We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon +++++” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Girasole Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Villasimius
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Girasole Hotel
Save
You added Il Girasole Hotel to your Saves list
Via Masaccio 6, 09049 Villasimius, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Villasimius
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Honeymoon +++++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed 9 nights at this wonderful, cozy boutique hotel, from July 26 – August 4 (2011).
We had chosen this hotel for our honeymoon and it was absolutely perfect for us, we couldn't have picked a better place! The room was a really nice size, comfortable and very clean. We also had our own patio/terrace, which we used quite a bit. A part of the hotel, that we used even more, was the hotel garden-patio – every evening our hospitable host and hotel owner would offer a glass of the local liquor (Mirto) or other beverages, and we would spend some time chatting with him and the other guests, who also enjoyed the cozy couches on the patio. The breakfast buffet was nice and adequate.

The hotel is situated in a nice and quiet part of town – but still within walking distance of the main shopping street. A large supermarket, Sigma, is within approx. 5 minute walking distance from the hotel.

The hotel owner was impeccable at recommending good restaurants to visit in the area. He helped us make reservations at a new restaurant every night we went out. Some were in walking distance from the hotel (10-15 minute walk), while others required a short drive (max.10-15 minutes also). All the restaurants we dined at are definitely worth a visit. So look up these restaurants: Sa Bingia, Sa Tankitta and Il Ragno Blu,
All in all, we had an incredible holiday here, and we're most definitely going back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
95
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Il Girasole thanks to the kind and caring owner "Antonello" offers the warmest of welcomes to all his guests. The rooms are spacious, nicely furnished, spotlessly clean and well soundproofed. Every day we enjoyed the breakfast outside on the covered terrace. Antonello was a mine of information about the local area, beaches, things to do, restaurants etc and he gives directions using google earth. Nothing is too much trouble.

The best thing was the get together in the evening with the other guests over a bottle of Antonello's delicious mirto. Also the fact that it was such an easy walk into town and no need to use the car to drive to restaurants.

This hotel was excellent value for money in a lovely, friendly place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We had some problems to recognize the hotel since it looks like a villa. That sensation followed us since we've never felt that we were in a hotel thanks to the great hospitality of Antonello. The hotel is well located and is new with care in room cleaning and service of the guest. The owner gives tips about the best restaurants and most beautiful beaches (on top of the weather forecast advise),

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veenendaal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Very nice hotel hotel room with large balcony. The rooms are very clean, never seen like this before in any other hotel! The owners are very kind en helpful. Breakfast is good, nice to have it outside on the terrace. Enough free parking space in front of the hotel. Had a very good time in Villasimius. Nice little town with kind people.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

This little and confortable hotel is close to the the centre of Villasimius (300 metres) and not so far form the most beatiful beaches (5 minutes by car). Breakfast is a pleasure with the fresh fruit and other sweetness. The Staff is very professional but very nice!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Girasole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Girasole Hotel

Address: Via Masaccio 6, 09049 Villasimius, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Villasimius
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Villasimius
#2 Family Hotel in Villasimius
#4 Romantic Hotel in Villasimius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel il Girasole is located at Villasimius centre. it is surrounded by the unpolluted environment proper to south est of Sardinia. Just built and conceived in order to create a friendly, warm, welcoming and well-groomed atmosphere. The hotel takes care either of high design furniture details or hospitality and greetings. It has of 8 double rooms and a wide breakfast room long to the outside terrace.Hotel il Girasole is always open ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Girasole Hotel Villasimius, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Girasole Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.