We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, but fantastic service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sole

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Volterra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sole
Via dei Cappuccini, 10/A, 56048 Volterra, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 hotels in Volterra
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No frills, but fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Hotel Sole is about a 10-minute walk into the historical centre of Volterra, with 2 substantial hills en route. We were there for the Andrea Bocelli concert, and the hotel was full. Even though the booking agent had booked us in for the wrong dates, Francesco, the owner and manager, sorted us out, no problem. Actually that seemed to be a mantra of his. Whether someone needed a ride to the bus station or into town, or a snack in the middle of the day, he was always happy to oblige. The breakfast buffet is a sight to behold, with lots of delicious cakes and cookies, over and above the usual fare. The wifi in the room was a bit iffy, but ok if we left the door open, and you can hear your neighbors in the hotel quite easily, but we didn't lose any sleep over this. No frills but 5 stars for Francesco. We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    34
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
54
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a very good little hotel. The key is the staff. The manager, Francisco, makes an effort in any request or endeavor. The breakfast was excellent. Expresso drinks are free at breakfast, and lovely pastries. It is a ten minute hike to the walls of the city up a hill. But easily walkable. The rooms were clean and comfortable although not large. If I returned to Volterra, I would return to the Hotel Sole.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here with my husband recently. Great value for money. Nice clean room, friendly service and good breakfast. Highly recommend hotel sole and Volterra which is one of the most beautiful places I have seen in Italy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Sole for 4 nights and it has been wonderful! Francesco is the manager and he went overboard to be helpful and friendly! The rooms are well equipped and very cool, even on a hot day. It is well located, very close to Volterra and has a sunny patio to relax on. Francesco serves the best breakfast and excellent coffee and beverages are available all day. I will be back here

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This place is well named as it had a very sunny atmosphere! It was a bit outside of town, and, being a hill town, of course, it is uphill! Not a problem, but anyone with limitations should be prepared. The breakfast was varied, generous, and beautifully laid out. The cappucino was heavenly! The best part is Francesco, the host. He is so welcoming and kind, and helpful to the extreme. The parking lot is a bonus. Our room was clean, bright and comfortable. Actually, to me, it felt quite homelike. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel, beign close to the old city center but on a quiet location with private parking. The old city center is app 10 minutes slow walk up hill, but nothing exhausting. Standard breakfast (toast, bread, jam, jogurts, a lot of pastries etc), enought to eat. Outside the hotek there is a small terase, drinks are affordable.

This is a family run hotel and the owner is really friendly. Speaks good English. The rooms could be a bit cleaner (the bathroom) but overall the hotel is clean and rooms are nice. The bed however is not comfortable - the pillows are very thin and the matress is too soft.

I would recommed this hotel - close to the city, private parking, rooms with bathroom, friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel in Volterra is more like a B&B, as it is fairly small, has an amazing complimentary breakfast buffet replete with many different pastries, cakes, tarts, several different juice and other beverage choices, including specialty coffee drinks, cereals and yogurts, plus is family owned and run. The host, Francesco, speaks excellent English and goes out of his way to make your stay comfortable. The entire place is sparklingly clean and very modern. Furnishings are fairly basic but more than adequate. Beds and bed linens were very comfortable. The bathroom is typically small as are most in Italy. There is a wall mounted hair dryer and several toiletries are also provided and there is a small refrigerator. A small bar is located in the hotel where you can purchase wine and other beverages including specialty coffees. Parking is free and is inside a little fenced area, so off the road. We really enjoyed our stay and would be happy to stay here again if we return to the interesting city of Volterra.

The only small negative is that the wifi is a bit weak, so you may have to go out in the hall outside your room to reconnect to the Internet.

Room Tip: We had a room at the far end of the hall so very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sole

Address: Via dei Cappuccini, 10/A, 56048 Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Sole Hotel Volterra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Sole to your Saves list