We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Best Time In Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of S'Arenada Hotel

Save Saved
You added S'Arenada Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
S'Arenada Hotel
del Bergamotto 14 | Localita Santa Maria, 09049 Villasimius, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 34 hotels in Villasimius
Kennett, Missouri
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Our Best Time In Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at S'Arenada Hotel while touring Villasimius. We stayed 5 days, but unless you are just coming to lay on the beach, 3 days would be sufficient. Alexandra is a wonderful hotel owner and operator. All of her staff are pleasant and helpful. The breakfast is very adequate with many fruit and pastry choices, including some cheese and meat. You can ask them to fix you some eggs if you want them, and they will. We're Americans so our perspective is entirely based on our travel in France, Italy, and Greece. The grounds are well kept and full of fruit trees of all kinds, i.e., apple, lemon, orange, pomegranate, etc. The ripe fruit from those trees is offered to the guests! The rooms are clean and small, which I find to be typical for European hotels in general. The bed was the usual firm European bed which did not interrupt my sleep any. Wifi is available but has limited range. We couldn't get it at all in # 4, but when we moved upstairs to # 6, we were able to use the IPad, IPhone, and PC (with a wifi network card by Alfa). Wifi is available in the common area near the breakfast area. There's a small desk in the rooms, but there isn't enough space to use the desk. There's a small frig in the rooms where you can put a bottle of wine or some cheese and salami. Alexandra has drinks and snacks that she will provide to you at a reasonable cost. We enjoy finding local items ourselves and consuming them on occasion while traveling and did so while staying with Alexandra. That is one of the fun parts of travel to a foreign destination. If you want cappuccino for breakfast, just ask for it. I thought it was just regular coffee with some cream until I looked it up and saw it was an espresso type of drink. Don't do as I did at first and drink 3 of those daily. It'll certainly boost your heart rate some. The town is small, about 4K in population. Everyone is polite. Mostly they don't speak English, but we did just fine in shopping and getting directions. There's not much shopping in the town, but you should look for the artisan shop where everything is made locally by Sardenian artists. They are big on chickens which stand for prosperity and fertility, according to one shop owner we encountered. Tip: When leaving the hotel to go to town, don't even try to make a left at the highway. You can't see to the left for the bushes. Somebody, perhaps Alexandra or the town, should remove those for proper sight distance. Instead of going left initially, go right and make a U-turn at the street that goes off to the left just a short distance from the hotel's dirt road. That way, you can see what's coming from behind you (from the town) before you get on the highway. There is no other safe way to do it. The beaches around Villasimius are better than average, but if you've ever been to the beaches in Turks & Caicos, the Caymans, Aruba, or Anguilla, you will be slightly disappointed in them. But it's difficult to beat having the mountains in the background while you worship the sun God. Another Tip: Eat at the restaurant just across the street form the hotel. It's call Santa Maria after the ship. Everything there is excellent. They don't speak much English either, but they do know how to cook and treat their guests. Get the red wine by the liter or half liter. The mussels in either red or white sauce are delicious. The grilled fish is expensive but very tasty, the best ever for a white fish according to my spouse. The food in Sardenia is the best we had while in Italy, including Rome. We tried 3 separate gelato places in town, and all of them provided the best gelato you will ever have at the same price. Did I mention the hotel dogs? One is a guard dog for the property. The other one just wants your attention. My recommendation is that you skip the fancy hotels and stay at S'Arenada with a local owner who knows and loves the area. You won't be disappointed. Be sure to get an upstairs room with the balcony. That way you can sip wine in the evening while watching to sun go down in the west. Please note that Alexandra will do everything possible to make your stay pleasant. We didn't understand we were supposed to pay the police for parking in the city center. So Alexandra took the time to take our parking ticket to the town and paid for our parking. It wasn't much (1.5 euros), but she did this for us instead of telling us to go pay it ourselves. Also, we needed some clothes washed and cleaned while we were in Sardinia. Alexandra had some of them washed at the hotel and took the others to town for us. We didn't have to locate businesses to do this for us. Alexandra did it for us. Can you think of any place you have stayed where you would receive such personal service. When we left S'Arenada, Alexandra hugged my wife, a gardener like Alexandra. She will make you love Sardenia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
94
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We spent ten days at S’Arenada and had excellent service throughout. The room was spacious clean and benefitted from a balcony (worth the extra). We agree with the comments concerning Alessandra but would add her Mum, Christina, into our review. Christina is also a first class host, excellent cook and has a great sense of fun. The restaurant opposite is also of a good standard and well worth a number of visits as is the Belvedere Su Giganti some 100 metres away. A word of caution the excellently located Miraggio Restaurant overcharged significantly on all three visits. The S'Arenada is well located for restaurants with the added advantage of peace and tranquillity. You will need a car to get the best out of this location and the numerous beaches.

