We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sole

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Volterra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sole
Save
You added Hotel Sole to your Saves list
Via dei Cappuccini, 10/A, 56048 Volterra, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Absolutely lovely host, so helpful and kind. Clean, spacious rooms, good bathrooms, great breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    32
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
54
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Samara, Rusia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

One of the best hotels I’ve ever been. Hotel looks very new and well decorated. Rooms are large, well-appointed with big bathrooms. For me it was very important that hotel should have parking, and this hotel has. Location is perfect for those who drive a car - it’s very easy to find hotel. Though the hotel is situated outside ancient town’s walls it is very close to them and it takes no more than 10 minutes to go there.
It was raining when we arrived and while I was parking my car, man from reception went out with umbrellas for us. He was extremely helpful and pleasant person.
Breakfast was very good, there were mostly pastries but the choice was really great.
It’s a pity we were able to spend just a single night in this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

clean , friendly, welcoming, great Italian breakfast. The owner is very helpful and speaks good English. We looked at similar hotels in town and this is the best. Modern quiet hotel with thoughtful touches.
This is the only hotel in 10 weeks travel that I have left a review for unprompted

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

A great 3 star hotel and excellent value for money. The room was large, great bathroom, and the entire place was spotless. After travelling around Umbria and Tuscany for 10 days and staying in over 6 hotels, Hotel Sole was by far the best hotel I stayed in.
As other reviews say, it is located outside the 'walls' of Volterra, but is only a 10 minute walk, or a 5 minute drive.
Francesco offered me a coffee (Illy of course) as soon as I arrived, so it had a very homely feel from the time I walked in. The bed was very comfortable, room was warm, shower pressure was good, towels were huge and the room was tastefully decorated. There was free wifi available in the rooms as well as cable television.

The breakfast was excellent - a selection of pastries, doughnuts, fresh fruit, bread, ham cheese, yoghurt, fresh juice,cereal and coffee to order. When I was making the reservation, Francesco also advised me of a cheaper deal if I used booking.com website as opposed to booking direct through him - which I was grateful for.

I would stay here again and definitely recommend to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decagirl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Location is ok, not too far from center, quite a walk uphill to get there though. The service is good, several languages spoken and nice people. Free wi fi! The rooms are old. Unfortunately no air conditioner! The bath room was a bit dirty and we found this long legged animal witch was not supposed to be there!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

Our host Francesco Budetti welcomed us when we arrived at the Sole, after driving from Firenze at night through a rain storm; but the signs were well placed to find the hotel. The hotel was more than what we could have asked. Clean and spacious; even a separate room for our granddaughter. The breakfast was complete especially for Italy which is usually cafe and biscotti. The walk to the gates of Volterra is fairly steep (it is Italy!) but the town is simply marvelous. You are within driving distance of Siena, San Gimignano, Firenze, Monteriggione, & Chianti for starters. Francesco was very kind to secure reservations at the Ufizzi Galleria for us before we arrived.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hitchin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

We had an enjoyable week's stay at Hotel Sole in April 2009. Given how much there is to see and do in Volterra with its 3,000 years of history and spectacular location, we would regard that as the minimum stay.

The hotel is set in a quiet and peaceful location to the south of the city walls and an ideal base for visiting the town and surrounding countryside. As has been mentioned by others the hotel is spotlessly clean. Although not large the room was maintained to a very high standard. As others have mentioned Francesco is an attentive host and also very knowledgable about the area in terms of both its history and current developments. Although the amenities at the hotel are limited, there is a modern swiming pool and gym across the road. The hotel is well placed for country walks to the south of Volterra - for example along the course of the now defunct railway route to Le Saline - and returning from a long walk we enjoyed putting our feet up and having a drink at the hotel bar.

As others have mentioned the climb up to the town is steep but necessarily so - Volterra only exists because of its commanding hilltop location. The easiest route is the roughly NW diagonal from the hotel to the Porta dell'Arco. Certainly, enjoying the gentle desecnt back to the hotel after an evening meal in town (we particularly liked Il Pozzo degli Etruschi and Il Poggio), we observed that it was preferable to have had the appetite-inducing steep climb on the way up. One evening when when it was just too wet to go out Francesco kindly ordered pizzas for everyone. Incidentally breakfast at the hotel is much better than the norm in Italy or France and set us up nicely for country walks.

Visitors from the UK (possibly inspired by the recent TV feature on Volterra in "Suggs' Italian Job") can reach the town quite easily by flying to Pisa and either hiring a car or (as we did) taking the local train from the airport to Pontedera and then local bus to Volterra. Florence ansd Siena can be reached easily enough but after a trip to the former we were relieved to get back to the relative peace and quiet of Volterra and Hotel Sole. If I ever return to Volterra I would stay at Hotel Sole and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sole

Address: Via dei Cappuccini, 10/A, 56048 Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Sole Hotel Volterra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.