at night) in a rental car. Aside from this, we'd definitely come back to Il Palagetto.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We have stayed here two times (beginning of may and mid july) and we truly love the place! The view is amazing! The hotel is on top of a tuscan hill and looks over the area. You have a full 360 view from the hotel. The owners, Giulia and Leopoldo, are really friendly, helpfulll and committed. The rooms are clean and there was free wifi in our rooms. We really loved our Italian wine, with bruchetta in the evening in the sun overlooking the area. The pool area is big and it it a small ride to Volterra and San Gimiano.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed for four nights and it was truly the most magical place. The rooms were spacious, clean, cool (air con) and pleasantly decorated with spectacular views from both the bedroom and bathroom. Anna, the chambermaid, was immediately available to make sure we had everything we needed and was incredibly helpful during our whole stay. It is a bit out of the way but the directions given by the hotel with our booking confirmation were clear and easy to follow and really, really worth it. The night skies were out of fairy tales and the whole feeling of the place is warm and geniune.

My husband had the best T-bone steak he's ever had in his life and hasn't stopped telling people about it! Again, the restaurant staff bent over backwards to make sure we enjoyed our meals.

The large pool, down a hill away from the buildings, was crystal clear and clean with views to die for.

Giulia should be very proud of her agriturismo and her staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very sad to leave! Our room was very spacious, gorgeous view from the balcony. The owners Leo & Julie where so helpful and made sure we had a comfortable stay- gave us great recommendations for wineries & things to do in the region. The food at there restaurant was some of the best we've had while travelling through Italy - wild boar pasta (amazing!!) would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

After spending a couple of busy days on Liguria coast and Tuscany hot spots we looked for a calm down and ended up in the Agrihotel Ill Palagetto in the middle of Tuscany. What a pleasant surprise it was, we found very friendly staff, good food, fabulous views from the hotel main terrace and fabulous swiming pool. A very good base for discovering nerby towns.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itala, Italy
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

Not much to say other than fantastic. I would have liked to find this spot before so I could have had my wedding there. At sunset it is simply breathtaking. The owner is fantastic and food was amazing. Just try it. Don't know why some reviews are so bad I cannot figure this out. I travel a lot, and BAD places are others not this!!! Thanks Giulia for your hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Agrihotel Il Palagetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agrihotel Il Palagetto

Address: Localita Cozzano, 56048 Volterra, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agrihotel Il Palagetto 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Agrihotel Il Palagetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agrihotel Il Palagetto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.