Room Tip: Room with Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We cannot thank Alessandra (the owner) enough. She made us so welcome in her hotel. We felt so at home. The rooms were beautiful, so elegant. Very clean and fresh. The breakfast were absoloutly delicious, so much choice and so many fresh fruits, breads and cakes. We went here for our honeymoon June 2012. We had such an incredible time, my husband wants to imigrate!! We are sure to return to this Hotel. The location was wonderful, so many beautiful beaches to explore. (car essential) The local people were very friendly and helpful too. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

After two hours at S'Arenada we felt like we had been there a week, and four nights later we felt like we could be just arriving! Could not ask for more from Alessandra's service and recommendations. Great location to explore the coast and infinite beaches. Peace, quiet, and the sweet life and S'Arenada. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We spent 4 wonderful days in Villasimius. S’Arenada, the hotel we stayed, was very nice. Beautiful garden with fruit trees. The location was also very convenient, close to some of the best beaches and just opposite to a nice restaurant called Santa Maria. Alessandra, the owner of S’Arenada, was extremely helpful and welcoming. The restaurant and the beach recommendations she made were all excellent.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Have just returned from a week spent at this lovely little hotel only a few minutes drive from the centre of Villasimius. The hosts are most welcoming and extremely helpful, Alessandra and her mother offering excellent customer service. We do not like large hotels and this was just up our street. They offer a comprehensive continental breakfast to set you up for the day and the lounge area is very tasteful and relaxing and we usually had this to ourselves even though the hotel was almost full for most of our stay. We had a superior balcony room with a lovely view of the mountains. The room was spacious and clean and a hairdrier is provided (a decent one for a change)

Situated a few minutes drive from Villasimius we would recommend a car to enable easy access to the lovely beaches of which there are many within a few miles. We visited slightly out of season and a lot of restaurants were either not open or only open for lunch. Would recommend dinner at Santa Maria restaurant just over the road and within a few minutes walk of the hotel where the owners made us very welcome and we ate here twice. They are very proud of their freshly caught fish which changes daily (we had the sea bass which was delicious) and their fregola is very tasty (having tried theirs and enjoyed it so much, we ordered what we thought was a very similar dish in another restaurant and were disappointed)

Pula and Nora, south of Cagliari are worth a visit - a drive of about an hour and a half.

A very enjoyable stay and we would like to thank Alessandra and all the staff for their hospitality

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

A fine small hotel, located slightly off the main road in a well-kept garden and orchard. This guarantees peace and quiet - also because it has only ten or so rooms. Near to Villasimius, the sea and the beaches (which were during our off-season stay very quiet indeed). The hotel is elegantly designed, and offers comfortable couches for a late drink or coffee on the the terrace. The special flavour here is due to the hostess, Alessandra, who offers all the help, information, hospitability and efficiency you can dream of.
Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and well decorated, the beds are good quality. Breakfast is without the heavy stuff, but well done, with rolls, juices, sweets, cheeses, meats, fruits.

Room Tip: If you want a private balcony or terrace, ask for the upper-floor rooms. However, the main terrace f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to S'Arenada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S'Arenada Hotel

Also Known As:
s Arenada Hotel
S'Arenada Hotel Villasimius, Sardinia
Address: del Bergamotto 14 | Localita Santa Maria, 09049 Villasimius, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Villasimius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Villasimius
#7 Romantic Hotel in Villasimius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your S'Arenada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage S'Arenada Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.