We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for a warm and friendly atmosphere...this is it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sole

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Volterra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sole
Save
You added Hotel Sole to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Cappuccini, 10/A, 56048 Volterra, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Ridgefield, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a warm and friendly atmosphere...this is it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Sole for 4 nights and it has been wonderful! Francesco is the manager and he went overboard to be helpful and friendly! The rooms are well equipped and very cool, even on a hot day. It is well located, very close to Volterra and has a sunny patio to relax on. Francesco serves the best breakfast and excellent coffee and beverages are available all day. I will be back here

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    32
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
54
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This place is well named as it had a very sunny atmosphere! It was a bit outside of town, and, being a hill town, of course, it is uphill! Not a problem, but anyone with limitations should be prepared. The breakfast was varied, generous, and beautifully laid out. The cappucino was heavenly! The best part is Francesco, the host. He is so welcoming and kind, and helpful to the extreme. The parking lot is a bonus. Our room was clean, bright and comfortable. Actually, to me, it felt quite homelike. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel, beign close to the old city center but on a quiet location with private parking. The old city center is app 10 minutes slow walk up hill, but nothing exhausting. Standard breakfast (toast, bread, jam, jogurts, a lot of pastries etc), enought to eat. Outside the hotek there is a small terase, drinks are affordable.

This is a family run hotel and the owner is really friendly. Speaks good English. The rooms could be a bit cleaner (the bathroom) but overall the hotel is clean and rooms are nice. The bed however is not comfortable - the pillows are very thin and the matress is too soft.

I would recommed this hotel - close to the city, private parking, rooms with bathroom, friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel in Volterra is more like a B&B, as it is fairly small, has an amazing complimentary breakfast buffet replete with many different pastries, cakes, tarts, several different juice and other beverage choices, including specialty coffee drinks, cereals and yogurts, plus is family owned and run. The host, Francesco, speaks excellent English and goes out of his way to make your stay comfortable. The entire place is sparklingly clean and very modern. Furnishings are fairly basic but more than adequate. Beds and bed linens were very comfortable. The bathroom is typically small as are most in Italy. There is a wall mounted hair dryer and several toiletries are also provided and there is a small refrigerator. A small bar is located in the hotel where you can purchase wine and other beverages including specialty coffees. Parking is free and is inside a little fenced area, so off the road. We really enjoyed our stay and would be happy to stay here again if we return to the interesting city of Volterra.

The only small negative is that the wifi is a bit weak, so you may have to go out in the hall outside your room to reconnect to the Internet.

Room Tip: We had a room at the far end of the hall so very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

A nice place to stay: clean, quiet, good service with a personal touch and free Wi-Fi. Free parking and ten minutes walk to the centre of Volterra. Breakfast was quite elaborate for Italian standards. Would certainly come back or recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We originally wanted to stay here only one night, but we spontaniously decided to extend our stay to two nights.
The hotel is very nice, when we arrived the man from the reception met us outside at our car with two umbrellas, which was a much nicer welcome than what we had recieved the last days.

The rooms are alright, they do have a bit of a hostel-feeling to them, but it's very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had shampoo, soap and other toiletries that we needed.

However, the best thing about the hotel is the younger man at the reception desk. He gave us spot on information regarding where to eat and drink in Volterra, stearing us clear of all tourist traps and recommending a great wine bar!

Walking to Volterra takes about 10 Minutes, though the walk is quite a steep uphill climb. The breakfast was great and the selection was very large, though it too was an Italian breakfast.
We would recommend this place to anyone looking for an inexpensive and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
180 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Clean comfortable with nice staff and a good breakfast. Appreciated the easy no hassle free parking. It is a bit of a hike all up hill into Volterra but worth every step of the way. Mgt is very helpful with spot on restaurant recommendations and highlights not to miss in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#1 of 25 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#4 of 25 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#3 of 25 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#9 of 25 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.7 mi away
San Lino
San Lino
#10 of 25 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#8 of 25 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sole

Address: Via dei Cappuccini, 10/A, 56048 Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Sole Hotel Volterra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.