We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Simius Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Simius Playa to your Saves list
Hotel Simius Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Matteotti 91, 09049 Villasimius, Sardinia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Villasimius
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

This is the first time we've been back here since 2005 and as then we had a great time
It's a shame it's had one or two negative reviews.The location must be the best in the area 200m to the beach plenty of sunbeds and clean warm sea
The staff are always very polite and must be happy to work here as many have been there for years
For all the negative reviews all I can say see don't go in August it's the most expensive & busiest time to go wait a month and go in September

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    81
    23
    11
    2
See reviews for
46
145
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Dear all,

we spent 6 nights in the hotel in early July this year. We booked the room over booking.com and also got disappointed by the old room, which was not what we expected based on the pictures. I talked to the receptionist and we got a new furnished room next day - for the same price. But I assume we were just lucky, as they had available room. The room was fantastic, completely new, but very little for that price. I think it was too much spending for a hotel room, approx. 250 Euro. We liked the beach - the part of Simius Hotel is absolutaly stunning, it is not crowded at all and there are showers! The hotel will give you also big towels, so no need to bring extra ones!
We did not like the food in the restaurant, the lunch was not very nice and the pizza was terrible. I would not recommend to eat in the restaurant at all. The breakfast is almost the same, so if I would run this resort, I will change definatelly the breakfast menu and the quality of the food.
We liked the swimming pool a lot and bar area was absolutely stunning for a drink in the evening. The people in hotel were very friendly and did their best, however you must be lucky to get a new furnished room.
This was not for me - Value for Money - I think it is quiet overpriced, as the whole Villasimius village and I will recommend to go somewhere else, as you find a stunning beaches around the Southern Sardinia. You could easily find a spot on the beach and pay much less money for accomodation. See the cities as Chia, little villages around Villasimius.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Positives: Very nice staff; good location with a fantastic and not-so-crazy-packed beach (we were there on August 1st so definitely peak season). The Villasimius town is cute & a nice place to spend evenings in.

Prefer a Superior Room, the standard rooms (tested two) don't have much sunlight and can be strangely set up.

Negatives: Average breakfast, internet in the rooms doesn't really work (during the 3 days we were there at least)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liège, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you like overpriced and old-fashioned hotels, this place is for you. Otherwise, look for something else.

We booked via booking.com a room at this hotel for 6 nights. Superior room with view and balcony, price for 6 nights : 1740 eur. We had seen the pictures on the booking.com site and on the hotel’s site, the pics were showing a very light room, with design and modern bathroom amenities, nice furniture. The room shown in the pics was obviously either new or very recently refurbished.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were taken to our room, which was dark and had no balcony. We asked the reception for another room. First answer : impossible, hotel is full. We were told to take the room and wait until 9.00 PM until the person responsible for the reservations would be back. We refused to take the room, and had to heavily insist on meeting or at least talking to someone sooner than 09.00 PM.

We met the hotel’s manager : his solution was to put us in another room, with balcony this time.

That room had indeed a balcony, but the room had not had any renovation since at least 20 years : the tiles on the bathroom walls were an ugly and very old fashioned pinkish color, some tile joints were cracked, the shower was a very basic shower cabin also old and not totally clean, toilet seat so old that it turned yellowish, the airco unit was noisy, no style, no taste, worn carpet, worn furniture, nothing that matched that price segment (290 EUR = 385 USD = 254 GBP per night !!!). His comment : "this is normal we advertise the best rooms with the nicest pictures on the website".

See for yourself the pics in this review and the ones on their website. You'll understand why we felt it was unfair. I want to point out that we regularly travel (both leisure and professional), I know you can't have exactly what's shown on web pics, but here the difference was way too big.

We refused this room, and proposed to pay for the first night although we had not even used the room, and cancel the rest without charge. The hotel manager refused. The only compromise he proposed was a 15% discount on extras (who would take extras when you’re treated that way ?) and free access to the 2nd row on the beach (which normally costs you an extra 20 eur/person/day !!!) .

We felt this proposal was totally unfair, and we decided to “salvage” the rest of our holiday and leave. We have found another hotel. Of course we regretted losing that money, but we did not regret changing for another hotel, which was great (see our other review).

Room Tip: No idea how to get a room that matches what you see on the site, be very careful if you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimiusPlaya, Direttore at Hotel Simius Playa, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear costumer,

I remember very well you and your threats…
We propose you more than one solution in order to found an accommodation right for you and you wife.. But the problem was not the room, was other… and I really don’t need to tell you what I’m talking in about…
Also booking.com, when we call together, have told you that you have not right.
I easily can image lose some money is not a god deal… , but was one your decision.
We had advised you… if you leave we have to keep the money , than if we will able to sell back the room you will be refunded. Unfortunately this it did not happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a few days in early July. We booked 2 rooms with sea views and they were beautifully furnished and had breathtaking views of the sea and the bay. The location of the hotel in metres from the sandy beach and was perfect for a luxurious beach holiday. The hotel was wonderful but it was the staff who made it that little bit special. They were courteous, helpful and friendly and we were made very welcome. Although we have never been to the hotel before we are already planning our next trip and can see why so many people return year after year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed three nights and had one Junior suite and one standard room. Nothing very special about the rooms, but resting area with sofa in suite terrace was the best. Service and food was good in hotel ´restaurants, but best was the bar in the evenings with nice pool lights and rich choice of drinks. Beach is few steps from hotel and to the small nice city Villsimius with many different restaurants are only 15 min walking distance. Standard room was not so big as usually.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I spent 10 days here and chose the location for its proximity to the beach. The staff is very friendly, helpful and fluent in several languages (German, English, French..). Our room was smaller than we had expected and the interior is not very modern. The hotel in general is clean and well maintained. We enjoyed the pool area with its palm trees and the beach. In the evenings entertainment is offered by the pool (live singers, bands). Breakfast at the hotel is delicious and sardinian/italian specialties are served for dinner.
We did enjoy our stay, but feel that the location is slightly overpriced. Good honeymoon location though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Simius Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Simius Playa

Address: Via Matteotti 91, 09049 Villasimius, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Villasimius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Villasimius
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Villasimius
#10 Family Hotel in Villasimius
#11 Romantic Hotel in Villasimius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Simius Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Simius Playa Hotel is an enchanting corner of Paradise overlooking the turquoise sea of Capo Carbonara, along the most beautiful coast of Sardinia, a quality hotel in Colonial style just a few minutes walk from downtown Villasimius. A beach of fine white sand extends in front of the hotel for walking or for having fun, aprivate pool to swim in complete freedom and enjoy the sun, enveloped in the silence of tropical gardens, and a terrace overlooking the garden where you can dine immersed in the scent of the bougainvillea under skies filled with the brightest stars of the island.And finally, in the heart of the hotel is the exclusive Simius Playa Restaurant, where every day you can taste delicious local cuisine, from land and sea, experiencing a journey of Mediterranean flavors and scents that enchants the senses.This is the setting of the Simius Playa Hotel, which will welcome you with the courtesy, warmth and ease that have characterized this Villasimius historic hotel for generations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Simius Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simius Playa Hotel
Simius Playa Cagliari
Hotel Simius Playa Villasimius, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Simius Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.